Horror logo

The evil spirit from the painting

The story is real, so be careful with buying antiques

By Julia NjordPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3

It was in the fall of 2007; I had just moved from the village to the city; I inherited a very nice 3-room apartment. I really liked everything about it, except for one place, in my bedroom opposite the bed, the wall was completely bare. This annoyed me terribly. I decided to drop by the nearest furniture store after work and buy a mirror.

The next day I went to choose a mirror and accidentally noticed something like a private market on the side of the store, where people were selling various things, some books, some details, and so I noticed a guy who was standing next to the painting. I really liked this picture; it depicted a full-length girl; she was just beautiful. The frame of the painting was very similar to the one I once saw in a museum, and as far as I remember, this painting was at least 100 years old, which means that this one is about the same, I thought. Of course, I immediately decided that I didn't have enough money for this painting. Antiques, a huge canvas, a handmade frame, but this picture literally fascinated me, and I still asked the man how much it cost. I was pleasantly surprised that he demanded only 100 pounds, at first. I thought that he simply did not understand art. Later, of course, I realized the reason for such a low price...

I came home, hung a picture in front of my bed, sat in front of the TV all evening, and went to bed. But in the middle of the night I woke up because of a strange whisper. It seemed to me that someone was talking in my room. When I opened my eyes, I didn't see anything, but after I lay in the dark for a couple of minutes, it seemed to me that I saw some movement in the picture. Going to the window, I pulled back the curtains, and the moonlight lit up the room. Turning around; I saw something terrible, hands and head sticking out of the picture. What was in the picture was tearing out. But along with a beautiful girl, something terrible came out of the picture, half-rotted flesh instead of snow-white skin. I have never seen such a terrible face in any horror movie, nails were broken and torn off on some fingers, as if she was scratching the picture. I stood in a daze for about thirty seconds, but then I finally came to my senses, quickly pulled on my jeans, ran out into the corridor, and, putting on a jacket, and shoes, ran outside.

Sitting on the bench, I could not take my eyes off my window and could swear that I saw a dark silhouette in the window. I could calm down only at dawn, waiting for the sun to light up my room; I still decided to return to the apartment. When I entered my room, I saw that the image in the picture had turned into a blonde girl again. After assessing the situation, I thought that if I threw the painting away, someone might pick it up and take it for themselves, and so I decided to burn it. I took the painting out to the backyard, doused it with gasoline, and set it on fire. I stood and watched it burn and didn't leave until I was sure it was destroyed.

A few weeks have passed, and everything has returned to normal. I had to go to a psychologist a couple of times. But my nerves were strong; the only thing that reminded me of a terrible night was a bunch of gray hair at my temple. And then one evening, after work, I, as usual, sat down to watch TV, and in some criminal news I heard that a man's corpse had been found; he had been strangled in his apartment. Windows and locks were closed from the inside; the police could not explain what happened there. When the plot from the apartment was shown, I was speechless; again, the picture I burned was hanging on the wall. The only difference was in the creepy grin of the blonde beauty…

Subscribe to my blog and read other stories :)

how tointerviewmonsterpsychologicalsupernaturalvintage
3

About the Creator

Julia Njord

Hi! I'm glad to see you on my blog!

Mysticism and drama from life.

Subscribe to my blog and stories will come immediately to your email :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.