Horror logo

The Dark Dream of Terror

A dark figure approaches a day of normal to fill anxiety and terror

By Goosey Q.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Dark Dream of Terror
Photo by Gemma Evans on Unsplash

I fall asleep separated from life. A Dream usually becomes a possible reality with the truth hidden inside. The journey that will soon bring chills. I was headed back to maybe a friend's place. My group of people was split into 2 groups. I was with the first one and the second was behind me. All of a sudden I hear words from a distance as if they were spoken to me. “Do you wanna fight?”

My body goes into shock. I struggle to catch my tongue as I look around for the source of the sound. I look back at my friends from the second group and what happens next begins to haunt me to my core. Yelling my name as a cry for help I a black figure move across the street into a field with speed and vigilance. My friends shout my name to get my attention. “Someone is fighting ___!” Help him!” My body becomes frozen with paralyzed fear. I look around what I thought was at the group I was in, became no one but me. I stopped walking and looked around at my situation. In a split second, I forget where I was and what was happening. My body starts to sweat and I became numb. 

By Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

The anxieties and ego take over. Unknown to the truth, I hear words of discouragement fill my thoughts. Friends yelling my name became words of "he doesn't care enough, he doesn't even know how to protect someone" enter my ears. Deeper words of hate creep in and before I could blink. Self-doubt and role models came to mind. Knowing that I am the oldest, I quickly felt like the youngest. From the tallest to the shortest. Unable to feel worthy but unable to feel in control anymore.

I began walking to the fight. Unable to think straight, I move towards the area where the two figures are throwing down. A kids' playground is where the fight took place. Like a level straight from smash bros. space to move with nowhere to hide and yet all I saw was darkness with objects of light reminiscing the scene. Nothing was visible but the path and the playground. I power walk to the scene because I'm still too numb to run and the sense of urgency hasn't surfaced yet. 

By Edward Howell on Unsplash

Overthinking the game plan I shuffle to find what I can do. Feeling like a child as small and insignificant. I proceed to head to what might be my fate. In my mind, I imagine fast gliding to the scene to stop the hand that might finish the job. Handing an emulsive push that would send the dark figure flying. breaking the air crashing into the gates that surround the area. Feeling nothing but Leo's pride and strength that would let everyone know that I am here to save the day. Lending a hand to my friend and guiding them away from the scene so the rest can comfort and attempt to heal them.

By Elti Meshau on Unsplash

Flashing back to the reality of what wasn't, I run in to be of some use to what I no longer remember. A stare of dominance enters my atmosphere to force me to back down. I get closer and the dark figure pushes the friend to the ground. Approaching me with force and dominance, I slow down to brace for impact. I cross my arms to defend myself right before the dark figure gives in a glare as they raise their arm to deliver what seems like a final blow. Everything turns black and I wake up full of anxiety and paralyzed with discomfort. 

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Goosey Q.

A Portfolio of Written Pieces from Poetry & Reviews, to Positive Affirmations & Mental Health. This page is to Inform, Educate, & Inspire people to take a positive outlook on life while relating to struggles that we have or haven’t faced.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.