Horror logo

The Dark Brotherhood

Milha-ma

By Alexander CookPublished about a year ago 11 min read
Like

Milha-Ma and the Dark Brotherhood

Windhelm...home of the Stormclocks. I can't wait to get out of the city as soon as possible. It seems that everyone hates my kind here.

I sighed and went to walk towards the docks. Hopefully, Solstheim won't be too bad.

“Then it's true, what everyone is saying? That Aventus Aretino is doing the Black Sacrament? Trying to summon the Dark Brotherhood?"

*The...the Dark Brotherhood? Did I hear that right?*

Idesa: "Oh, Grimvar... always with the nonsense. No, no, of course not. Those are just tales..."

*Mother...*

Grimvar: "Fine. Then I'll invite him out to play. He lives right there. I'm going to knock on his door..."

Idesa: "No, child! Wait! That boy, that house - they're cursed."

Grimvar: "Ha! Then I'm right. I knew it. He's trying to have somebody killed!"

Idesa: "All right. I won't deny it, child. What you heard is true. But Aventus Aretino walks a dark path. His actions can lead only to ruin. Now, enough. We will speak no more of this. I am the only friend you need."

*No...*

On second thought Miraak can wait. I can't let this kid do this. I walked towards Idesa.

"Excuse me, I didn't mean to hear but did I hear something about a cursed child?

"Hmm ahh yes. A boy Aventus Arotino lost his mother recently but now he's come back. There are strange whispers. Some are saying it's the Dark Brotherhood. He's bring evil into this city

*Can it really get anymore evil? Gods if you heard that don't do it. By the Hist it’s already awful here.*

I waited for the woman and the kid to leave and crouched down and walked towards the door. I grabbed my lockpicks and attempted to open the door.

*Click* wow that was easy. I thought and walked in.

Once I was in the house I stood up and took my hood off. It felt cold and damp in here.

"Sweet mother, sweet mother, send your child unto me for the sins of the unworthy must be baptized in blood and fear."

"That must be the ritual." I thought and walked up the stairs. My mouth slightly dropped. The room was completely a mess and really empty. I ended up gagging from the smell of rotten flesh. I saw a letter on the ground. I picked it up and quickly read it.

"Sweet mother, sweet mother, send your child unto me for the sins of the unworthy must be baptized in blood and fear."

*Wow the Jarl can't even bother to look after and even check in his own city.*

"Please... How long must I do this? I keep praying, Night Mother. Why won't you answer me?" I slowly walked towards the sounds of stabbing.

I felt my body froze.

*What are you doing?! Leave! This isn't any of your business. He's already too far gone.*

I walked towards the kid. He immediately bolts up and runs toward me excitedly.

"It worked! I knew you'd come, I just knew it! I did the Black Sacrament, over and over. With the body and the... the things. And then you came! An assassin from the Dark Brotherhood." he said.

"I'm sorry kid. But I'm not who you think I am. I'm actually-"

"Of course you are! I prayed, and you came, and now you'll accept my contract."

“Contract?”

"My mother, she... she died. I... I'm all alone now. So they sent me to that terrible orphanage in Riften. Honorhall. The headmistress is an evil, cruel woman. They call her Grelod the Kind. But she's not kind. She's terrible. To all of us. So I ran away, and came home. And performed the Black Sacrament. Now you're here! And you can kill Grelod the Kind!"

*Grelod? Lucifer told me about her. How terrible is she? Has the Jarl done wait a minute the Jarl Maven of course not.*

“If you don't mind me asking. Tell me about your mother. What happened?”

"She got sick, last winter, when the snows came. And she just... she never got better. Not all year. One night she fell asleep and... never woke up. So now I'm all alone. And the Jarl said I had to go to Honorhall Orphanage. It's not fair!"

“Are you sure about this, boy? Murdering this woman? Once I do this there's no going back.”

"I've never been more sure about anything in my entire life. Someone like Grelod doesn't deserve to live one more day. She's a monster."

"Okay." I sighed feeling defeated. I turned around and saw my companions. Some were puzzled others were annoyed. I sighed and walked towards the exit

"Lady, if you don't mind Please hurry. To be honest, I'm kind of lonely here. As much as I hated getting sent to Honorhall, I really miss my friends there..."

"I'll see what I can do." I continued walking towards the exit.

"You're not actually going to grant the kids wish? You wouldn't murder an innocent person?"

"She's not innocent. She's been horrible to everyone. No kid in that orphanage has ever been adopted for years. I would now. I had to run away." Lucifer responded

If the kid ran away from Riften all the way back to his home. She really must be horrible. I'm curious to see what's going on." Remiel said.

I exited the door feeling torn.

"Well, it looks like we're going to Riften. I'll head to Solstheim after to take a break from this." I thought. I felt a tap on my shoulder and I jumped

" Woah easy there, I was just wondering are we going to Riften? So you can do the whole Grelod thing." Lucifer asked

"That's the plan. You guys won’t be there with me. I plan to let you guys rest at the Inn. I’ll see if I can handle this diplomatically. Assuming I get the chance to talk to her.

“I’m glad I choose to talk to you now. Grelod won’t even let give you a chance to talk to her. If you tell her Aventus sent you. She’ll threaten to beat him up. You know what I’m coming with you. I want to see her get what she deserves.” Lucifer said.

“Calm down Beeko. Are you sure about this? I asked slightly worried.

“Positive. Just know I’ll be with you no matter what.” He pats me on the back.

We just left Windhelm and I already feel sick to the stomach.

If I do this. Will my father ever see me the same way again? Would he be ashamed of me? Am I really going to stoop to my mother’s level?

I sighed and hopped on my mount.

“Come on Darla,” We’re going to Riften”

Xelzaz P.O.V

I can leave…I can leave right now and not look back

I sighed and looked at Misara, she had her hood on so I can exactly see her face.

*Not that I want to right now. I know Lucifer had a history with Grelod but that doesn’t mean she deserves to be murdered.*

“XELZAZ!”

“Ahh, Sheesh Remi, Don’t yell so loud” I scold

“I kind of had too. You kept bumping into all of us.” Remi replied

“Oh” I looked around and saw everyone staring at me. “Sorry about that I was lost in thought.”

“Are you okay?’ Khash asked.

“I’m alright. Just thinking right now”

“Do we need to set camp kind of break? Or walking instead of break?”

She’s distracted easily when she's walking. That could buy us time. Maybe I’ll persuade her not to do it. I thought.

“Walking would be best. I think I do need to stretch my legs” I hopped off Keeko and sent them back to Morrowind.

“Guys send your horses off. We’ll walk for a bit.” Misara announced.

We continued to walk towards Riftern Xuth! The gate is at least a 30-minute walk. How will I make this work?

“Xel?”

“Hmm?”

“You’ve been quiet this whole time and you got distracted. What’s going on?”

I’m trying to think of ways to distract Misara from Grelod. I didn’t anticipate what to do though. She gets distracted easily when we’re walking so it could buy us some time. But I’m not happy about this.

“Didn’t she say she’ll try talking to her?”

“Lucifer wanted to come along. He wants to watch her get what she deserves”

“Ahh…Okay. Well, we won’t be there at least. She’s leaving us at the Bee and Barb. We could grab drinks and I’ll let you know when you get pickpocketed. You’re an easy target seriously.”

“I am not!”

“You most certainly are. Every time we are there you get stuff stolen. Remember you lost your Flin”

“Don’t remind me. I waited 2 weeks for Brand-shei to get me Flin. That was heartbreaking”

“AND Redcap stole one of your potions WHILE he was drunk and even I have done it a few times”

“*sighs* Okay okay. You got me. I’ll try to keep an eye out this time. Hopefully.” I chuckled.

“Seriously though. Are you going to be okay? If it’s bothering you this much maybe you should say something now.”

I looked up at Misara, she was walking slower than usual. Then again we’re almost at the gate.

I could use the opportunity now. Talk some sense into her.

“I’ll bring it up at the Inn maybe. I can sense she’s already uneasy about it. Thank you Remi.”

“No problem Beeko-Jel?

I chuckled. “I’m Beeko, You’re Beeko-jel”

“We’re here. You guys go to the Bee and Barb. I gave Thogra the gold to give to you guys. I’m going to camp outside tonight. See you tomorrow.”

Damn it. That didn’t go to plan…

I sighed and we walked towards the Inn.

Should I talk to her about this? She’s already uneasy about this. No...let her set in to the guilt. I don’t think I can really talk to her right now. I’ll bring it up tomorrow.

We entered the inn and we set off our own ways.

“Kaidan! Now that we’re resting can I braid your hair?”

“Of course kid. Let me get an Ale first alright?”

“Can I have mead”

“Sorry kid. Not from me.”

“Hey! Xelzaz” I looked around and saw Thogra summoning me to the bar. “This Dunmer saved you Flin. Figured you should have it.”

“Thank you Thogra.

“Ouu free drink” As Remi tried to reach for it

“Ah! No this is my Flin. Go get your own”

“Rude” She responded

“Tell you what. I’ll make you a drink this time that isn’t water”

“Deal!”

I chuckled

“Dizzy-Drink?”

“I’ll make one for you too. Just don’t take my stuff.”

“Hphmm.”

I chuckled and walked away with my Flin.

I can’t stop thinking about what she’s doing though...” I sighed. I’ll be alright. I just need time.

*Meanwhile with Milha-Ma and Lucifer*

“Those who shirk their duties will get an extra beating. Do I make myself clear?

“Yes Grelod” Kids responded

Seriously child abuse? Child Slavery? I thought

“And one more thing! I will hear no more of adoptions! None of you riff-faff is getting adopted! EVER! Nobody needs you. Nobody wants you. That my darlings, is why you’re here. Why you’ll always be here until the day you come of age and get thrown out into that horrible world. Now, What do you all say?”

Burn in oblivion and suffer for the rest of your life old hag

“We love you Grelod. Thank you for your kindness.”

“That’s better. Now scurry off my little guttersnipes.” Grelod said.

No wonder why he wants her killed. Heck I want to kill her.

“She did this to you when you were a kid?” I whispered.

“That and more. I was the only Argonian kid. I think. You’re a master archer. Why don’t you show off your skills? He whispered back.

“Fine by me” I grabbed my ebony bow and my damage health potion. “I need a test subject to my new potion anyways”

I added the Damage Health Potion to my arrow and then prepped. I took a deep breath and drawed my bow and pointed at her head.

Steady…Breath and let go!

“AHHhhhh…”

“It’s Grelod! She’s dead”

“Come on let’s go!” Lucifer whispered shouted.

I nodded and we quickly snuck out of the orphanage

Rot in Oblivion Grelod…You deserve what you’re about to go through

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Alexander Cook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.