Horror logo

The Curse of Mr. Night's Notebook

By Landon Love

By Landon LPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I never should have gone to that graveyard, I never shook his hand. Oh, I'm sorry I've gotten way ahead of myself. Here let me start at the start and you will soon know my story and to never repeat my mistake.

I had just lost my girlfriend to a drunk driver, I spent almost all my money trying to save her. Not even all the money in the world could save her. In all honesty, I blamed myself. I should have been there that night. It should have been me that died.

One night, I felt like extra crap, so I decided to take some flowers to her grave. The night was extra cold and dark. I almost felt as if I was being watched. When I got to the cemetery the gates were still open. I almost forgot they don't close at night. I walked down the path, graves on all sides of me. The essence of death looming around me. Once I reached her grave I put new flowers in the holders.

After that I sat down and started to cry. I apologized for her death and told her about how I barely had enough money to eat.

“I wish you were here "I told her grave, “I wish I had enough money to buy a better grave for you”. I broke down and sobbed.

“I can't bring her back, but I can give you the money ”A monotone voice told me.

“Who's there! "I yelled, jumping up.

“That doesn't matter, "the monotone voice said. It felt as if his voice was coming from all around me.

“What do you want in return for the money? "I asked out of pure curiosity, and I could really use the cash.

“Oh i never ask for anything in return my dear friend, i know what it's like to lose someone ”His monotone voice now sounded reassuring. It felt like he truly knew what it was like.

“Who did you lose? "I asked.

“That is not important, "He said.

“Where are you? "I asked.

My eyes began to focus and I noticed a man leaning on her grave.

He wore a black hat with hair sticking out on the sides. His face was pale and red. He smiled at me, he had a big smile. Which was nothing weird, I wasn't one to judge. The one that freaked me out, was his big dead eyes.

“Would you like the cash, good friend? "He asked.

“I would sir "I said desperate for the money

“All i ask is that you sign my black notebook ”He said, “I like to remember the names of the people” He smiled his big freaky smile at me.

I walked over to him and he handed me the notebook with his long skinny fingers. I took a pen out of my pocket and signed one of the pages in his notebook. He smiled a big smile.

He reached into his coat and pulled out a single paper and handed it to me. It was a check for 20,000 dollars. My eyes widened.

“Than-thank you so much sir, this will help me so much, "I said and smiled at him. I stuck out my hand and shook his cold scaly hand.

“Thank you again "I said but I realized he was gone. That's odd, I thought.

I looked down at the name on the check, to see if I could maybe look him up later. His name was Charles Night....

The next morning I woke up extremely grateful to have 20,000 dollars. I walked out of the house in delight and walked to the bank. Oh my way I stepped in a puddle right outside the bank. Oh well I thought.

Once there I cashed in my money and walked out with enough to finally buy me groceries. The rest went to my bills. While at the store i also bought myself a new microwave and brand new Tv, so I could treat myself. But that is where I messed up.

When I got home I unloaded all my new stuff and sat down on my couch. That's when strange things started happening. My tv when i plugged it in just wouldn't work. It was stuck on the logo screen MN. When I went to put my groceries in the fridge, the fridge had stopped working. The worst part of it all was whenever I put something in the microwave, it would always come out with the center of the food being cold.

Out of the blue my home phone began to ring.

"Hey mom, what sup? "I asked.

"It's your father, he just had a stroke "She informed me

"Oh my gosh, is he going to be okay? "I asked frantically.

"The procedure he needs is gonna cost 15,000 dollars "She cried.

I sat there for a moment, pondering on whether or not I was going to give my mother the money. I slapped myself in the face, of course I was gonna give her the money. I'll still have 50 bucks left over.

"I have the money mom "I said.

"Oh, thank you so much dear "She said.

"You're welcome mom, I love you, please call if anything happens "I said and we hung up.

Nothing bad happened to them, but strange things started happening to me. That night when I went to sleep I swear I could see Charles in my door way. And that morning, I woke up with scratch marks all the way up my arms. I started hearing his monotone voice, he was calling to me. Telling me my time was running out.

I had no idea what was going on. But everything got worse. The scars in my arms have spelt out the word night. I have unbearable headaches and I'm starting to feel sick.

I believe Mr. Night is the reason behind all this. I bought this video recorder to prove just that. I can hear footsteps approaching the door, I don't have much time. Please if you're watching this. Whatever you do, do not make deals with a man called Mr. Nigh-

Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.