Horror logo

The Crow's Nest

The Disappearance Of The Artemis Crew

By Jarred S BakerPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
16

(Excerpts from the journal of William Goodsir, the only crew member found on The Artemis)

19th of May 1806

It’s been three days since the mutiny aboard the Artemis, but our fortune is no better than under the short-lived leadership of Captain Dontez. After Captain Zissou died during the storm just over a fortnight ago, Dontez naturally took his place being the first mate. However, days later as the winds stopped and the sea grew as still as death, Samael began to speak of a Jonah aboard. He began in general whispers amongst the crew as we worked at first. Few of the men gave his claim much merit, but as the days went on without the winds return, they began to listen. He marked Dontez as the Jonah, making accusations against him of murder to improve his rank. I, who have sailed under Dontez since the turn of the century, couldn’t believe it. He had always been an honorable man, and never had I met such a devout God-fearing man out at sea. Regardless, even the most skeptical of the crew began to come around to Samael’s line of thinking as the days turned to weeks and the winds had yet to return. Of the twenty-four able bodied seamen aboard, he had the support of all but three, Magnus, Paul, and myself. He also had the support of the carpenter Hickey and cook Crozier as well leaving few left to support Dontez. Those of us who did simply stayed out the way the day Samael took over the ship, Dontez was asleep when Crozier cut his throat, as was the second mate. Dontez’s first mate Edgar was on watch when they came for him, he was stabbed in the back then thrown overboard by the seaman on duty. After all was done Samael gathered everyone on deck to announce his appointment as Captain to the cheers of most of the men. Now three days after, still with no wind in our sails, as well as the men going through what’s left of our food and spirits with no regard to rations, I fear this may only be the beginning of our sorrows. Therefore, I have set about making a record of events to ensure an account of things so should we not make it back to port, any whom may find this will know the truth of our fate.

23rd of May 1806

Magnus died today; God rest his soul. The winds still have not returned and he decided to make a point of this questioning Samael’s claim of a Jonah. Samael named him a blasphemer and ordered him keelhauled stern to bow before he had the chance to be heard out by the men, the men carried him off in a zealous rage with no faltering. He cried out for mercy as they bound him, his pleas went unanswered as the men dropped him in the water at the stern of the ship. I counted silently to myself as they dragged him under, the water went crimson and on the count of forty Magnus surfaced at the bow. After pulling him aboard he was dropped hard on the deck barely clinging to life to the laughter of the men. His clothes had been torn apart, nothing more than bloody rags at this point. The muscle and tissue of his body stripped to the bone as if torn apart by a pack of wild animals. Blood pooled as he waited for death, then as though he hadn’t already suffered enough Samael ordered him in irons then cast into the sea, branding him a traitor. I’ve hid away in the crow’s nest, where I have always shown a propensity to linger, out of fear of what will become of me if my thoughts are discovered. To make already dire circumstances bleaker the men have begun ransacking the cargo with no disciplining, making me wonder on Samael’s intentions regarding going home. Our food stores are holding out, though for how much longer I cannot estimate a guess. I pray the winds return soon, I fear my life, as well as that of Paul, now depends upon it.

30th of June 1806

Everyone continues to grow weary, with no wind and food stores all but depleted our situation grows more desperate with every day that passes. Multiple attempts at catching fish have been made but have proven fruitless. I can tell some of the men are coming to regret their decision though they dare not speak of it, I’ve just noticed their demeanor has shifted notably regarding their fanatical following of our Captains orders. Not that he has given many as of late, he hides away in the captain's quarters leaving the daily workings aboard the ship to the men, only finding his way on deck once a day as the sun sets. He goes to the bow speaking to no one, and stares into the horizon as if expecting something to appear. I must try to find myself up here within the crow’s nest in the coming days to watch him more closely, I’ve spent enough time up here recently it should go unnoticed. The only ones who see him anymore truly are Morgan, a giant of man Samael named first mate, and Crozier. I do my best to avoid attention, especially after what Morgan did to Hickey yesterday, I still find it hard to believe it was all over a few sips of rum Hickey had hoarded away before the stores of spirits ran out. Dr Fitzjames doesn’t imagine he will ever recover vision in his right eye I’m told. The fighting amongst the men has grown out of hand in the recent days, and the rumors continue amongst the men about unnatural acts being carried out by some men upon the weakest among us. I hope God never gives me chance to find out.

3rd of June 1806

I know now we are truly cursed, and that God has abandoned this ship. I awoke this morning to a smell that made my mouth water before I could sort out its origin, the smell of meat roasting filled the lower decks, and Hickey’s hammock was red with blood. I made my way around Crozier’s stoves and the men gathering around them looking ravenous, Paul was amongst them, then rushed to get up here to make note of this. As well as get away from that smell. I feel as though to be so enclosed with it, breathing it in as I was, would have driven me mad. A sane man knows the difference between a meal and a man, but the stomach doesn’t and mine screams now to be nourished. I don’t know how much longer I can make it aboard this ship before all that God gave us to separate us from the animals is peeled away leaving me like the rest of the men. There is no salvation in store for us here on this ship. If only there had really been a ship on the horizon on the first of this month, I am convinced now that it had been nothing more than a trick of my mind. I must make plans for escape, or at the least a means of hiding myself away until the evil that has encompassed this ship has subsided. God save our souls.

5th of June 1806

I’ve come up here to seek refuge from the evil that is consuming my fellow seaman below. I was forced to hide away in the hold as Crozier and Morgan began picking out who was to be served up next. They walked amongst the lower decks sizing up the men and whispering amongst themselves. I hid myself amongst what remained of the lumber brought on at the beginning of this voyage with the thought that with Hickey gone I was safe. After a very close call this past afternoon I snuck my way back into the crow’s nest, in the early hours of the morning before the sun had risen, where I seemingly become invisible to those below me. Better to die up here with my soul than to give in to the temptations the madness and evil happening aboard this ship have to offer.

It has been hours since I climbed up here to hide myself, I thought I would lose my sanity before nightfall. The sounds and smells drifting up from below me pushing me closer and closer to the edge of madness. Then from nowhere as the sun was beginning to set a light wind picked up, the first we’ve had in over a month. It took a minute for the men to realize what was happening but when Samael came on deck and began shouting orders, they jumped quick. Hell, I almost climbed down to the deck myself. Samael has taken the helm personally; I just pray we reach land soon.

6th of June 1806

The lord has seen me through! I’ve just spotted a ship on the horizon and as far as I can see we’re currently sailing directly at each other. I must make it until we have reached them, and I will be saved. If the wind continues to hold, we should reach them by nightfall. Praise to God, and many thanks for my salvation.

I was deceived, and my soul shall pay the price. I write this as what’s left of my sanity drains from my mind. I know now that everything that has befallen us was all Samael’s design to lead us to damnation, and the ship that I so foolishly thought was our salvation was the vessel he intended to carry us to the depths of hell. The closer it got to us the darker the sky grew, thunder boomed around us as unnatural lightning made the sky look as if it had been set aflame. As it came along side us, I was able to see the unspeakable horrors that crewed this ship of the damned, such grotesque monstrosities that the mere sight would drive even the most strong-willed men to swallow the barrel of their shotgun. I hid within the crow’s nest as I listened to the ungodly sounds coming from below deck, screams of agony and the laughter of the mad as they were dragged away. The creatures spoke some bizarre dialect, every syllable tore like a blade to my brain, I wished to die as blood began to drain from my ears. Then suddenly thunder crashed louder than I knew was possible, and the sky returned to normal. The ship had gone and left me, I know not how they missed me, and should be grateful, but there is no way I can live what I have seen. If anyone should come looking for us and come across this know we are all gone, suffering the torments of the damned for all eternity.

(The ships log from the Bellafonte, the day they discovered the Artemis)

22nd of July 1806

We came upon The Artemis around mid-day; the ship had been reported missing weeks earlier when it failed to arrive in port. Upon first sight the ship appeared to be abandoned, however, upon closer inspection the fate of The Artemis appears to be much more sinister. A body hung from the crow’s nest was later identified as that of William Goodsir, one of the ship’s able-bodied seaman. Upon boarding the ship, we discovered blood dried upon the deck, claw marks across the main deck trailed in blood, and horrors that would make any man’s blood run cold. Something ungodly transpired upon this ship. After gathering the body of Mr. Goodsir for burial, discovering a journal on his person as we did, we quickly returned to the Bellafonte with the log of the Artemis. Upon reading these two documents I have ordered the Artemis burned and left at sea. God save the souls of the missing men.

fiction
16

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.