Horror logo

The Crossroads Inn

The First and Last Date

By Jonathan KlarichPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
3
The Crossroads Inn
Photo by Lenka Sluneckova on Unsplash

It was as if the sky had gotten out of a relationship that it thought would last forever because this rain seemed to never end. Cries of thunder shook the ground around me as I walked quickly through this concrete jungle. Small rivers of water raced through the streets looking for a way into the sewer system. People ran to get to shelter, and cars whisked through these new rivers as if they were nothing. I walked, looking for a place that I could call my own for the remainder of this storm, and perhaps grab a drink.

Swearing under my breath for this bad luck of mine seemed like another nail on my coffin. This week has not been good to me and this seemed like the perfect ending. It's Friday night, I lost millions in the stock exchange and found my wife in bed with my secretary. Funny, I thought that it was supposed to be the other way around. Welcome to my new normal… I had ten amazing years and now it all seemed to be coming to a swift end.

With my mind swirling with the thoughts of the week, I completely lost track of time and space. The sound of dogs barking harshly in the alleyway on my right brought me back to my senses. I turned into the next doorway and was met with the blues lyrics of “have mercy, now…” I knew exactly where I was, it was the place where I needed to be, with all the time in the world to spare.

"Welcome to the Crossroads Inn. Table for one?" asked the hostess who was dressed formally in a vest, suit pants, white blouse, and stilettos.

"Yes." I said as I took off my raincoat, drenched from the onslaught that I just went through. “Can I have a towel or napkin to dry myself off a bit too?”

“Of course.” She replied. “I’ll show you to your table then I will come back with one.”

I began to follow her to the bar area to be seated in a booth in the back corner.

As I walked through the restaurant, I noticed that a single blues guitarist was playing on a small stage off to my left. Very few people were seated, scattered throughout the many tables. Some smoking their cigarettes, evident by the curling of the smoke from the corners of their mouths, others enjoyed cocktails, glasses of whiskey, shots of espresso. All of them dressed in suits, or dresses, even the blues player wore his suit and fedora.

As I took my seat, my eyes wondered around. Seemed more like a speak easy than a place to dine. Hanging on the walls were photos of all sorts of people ranging from musicians to businessmen. I knew some of them, they were my friends but passed away tragically at young ages. One photo was that of Robert Johnson with his boyish smile, fedora hanging to the side, and a cigarette about to fall out of his mouth.

The place was dimly lighted, I wasn't able to make out any of the faces in this crowd. “Better this way” I thought since I wanted to be left alone after the hell that I experienced this week. I didn't expect it to come so soon.

The waitress came up to my table to take my order. She was wearing the same get-up as the hostess, but she wore her blouse unbuttoned one button too many. Playing the sex appeal game for bigger tips.

"A bottle of your merlot and a platter of calamari. Can I smoke here?"

"Yes sir, you can. I'll bring over an ashtray and your order will be out in a bit." She replied politely.

I reached inside my jacket pocket for my leather tubo that housed my gordo cigar. Hand rolled for me when I was in Honduras from a Cuban migrant. It is a large cigar, bigger than regular ones, just the way I like it. A long, deep, heavy smoke.

About an hour later, only halfway done with my cigar, barely touched the food, and only had a few sips of wine. I was deep in thought and lost in the songs of the musician as he sang of Chicago, St. Louis, Memphis, and the South. It was a splendid way to end the week, if only it hadn't brought so much heart ache in the process. I thought back on the last time I had gone out with my wife, about 2 years ago. I tried… I guess now I know what her other plans were. My secretary. All I wanted was to spend time with the love of my life for the precious time that I have left on this Earth.

"Mind if I join you?"

I looked and saw a woman standing there in a long cocktail dress, spaghetti straps, and a deep V cut in the front. She had long black hair that seemed to reach the entire length of her back, hazel eyes, red lips and olive skin. She was quite breath taking.

"Sure." I said without thinking. It was the only time that week that I didn't have to think about what came out of my mouth.

"Quite the weather we are having tonight." She said as she sat down in front of me.

"What a way to end the week. You would think that it was a Monday by how gloomy it is." I joked.

As we spoke, the conversation flowed so naturally that it was like I was talking to an old friend. We even talked about the forbidden subjects like religion and politics. Time seemed to pass slowly in this place, but eventually I noticed that we finished the bottle of wine, and that my time was coming to an end. I wished that this night would continue forever.

"Thank you for sitting with me tonight. I needed this. I only wish that I had more time so that I could take you on our first date." I said with a feeling of comfort.

"Why do you say that?" She replied being a little puzzled by the statement.

"I am going away for a long time. My driver is picking me up in the next 10 minutes, and I don't believe that I will be coming back."

"Ah, I see" she replied "It seems only yesterday when you walked through those doors and first made that deal with the boss."

"Yeah, things didn't go as planned these last 10 years. I didn't realize what was most important."

"You could always stay here. It's not much but all of us get by just fine passing the days away in this solitude."

"That would be nice, but after what's happened to me this week, I think I should keep this appointment."

"What a shame. It always saddens us see the devil take what is his. Stay long enough and you'll hear Robert sing all about it."

"I wish I could. But I need to keep this date. It is time for me to go, my time is over. Goodbye, and thank you for being with me on my last night."

I stand up to leave, slowly I place my hand on the head of the booth, from the hooks where my raincoat is hung, I put it on and slowly make my way towards the door. At that moment I hear the song playing about the Crossroad and the lyrics ringing in my ears asking God to save my soul. I stop and listen for the finishing of the song. When it stopped there was silence in the air. I noticed everyone looking at me. I felt a hand slip itself into mine, I turned to see who it belonged to and saw that it was the woman from the booth.

"Let me be with you for as long as I can."

"Thank you." As a tear falls down my cheek. I look once again at the singer who in turn tips his hat to me and begins his next song.

We walk to the door which opens in front of us, a man dressed in black awaits with an umbrella in hand to take me onto the next part of my journey.

"My name is Amelia, and I had a wonderful time with you tonight. I want your last date to be a memorable one." She leans in and kisses me lightly on the lips.

"A perfect night." I whispered as I turn and begin walking under the umbrella of the man in black, never to be seen again.

fiction
3

About the Creator

Jonathan Klarich

I was born and raised in St. Louis, MO, and have lived all over the US and North America since then. I've worked every oddball job in the pursuit of adventure and curiosity, eventually that spirit led me into the medical field.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.