Horror logo

The Companion

For the first time going away from my city, my mother, father, siblings, and beloved grandmother

By ayesha adeelPublished about a year ago 10 min read
Like

For the first time going away from my city, my mother, father, siblings, and beloved grandmother

The thought was haunting, but there was also freedom in a way.

Staying in the hostel was my old passion which was going to be fulfilled now with my admission to this college. In our small town “Bakht Khan” there was no good college for girls. I got admission to this college but I didn't want to study in it anymore. I had submitted the admission form to this big college, but there was a question in front of me, if I get admission, where will I live? My mother and father were very supportive of girls' education. So when I was admitted, they allowed me to stay in the hostel.

Abu, after the advice of his acquaintances, arranged for me to stay in this hostel, which was a very prestigious and well-reputed hostel in the city. The best part was that my college was only a few minutes' walk away. Abu came to drop me off himself and left me in the room with many instructions.

As soon as Abu left, all my confidence left. I sat down on the bed and started crying uncontrollably.

Hey hey. What happened? At that time Madam Nafisa entered the room. Madam Nafeesa was the supervisor of this hostel. Don't panic, everyone gets homesick for a few days and then they get used to it.

They comforted me with love.

“Look, he introduced me to a girl about my age standing next to him.

"This is Layla" your roommate.

I examined Laila with great interest. After all, he had to stay with her day and night.

Laila appeared to be a normal thin girl of my age, she didn't even smile in response to my intense excitement. He just left his ice-cold hand with an unwanted cloud of my hand.

"Leila has also come to this hostel today". Madam Nafeesa told me.

Laila did not follow Madam Nafisa's advice much. She started setting her things in her closet.

Seeing this, I also took out my clothes from the bag and put them in the closet. The next day our college started. Laila was also in my college but her subjects were different so our classes were separate.

After studying for a few days, I fell in love with the hostel. But I didn't even have any special conversation with Laila. She used to not even talk to me, but she would answer yes to any of my words.

Every weekend most of the hostel girls went to their homes. But some girls who were nominal in number stayed in the hostel. These were the girls whose homes were several hours away from the hostel. Layla and I were among the same girls.

Layla, where do you come from? I mean what city is your house in?

On one such weekend when the hostel was half empty and I was getting bored, I asked Laila. She was studying some rotten book. On my question, he looked at me. Why? why are you asking?

"If you don't want to tell, don't tell"

She kept looking at me for a few moments, then mumbled in her mouth and answered me, I could not understand.

The days were passing fast. I was trying to work hard. Yes, try because it was easy to get good marks in Inter but now studying was becoming very difficult. I had to work hard. We often had tests in which my marks were not very good.

do what? Looking at the book, I thought.

"In this way, I will fail." Looks like you will have to take tuition.

When mom called, I mentioned my problem to mom.

"Look son", said the mother in response to my words.

You know the situation in your house, your father's salary does not allow for more expenses. Your college fees, your hostel rent, and your mess bill all add up to a nice figure. There is no room for more than that. You have two younger siblings. They also go to school. You work hard yourself or take help from a girl.

After Amy's long lecture, there was no room left for discussion. I was already doing hard work, but I don't know why, as if my mind had stopped working. I did not understand a single word explained by the teachers in the college.

And the girl? Which girl to help?

It does not know what to read. How will pass? I have never seen him open a textbook.

He always has a rotten novel in his hand. I thought irritably.

Like Leila read my mind. He took his eyes off the novel and looked at me.

what happened? What are you thinking? he asked.

"That's nothing," I said as if panicked. The exam date is coming and no special preparation.

Is yours ready? I said to him. In response, he held the hand in front of his face.

"Huh," I thought hard. I don't feel like studying because of a bad attitude, bad attitude, maybe because of that unwanted roommate. I did my analysis. On the second day, Madam was standing in front of Nafisa.

"Ma'am please", you change my roommate or change my room. Swap me with another guy.

"But why?" Madam Nafisa was surprised. I don't want to stay with him any longer, madam; his attitude is wrong and he is very arrogant. I pressed.

Are you happy? That was not the way I felt. Lady was amazed.

Has he treated you badly?

Madam, this is not the case; what exactly is the distinction and what is a bad distinction? Even talking doesn't bother her.

She doesn't even answer anything, which limits her.

"Oh". The Madam exhaled deeply. Give it all you've got to teach. Leila comes from a strict family where girls are forbidden from leaving the house.

Laila should never be allowed outside of college, according to her father's strict instructions. Naturally, they will also oppose girls forming friendships. She doesn't talk much because of this.

But, please, madam! I'm moved to a room by you." I persevered.

"Okay, Sania, there are now girls in every room. Nevertheless, if there is a vacancy, I will attempt to relocate you. She turned away from me.

I couldn't breathe.

This pattern persisted for the next few days. College education was proving to be more challenging. The cold demeanor of Laila did not change.

"Grandma, what should I do?"

"I used to remember what I read once, so I don't think I'm that Sania. Now, the entire night passes, but when I wake up, my mind is empty." My issue was explained to my grandmother.

"So Sani, don't worry." I was consoled by grandma.

"We ask Allah for assistance when there is no other option."

"My son, no long tasks. Just do it in such a way that, following the Isha prayer, you can take the tasbih, recite Ayat al-Kursi, breathe into your books, and then memorize the lesson. Look at how well people will remember it, and you won't forget about it for the rest of your life.

Grandma provided me with her explanation.

I prayed the Isha prayer all day and at night. In the past, all of the girls who were required to pray gathered in the prayer area of the hostel to pray. As well, I used to pray there.

I went to my room following my prayer.

Rather than attempting to read, she opened her book bag and began reading.

However, it's possible that not even one word was understood.

After taking a deep sigh and turning off the light, the side lamp came on.

The hostel's rules stipulate that lights were turned off at 11 p.m.

Lamp Jalalites were the students who were required to study.

I was stricken and thought, "Another problem."

How, then? I didn't know a single word.

I recalled my grandmother's words suddenly.

I took the tasbih that my mother had given me from Makkah Sharif out of my purse. She began reciting Ayatul Kursi after covering her head with a dupatta.

She used to read Ayat al-Kursi several times a day, but I don't know why a strange servant started coming at that time of night to read it under a lamp.

My tongue, not my heart, was reciting me after a few minutes.

As my thoughts began to clear, I began to close my eyes.

I was utterly focused as I recited Ayat al-Kursi.

The entire room remained silent. To the point where the sound could be heard.

I heard a voice all of a sudden.

Ah. Ah. Ah. like a moaning individual.

I opened my eyes with anxiety.

He. Laila, my roommate, was lying on her bed in the dim light of the lamp in this quiet room.

like being seated while praying.

She appeared to be groaning, and her hands were bent behind her back. What was the whining about? who was speaking in dehumanizing tones?

My heart began to slow down. What was she up to? Why did you do that?

I screamed so loudly that I ran away.

"No way," I will no longer reside with Laila, Madam.

I sincerely apologize for the "drama," but please believe me when I say that I have not lied a single word. For a short time, Madam Nafisa kept looking at me. I'll try to get you a different room soon. while you remain in this room.

I said, nervously, "No way." I won't stay there for very long. what transpired that evening.

Your eyes had a trick on you. At that point, Laila went into the office of Madam Nafisa.

I briefly lost my life when I saw Laila.

However, she appeared to be a normal Laila at the time.

She shyly nodded, "Actually, I'm sick."

Epileptic seizures plague me. For the first time in a long time, he shared information about himself.

Our home has very strict rules. too much to even begin to comprehend. Here, it's common to kill on suspicion.

Girls here can't stay there even for a day because women in our country are so suppressed. I am my father's only daughter, and he is very fond of me. I came to this hostel for that reason. Otherwise, none of our daughters have attended school. Laila's eyes were full of tears. Madam Nafeesa and I listened to her with our mouths open.

I am an epileptic because I have witnessed atrocities against women in my house and live in a joint family in the village. I have seizures and can't stand any noise or accidents. My feet and hands become numb.

Laila folded her hands in front of me and said, "I'm sorry if you got hurt because of me."

Madam Nafeesa stayed with Laila when I asked for a separate room, but after that day, it became so important that Laila started talking to me little by little. She would sometimes tell me about the cruel men in her family, and her face would show hatred.

The men in my family are used to killing and shedding blood.

My life would have left my body had I heard all of this. I am, in fact, very private.

"This time should pass quickly. I'll pass the test and head home.

"It's been a long time since I went home." How, then, can I pass the exam?

It was becoming increasingly difficult to study.

Additionally, I had a significant test the other day.

I took the books and sat down.

My ears perked up when Leila said, "Light off Kurdo."

The shock hit me like "Oops."

"What took place?" I begged, "Leila, please put a pillow over your eyes."

Without looking away from my glasses, I thought, "Go to hell."

"Please try Leila" "Oh. His throat made the sound of an animal."

And what did this accomplish? My heart dropped.

Layla was lying on her bed and looking at me through bloodshot eyes.

She did not own those eyes.

There was a third individual among them.

She extended her hand after a brief pause for me to look at her.

Her hands only got bigger. Her hand got longer as she sat there.

even made it to the telephone. She also shut off the light.

supernaturalurban legendmonsterhalloween
Like

About the Creator

ayesha adeel

A story writer is a creative professional who specializes in crafting engaging and compelling narratives.Story writers can work in a variety of genres, including fiction, non-fiction, drama, and poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.