Horror logo

The candle in the window

Fictional Mary's grave story

By Lena BaileyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

So everyone in long island knows about Mary's grave and her house. If you pass by the house at night however many people are in the care that's how many candles are in the window. It's wild and I've experienced it. One day I decided to poke around the house to see if I sensed anything or could see anything there. I had planned to get there early in the day but unfortunately there were things that stopped me from getting there when I wanted. I finally got there a little bit before the sun would even start to set.

I had gotten there and walked up the drive way leaving my car off to the side ( I didn't want to park in the drive way). So I was poking around when I could have sworn I saw someone in the house I looked closer and saw no sign of someone there. I looked up and the sun was starting to set. I didn't want to stay too late because I had to walk down the drive way and retrieve my car. I had my back towards the house trying to decide where to go when I heard a twig snap behind me and felt a cold hand on my neck. I turned around and no one was there. Needless to say I was freaked out.

I went up on the porch to look around. I noticed movement and I moved closer to a window to have a closer look. Just then I saw a small antique doll appear out of no where. I yelled and jumped back. It ran across the room and disappeared. I had to get out of there it was about to turn dusk any way. I got off the porch and looked at the window the candles are supposed to appear in. It wasn't technically night but I was wanting to see if the candles would appear anyway. Sure enough I heard a car go by and I say 3 candles. Another car went by and saw 4 candles.

Just then I saw a cop car and saw 2 candles. The cop car stopped and yelled for me to come to my car. When I did he told me that the owner of the property had called the cops wanting them to remove whoever was on the property. Someone had apparently been in there and wanted me to go away. The cop didn't take me to jail because he said he had several people tell him it didn't look like anyone was actively living there. Thankful that I wasn't going to jail I left but I ended up going to Mary's playhouse.

I parked along the road and went to the playhouse. It wasn't much to look at but I decided to go any way. I got an uneasy feeling. I heard a twig snap, thinking it was deer or something I ignored it. Then I heard a growl and when I looked I swore I saw something that looked like a skinny hairy person on their hands and knees. I decided to leave.

I got to my car and I saw more of those creatures. I got home as fast as I could. I locked all the doors and windows. I have never locked my windows until that night. I live alone but when I went to sleep that night I heard someone say my name. When I woke up the next day everything was moved around and all the doors and window will still locked.

I don't know what is going on but I am sure Mary herself knows.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Lena Bailey

Georgia born writer. Specializing in dating and true crime

If you have any questions or comments please email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.