Horror logo

The Cabin of Silence

Be Silent or Be Silenced

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished 2 years ago Updated about a month ago 4 min read
37
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window.

Logan              11.12 p.m.


Dude, we’ve been over this a million times! Just go in already! 🙄

Hayden           11.13 p.m.


It’ll take years for me to explore the cabin if I can only make 1 step every 2 seconds.

Logan              11.13 p.m.


God! Are you some special kind of stupid?! It’s called ‘The Cabin of Silence’ for a reason!

Hayden           11.13 p.m.


Those are just stories that were made up. The Witch isn’t real!

Logan              11.14 p.m.


Then why are you afraid to go in? Plus, I’m gonna be here by this tree until you come back out. Let me know if you see anything unusual and I’ll come in.

Hayden           11.14 p.m.


I’M NOT AFRAID! GOING IN NOW!

Logan              11.14 p.m.


Finally! Make sure your phone is in silent mode and turn off your vibration as well.

Hayden           11.15 p.m.


Don’t worry, I’m way ahead of ya!

Logan              11.21 p.m.


See anything yet? 👀

Hayden           11.28 p.m.


Dust. Thick layers of dust. Cobwebs. Doesn’t look like the cabin has been used for many years.

Logan              11.28 p.m.


The candle certainly didn’t light itself, did it? Do you try hard to be stupid or is it effortless?

Hayden           11.29 p.m.


SHUT UP! I’M DONE! I’LL FIND SOME OTHER WAY TO MAKE IT UP TO YOU!

Logan              11.29 p.m.


That’s not your decision to make. I still have that video of you. If you don’t want me to post it on Instagram, do as I say.

Hayden           11.30 p.m.


Alright, alright! Well, there’s nothing much really. Just a wooden table and four wooden chairs.

Logan              11.30 p.m.


Come on, dude. You gotta do better than that!

Hayden           11.31 p.m.


I can only move at a snail’s pace! Deal with it!

Logan              11.31 p.m.


Sorry, I forgot, my bad. Hey, did you put the tape over your mouth? Just a small sound is enough to make the Witch appear in front of you.

Hayden           11.39 p.m.


There. Is. No. Witch. But despite it being eerily silent, I can sense some movement.

Logan              11.40 p.m.


How’s that possible?

Hayden           11.41 p.m.


I can see shadows cast by the candlelight. The shadows seem to be moving.

Logan              11.41 p.m.


Well, go on then, see where it is coming from!

Hayden           11.42 p.m.


Wait a sec. Aren’t you gonna come in?

Logan              11.42 p.m.


Nah! I lied about that. Lol! 😝

Hayden           11.43 p.m.


Fine! It seems like it’s coming from the kitchen.

Logan              11.43 p.m.


I hate that you can only move so slow. I’m dying to know what’s going on in there.

Hayden           11.47 p.m.


Dude…

Logan              11.47 p.m.


What?

Hayden           11.51 p.m.


I made a mistake. I mean not purposely. It was an accident.

Logan              11.51 p.m.


Shit! Did you make a noise?

Hayden           11.51 p.m.


Worse. I slipped on something wet and fell. Now the Witch is towering over me.

Logan              11.51 p.m.


Heyyy, I didn’t know you could make jokes! But now’s not the time.

Hayden           11.55 p.m.


The Witch dragged me into the kitchen. Surprisingly, she didn’t take away my phone.

Logan              11.55 p.m.


Dude, you gotta stop this. The story isn’t real and the Witch isn’t real. You yourself said so.

Hayden           11.56 p.m.


Yes, yes I did. But I never said the Warlock isn’t real.

Logan              11.56 p.m.


Lol, you gotta do better than that if you wanna scare me! So, who’s this so-called Warlock?

Hayden           11.56 p.m.


Me!

Logan              11.56 p.m.


LOL! That’s the funniest thing ever! 🤣🤣🤣

Hayden           11.56 p.m.


I was so sick of you bullying me. I wanted to do something to make you stop pushing me around.

Logan              11.57 p.m.


So, you became the Warlock? Lol! 🤣

Hayden           11.57 p.m.


You’d be surprised at how easily witchcraft can be learned from the dark web.

Logan              11.58 p.m.


Dude, I’m getting sick of your bullshit!

Hayden           11.58 p.m.


I know how obsessed you are with this cabin. So, I decided to use those made-up stories to my advantage. I conjured the candle in the window. I knew you wouldn’t be able to resist.

Logan              11.59 p.m.


If you don’t cut the crap and come out right now, I’m leaving without you!

Hayden           11.59 p.m.


I’m already out.

Logan              11.59 p.m.


Yeah, right! I’m looking at the cabin door and I didn’t see you come out.

Hayden           12.00 a.m.


Turn around. I’m behind you. And it’s your last day to live.

~~~~~

Chat fiction stories are presented as digital text conversations between two or more characters, without any narration. The format limits possible storytelling options, and presents a challenge to authors in conveying narrative only through dialogue. Most popular stories are of the horror and thriller genres.

__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! 🥰 If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:

fiction
37

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❤️ Erythrophile ❤️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
🖤 Elegantly Disturbed Mind 🖤

Instagram 🤍 Facebook 🤍 Threads

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Isabella Rose3 months ago

    I love the texting style of this story, My Morbid Friend. It's so fast paced!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Once again, another that I love on the second round!! It inspires me to want to try this format, it's so interesting and such a clever way to present a story in a shorter format! I'll have to figure out what kind of story I'd do with this though! 🤔

  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    I loved your take on this! I wondered if you had submitted something and this did not disappoint! I love the back-and-forth of the texting. AWESOME chemistry between the characters too. LOVED this! Mine was about a small group of boys watching the cabin from their tree house. LOL! It was called "The Last Forty Feet". I wrote it with a lot of dialogue like you did, but didn't think about texting. This is just amazing!!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Dharrsheena, I like the formatting and texture of this story! It's definitely an interesting presentation and way of telling a story! I didn't know this was a thing, also thank you for the context at the bottom explaining what the format is. I appreciate the information and liked learning about a different story format! 💖

  • Brilliant! I love the way you creatively wrote this as a text chat, and the twist at the end was spine tingling. Incredibly well done!

  • MARIE ODEMS 10 months ago

    YOU HAVE A TRUE GIFT KEEP WRITING!!!!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Gurl you truly tapdanced on this genre! Awesome work!!!! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Wow nice twist at the end. I love the chat storytelling! ❤️

  • Well done. Interesting chat story dialog. Good job!!!

  • Kent Brindley2 years ago

    Great read!

  • Interesting concept! I like that you times it to conclude at midnight!

  • Russell Ormsby 2 years ago

    Nice one. I write a lot of character driven stories with little or no narrative at all. I find it an awesome way of having to use your creativity to tell the story the way you would like to. Nice job my friend.

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Great job. Intriguing methodology. This is a new format for me. The story is very good.🥰

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic and scary! Great horror story.👏💖💕

  • Brittany Miller2 years ago

    I've seen a few text-based stories in ads, and I've always liked them. They let your imagination run wild, which is a bonus (from my view). Well done!

  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    Different and refreshing!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    That was great. Well done.

  • Colt Henderson2 years ago

    Great job at the style! Loved this!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    This was so much fun in a creepy, scary way!! I've never read chat fiction before, but I've seen it mentioned. I think you did a great job with it :)

  • Wow... I didn't expect that! I enjoyed reading it. ❤️

  • This is fabulous 🖤 I appreciate how challenging this format is, and you absolutely nailed it!

  • Kevin Rolly2 years ago

    It's a fascinating take to do it in a chat. Took me awhile to catch on to the format though so perhaps for some readers it may have been easier to set up that it was a chat from the start. The revelation that it is a revenge story really works, but it could have been more powerful if that got explored more - to truly see his bullying of her and how much it upsets her and has pushed her to do what she does. Good job though!

  • Wow this is brilliant my friend. I’m speechless…….just WOW!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Ooh , great take on this, chat fiction can be challenging and you hit it perfectly

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.