Horror logo

The Cabin in the Woods

A Ghost Story

By Allana WestPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2
The Cabin in the Woods
Photo by Olivier Guillard on Unsplash

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window.

This seemed strange, albeit not altogether unbelievable. The cabin was still sturdy, strong and built on a solid foundation. Fisherman, hikers and kids would often be seen in the woods or at the lake. It wouldn’t be unheard of for someone to go inside. Although why at last light of dusk would someone be lighting candles in an empty cabin? I tried to ignore it and focus on my training. I had been feeling somewhat off lately, out of sorts. I needed to focus on the job at hand, work on my strength, my focus and determination.

I dragged my kayak from the lake onto the bank and prepared to carry it up the steep embankment, through the woods and to the road where my car was parked. It wasn’t the easiest option but it pushed me, made the sweat bead and my muscles ache, especially after hours on the lake, my shoulders and arms already burning.

As I turned my back to the cabin I couldn’t block out the thought of the candle light filtering through the window. As much as I tried to push the thought to the back of my mind the impulse to investigate was constantly nagging. What if someone needed help? What if the candle left alone started a fire? What If? What If? What If?

Enough! I laid my kayak down and walked up the embankment, my feet sliding slightly in the thick clay like ground that surrounded the lake. Always worse in the colder months and never nice as the day turned to night.

My calves aching as I trod on the soiled ground striving to keep my balance and my footing. My shoes heavy with water and sweat. Upwards I walked, my eyes set on the flickering light, illuminating a window I was familiar only seeing laden in darkness.

I reached the cabin and began my ascent up the wooden stairs to reach the landing. Aside from the burning candle there was no outside evidence of human interaction. No fishing rods propped on the side of the house, no hiking boots placed next to the door. No vandalism or sign of displaced kids expressing their teenage angst. The only thing noticeably unusual, was a soft thudding noise coming from within.

The door was closed but unlocked and the handle turned easily in my sweaty palm as I pushed it open. Walking inside the thudding grew louder although the rhythmic beat was the same, constant. It was as if the cabin had a heartbeat. Thud………………thud………………thud.

I turned and saw the candle carefully placed upon the window sill, making a mental note to ensure I blew it out when I left. Wax had dripped down it shaft creating waves along its body, looking like shed tears.

I moved towards the thud. Instinctively I needed to make sure everything was ok. I could hear my pulse in my ears, feel it in my throat. I was using all focus to keep my imagination at bay and my eyes peeled against the soft light and impending darkness. As I moved towards a room at the far end of the cabin the thudding grew louder the rhythmic beat never changing, never skipped.

I placed my ear against a closed wooden door. The thud was inside. I was hesitant to move away from the only light source I had. Darkness crept all around the outside grasp of the candle light. Reaching, clutching but pushed slightly away with the glow, kept at bay. I clutched the handle and willingly pushed the door open. The stretch of the candle light could barely reach inside. I waited for my eyes to adjust, for my breathing to slow.

In the far corner of the room a large shadow loomed down from the ceiling. It was moving in time with the thudding noise that had become implanted in my ears, my brain. I edged closer to the shadow, not wanting to know, wanting to run, but needing to know, needing to see.

I moved toward it, barely aware of my own impulses, being drawn to the shadow. Thud………………thud………………thud

My skin was cold but prickled with the heat that only fear can bring, searching for clarity, against every other instinct in my body and mind. My eye’s adjusted to the sparse light. I saw it then. A body hanging limply from the exposed wooden beam. It’s back turned to me as it slowly swung around, its shoes thudding the wall every half turn. A shoe. Caked with clay like mud and specks of terrain from a steep lake embankment. Shoes that had been soaked from hours inside a kayak, sweat and cold lake water. Thud………………thud………………thud

My eyes were fixed. My breath stopped. Frozen. I couldn’t move. I wanted to run, run fast, run far. Stuck.

Perspiration dripped off my forehead wetting my already sweat soaked shirt. Bile rose in my throat. Hot salty tears burned my eyes, blurring my vision as my brain clouded with confusion, unable to comprehend, not wanting to comprehend.

Then a face. Filled with fear. Mouth open, stuck mid scream. Head cocked to one side. I moved closer. I needed to touch the shoe, Make sure I wasn’t dreaming. One step, two steps. Just as I reached out to touch the sodden muddy shoe, I looked into the eyes. My eyes.

The candle blew out.

Darkness engulfed. Darkness won. The light in the window was dark once again.

supernatural
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.