Horror logo

The Black-Eyed Woman

A follow-up.

By LilithVPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

This is a follow-up to my article about “Black-Eyed Children and People” so you are going to want to go read that article first, trust me. Grab a cup of coffee or tea and have a seat.

The morning that my husband had the encounter with the black-eyed woman, the latest one, I had slept rough the night before. I dream all the time, that doesn't stop, ever. However, that night I didn't really “rest” at all. I woke up sleeping in a weird position. My husband told me I woke up at 3 a.m. complaining of being hot. Fire hot. He said it almost “burned” to touch me.

That morning, after he had encountered the woman, I decided after he got to work that I should call my mom because well, sometimes I call and tell her the weird things I experience. I remember the phone conversation with full clarity. I asked her if they were ok, and she told me she was fine but my dad was really sick. He had started getting sick around the same time my husband had encountered the woman that morning. I told her about the woman that morning and that I had not slept well, so I knew something was wrong. The odd thing is my husband ran into the woman that morning at 5:30 am our time, which was 4:30 am my mom's time. That also happens to be when dad called into work and told them that he couldn't go in (which my dad NEVER calls into work). I had woken up hot at 3 am my time, my dad woke up sick at 3 am his time. It is really weird to explain out loud, I am not blind to how strange this all sounds.

The 2nd day my dad had been sick, my mother started calling me for advice because the doctors couldn't explain any of it. They didn't run a full panel the day he went in sick, which was the first mistake (my dad has diabetes, high BP, heart problems, high cholesterol, etc.). It was like they “wanted” him to have COVID (No, I am not paranoid or anything like that. I remember all the details of what my mom told me). So when he kept coming up negative for COVID, it was like they did not want to dig any further. I told my mom that he needed a full panel and I asked her about his arthritis medication for some reason. It was my first instinct. She told me he had been having problems with his “levels” and that the Dr had taken him off of it but eventually put him back on it. So when she took him back to the Dr, she begged them to run a full panel. That was when she found out later that day that he had kidney failure and absolutely had to go to the hospital. It turned out that his arthritis medication was killing him. I was right.

After my dad was stable, my mom called me and said I potentially saved his life because no one could figure anything out until I mentioned a full panel and his medications. I had threatened to come down there (which would NOT go well for anyone because it's a horrible idea for me to ever step foot down there again) and that is when my mom assured me that she would be sure to push them about all of it.

Now here comes the weird parts... When my dad was at the hospital, under sedation, I felt him here (3000 miles away) with me. The only thing I “heard” him say is “Baby, I don't think I am going to make it.” I was NOT ok with this. Most of the time I can be kinda passive about death or someone passing. I have seen a lot of people die. I just know when it is someone's “time”. I knew something was wrong with this whole scenario, something was off and it was not his time. I left it alone on the “other” side until I heard my dad say this. Then my intuition told me it was time to step in and I did. Within 24 hours of that, he was upright, talking, and kidneys fully functioning, so I suppose that what I did was supposed to happen. I talked to him the next morning and told him that he scared the shit out of my husband and me. He joked that he wasn't scared. I told him I loved him and glad he was back with the living LOL. The last thing he said to me on the phone that morning was that he loved us, and he had seen me while asleep. That I didn't “look” the same though.

He went home the day after that and now he is back at work. Back to living life how he did before he got sick. However, some things have changed. He isn't as much of a hard-ass (LOL) and he seems the happiest he has ever been. They are celebrating Halloween, which they had quit doing a long time ago.

My mom had called me while dad was in the hospital and wanted to know more about the black-eyed woman. She wanted to know if we had seen her anymore. The conversation was short and I told her I had seen her one more time after dad got sick, but that was it. The odd thing about this is my mom NEVER asks about these things. She talks to me, listens to what I talk about, and then asks questions that are usually short. But that morning she had called to ask specifically about that woman.

We haven't seen the woman since then. No sign of her, which I am good with. However, now, since my dad is back to living and life is going on, my mom has had time to think about everything. She has had time to think about the things that happened surrounding when dad got sick, and she is at the same stand-still that everyone, who is around me long enough, comes to.

The question people have always asked me or either they made their own assumptions and then usually stop coming around/talking to me. The question itself is a conundrum. Did I “cause” it or did I see it coming? The same question I have been asked my whole life. I can only hope that she asks me instead of just concluding because I have no reason to lie. I know how terrifying it can be to even have to consider either part of that question. If I saw it coming, then I definitively know things living people shouldn't. If I caused it, then it comes off that I am extremely dangerous. Also, acknowledging that I “saved” my dad is probably hard on her considering she is devoutly religious. My mom is now stuck questioning her faith, and I am essentially the “cause” of it. I guess we will see where it goes from here.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

LilithV

I am happily married to my very best friend. My passions are healing, occult, history, religion, theology, and psychology. I write all from personal life experiences and all my writings are non-fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.