Horror logo

The Abandoned House

Horror story

By Renuga kannanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I had always been fascinated by the old, abandoned house at the end of our street. It was a large, Victorian-style mansion with peeling paint and broken windows. The overgrown lawn and the cobwebs on the porch made it look like it had been abandoned for decades.

As a child, I used to dare my friends to go up to the house and knock on the door, but we never actually worked up the courage to do it. We just stood in front of the house, staring up at it in awe and fear.

One day, when I was a teenager, I decided to finally go inside. I didn't tell anyone where I was going; I just slipped out of the house early in the morning and made my way to the abandoned mansion.

As I walked up to the house, I couldn't help but feel a sense of nervous excitement. My heart was racing as I stepped onto the creaky porch and tried the doorknob. To my surprise, it turned easily in my hand and the door swung open with a loud, ominous creak.

I hesitated for a moment, wondering if I should turn back. But my curiosity got the best of me, and I stepped into the dark, musty interior of the house.

The inside was even more dilapidated than the outside. The floors were creaky and unstable, and the walls were peeling and covered in grime. Cobwebs clung to every corner and surface, and the air was heavy with the smell of mold and decay.

Despite the eerie atmosphere, I couldn't help but feel a sense of wonder as I explored the house. I walked through the dusty rooms, marveling at the ornate wallpaper and the broken chandeliers.

As I made my way to the upper floors, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was being watched. I kept turning around, expecting to see someone or something behind me, but there was never anyone there.

Finally, I reached the attic. The door was hidden behind a panel in the wall, and it took me a few minutes to figure out how to open it. When I finally succeeded, I climbed the narrow, creaky stairs up to the attic.

The attic was dark and musty, filled with old furniture and boxes. I walked among the piles of junk, trying to imagine what the house must have been like when it was still inhabited.

As I explored, noticed a strange, ornate box tucked away in the corner. It was covered in symbols and markings that I didn't recognize. I hesitated for a moment, wondering if I should open it. But my curiosity got the best of me, and I lifted the lid.

Inside the box, I found a strange, glowing stone. It was bright and beautiful, and it seemed to pulsate with an otherworldly energy. I reached out to touch it, and as my fingers touched the stone, I was overcome with a feeling of dizziness.

When I woke up, I was lying on the floor of the attic. The stone was gone, and the box was closed. I had no idea how much time had passed, but I knew that I needed to get out of the house.

stumbled to my feet and made my way down the stairs, my head still spinning. As I reached the bottom floor, I heard a strange noise coming from one of the rooms. I hesitated for a moment, wondering if I should investigate. But something told me that it was better to just get out of the house.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.