Horror logo

Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2022)

Movie Reviews by Mel

By MelPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
image taken from the movie texas chainsaw massacre (2022)

If you are anything like I am, you absolutely love watching movies.

No matter the type, if it has a great plotline and can grab ahold of your attention... movies are the things that can bring those together. All you need is some buttery popcorn, maybe a box of a candy, and a drink and the night has been made. I don't know about you, but whether it's at the movie theater or at home on my couch, I will always be in the mood for a movie. Especially late at night.

The one movie genre I have been obsessing over watching late at night has always been the occasional horror movie. Weird, I know. How could I handle watching horror movies late at night; especially the types I obsess over (aka gore). The funny thing is that I didn't used to be like horror movies as much as I do now. Of course, I liked them. Kind of. My mom had me watch Child's Play with me when I was eight which made me lose some trust in my doll collection but did bring me a little bit of joy towards the genre in general. The obsession began when I was thirteen; my best friend at the time forced me to watch The Ring with her, despite me being afraid, and I was hooked. (P.S. I do not recommend forcing people to watch horror movies when they don't want to. It's not really the greatest way to introduce someone to this genre... I just managed to get lucky.)

But this article isn't about me. This is about the movie Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2022), which you can watch for yourself on Netflix. I do recommend it. Although the film did get quite a few negative reviews from critics in the past, this will certainly be a positive one. Although not being the best movie I've seen from the genre, it did have me on the edge of my seat with a few modernized jokes that made myself, as a gen z-er, both laugh and cringe.

Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2022) is a slasher directed by David Blue Garcia and is the ninth installment of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre franchise. This installment of the franchise was set a few decades after the original film, focusing on a group of young adults being targeted by the killer Leatherface. While he targets this group of young adults, Leatherface also has an encounter with another survivor of a previous killing spree, who is vengeful for the deaths of the friends he had killed.

Although it's been a while since I've actually seen the Texas Chainsaw Massacre franchise, I had decided to give this film a chance while scrolling endlessly on Netflix for a movie to watch and boy... did it not disappoint. Yes. The film can get a bit cheesy and all, but all in all, it did have a way to keep me pressed to the edge of my seat. I just had to know more.

Are they going to survive?

Will they be able to escape?

Is Leatherface actually going to be killed?

I won't answer those questions here. You'll have to go watch the movie yourself if you wanted to know the answers.

I give this movie 4 stars out of 5 for the ability to be able to keep me on the edge of my seat.

But I have to give this movie 5 stars out of 5 for making sure that there was a lot of gore and great kill scenes throughout the film.

Hopefully I enticed you enough to actually want to go watch this film.

.

.

.

.

You're still here? Oh. Well, glad to see you. If you liked this review and want to see me do more of them, feel free to let me now. Thank you for checking out my article. Don't be afraid to check out my other articles and stories... if you want. You don't really have to. Just having this one reach you was special enough for me.

Thank you for reading.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.