Horror logo

Suicide or Murder

Mystery

By Nimmy KaurPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

I had just moved to California, a month before high school started. My name? Alisha Matthews. I'm a 16-year-old girl. This is the story of my life. My life ended sooner than it should have. I'll get into the details further as we go on into the story.

It was the beginning of 11th grade. I remember because I hate having to wake up early in the morning, and it was only a year away before I'd graduate. But no sooner did my life flash before my own eyes.

It was as if everything had been planned. The murders. The gossips. The videos...

Chapter 1

It was the beginning of 11th grade. I was not ready to go back to school. Every other year my mother gets transferred to a new country/city due to her job, and we along with her. There has never been a time where we've been able to stay longer than five to six months. We're always on the move, which is why I don't have any friends and why I hardly ever unpack. Plus moving all the time doesn't exactly give me a lot of time to make friends. Which is why I never had any friends until last year, but then I had to move away to New York; however before I moved away, I got her number. She's the only best friend I have. Malissa and I met in math class, she approached me and asked me to hang out with her during lunch, and since then we've been friends. I only got to spend five months with her before I had to move. That really upset me 'cause she was the only person I have ever gotten along with. Now I'm in California and I'm going to have to try to make friends again, but there's really no point since I'm sure we'll be on the move again in five months or so.

"Alisha! Get up honey, it's time for school and you don't wanna be late on the first day," my mother yelled from the bottom of the stairs. I got up and began to get dressed. I chose to wear a decent outfit. One that's comfortable, but also elegant enough to fit into the crowd. I decided on a sky blue dress with pink flowers. I put my hair up in a messy bun. Then for makeup, I put on my foundation, put on mascara and eyeliner. I'm not a big fan of makeup, but I had to cover up my face due to a couple of pimples; plus it's the first day of school, and it's always best to make a good impression. After I got dressed, I chose out which pumps would go best, so since I couldn't find my blue ones, I decided on the regular black ones. Then I grabbed my purple backpack and made my way down to the kitchen.

"Sleep well, dear?"

"Not really. My back's pretty sore," I point out, reaching for an empty bowl.

"How come?"

"I don't know. I think that the bed was too stiff."

"Did you even set up your bed?"

"No... But I mean why should I? We're going to move in a couple of months anyway," I say shrugging.

"Hopefully not." I stop, and put the spoon in the bowl before turning around and facing my mom.

"What do you mean by 'hopefully not'."

"I mean that this time my boss has decided to extend our stay by approximately two to three years."

"Wait... you're telling me that I can actually decorate my room, make friends, and graduate from the same high school?"

She smiles, and nods.

"Yes!" I shout all giddy. "Finally! I can actually hang out with people and go places, and get to know the city."

"Why don't you throw a party? It'll be fun, and you can get to know the people around you."

"A party? You're letting ME throw a party? Are you sick or high or something," I ask her in dismay.

"No, I'm absolutely sober. I was just suggesting that you should throw a party cause you'll easily make friends. Plus when I was in high school, I threw a party too. How else do you think your father an I met?"

"Coffee shop? I don't know. But you threw a party?"

"Yes, in fact, I remember that my parties were the best. Every year I was told to throw one."

"You were a hit? That's hard to believe. I'll have to ask dad."

"What's hard to believe? And what do you want to ask me?" My father asked, walking down the stairs in his boxers and a tank top, rubbing his eyes.

"That mom was cool and popular."

"Well, believe it or not, your mother was, and she threw the most epic parties of our century. Plus that's how I met her."

"Told ya." She smiles at me and walks over to my dad, giving him a kiss on the lips.

"Well, I guess that I'll be throwing a party then."

"Woah! When was this party decided?"

"Like 5 minutes before you walked down the stairs," I say taking a spoonful of the cereal and stuffing it in my mouth.

"No, no, no. There will be no parties in this house."

"Why not?" I whine.

"Cause you teens cost a lot of money!"

"We'll be in the basement."

"Trust me, that never happens. "

"Well too bad, Mom already said I can throw a party."

"Yea, no. I don't think so, sweetheart."

"Come on, Dad! I promise I'll keep everyone in the basement."

"You're saying that now, but trust me when I say this, I've been to parties, and tons of them, and when people tell you to stay in the basement, they don't. They're all over the house, upstairs in bedrooms, living rooms, main floor, kitchen, outdoors, etc."

"Alright, I hear you, but what if I am able to keep them all in the basement?"

"I'm willing to take that bet."

"Alright. You're on!" We shake hands.

"Aren't you running late for school?"

"No. School doesn't start until 9. It's only 8:15."

"Well just remember to-"

"Drive carefully. I know, Mom. Stop treating me like I'm 5-years-old."

"Well for us, you'll always be a child."

"I know, I know."

"I'll see you two later. I have a meeting to get to."

"You always have a meeting to go to. Why don't we four spend time together this Friday."

"Sounds like a plan." My mom says kissing me and then my father on the forehead. "I'll talk to my boss and see if I can get three to four days off."

"Alright. Have fun at work love," my father says giving my mom a quick peck on the lips.

"Thanks, babe. See you later." My mom walks out the door. I start to pack some snacks.

"Where's your brother?"

"Probably still in bed," I say throwing a twinkie in my bag.

"He's still not up? That boy. I swear." He says shaking his head. "I'll go check upon him." My dad walks upstairs. I, on the other hand, go on Snapchat and take a cute selfie to post on Instagram. After a while, my dad walked down with my brother, Grayson.

"Finally up, sleepy head?"

"Shut up."

"Hey! Be nice she's your sister!" My dad says smacking him on the back of the head softly.

"So! I don't care if she's my sister. I can tell her to shut up." I roll my eyes at his comment.

"Just pack your bag, smart mouth. It's almost 8:30. We have to get to school." He groans, walking towards the door dragging his black bag.

"I don't wanna go to school," he whines.

"Quit your whining and get in the car. We're gonna be late." He throws on his shoes and runs out to the car.

"Dad, can I borrow five bucks?"

"Why?"

"Lunch."

"Oh right. Has mom not gone grocery shopping yet?" I shake my head grabbing the five bucks from him and kissing him on the cheek.

"See ya later dad." He waves at me while I run off towards the car. I get in and drive off. First dropping off my brother at his school and then I drive to mine.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Nimmy Kaur

I write books/songs/poems. To read the full books log onto wattpad and search for ranibowqueen_16. I also make youtube videos if you'd like to check them out go onto BrownGirlTalks channel. To see me sing follow me on IG: nimmystyles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.