Horror logo

Strange Connections

Prologue

By Flávia Patrícia Pinto SerranoPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Hello, my name is Olivia and I’m going to tell you my story. For those who are weak hearted or do not believe that there is more beyond this life, I advise you to stop reading now. But if you’re a believer and are willing to get on board to this trip to the past, then stay with me.

I know some things are quite hard to believe in, especially if you’ve never experienced them before, and believe me, I was as sceptical as most people are, until the day I had the most terrifying and strange experience.

I was born in London and thanks to my father I’ve always been very curious and eager to know more about my country’s history, so I was always present at the Museums and Historical tours. When my parents died last year in a car crash, a very weird one to be fair, the only family I had left was a great-aunt on my father’s side, and, because I was still under age I had to go and live with her. I’ve got to tell you my aunt Margaret’s house was creepy, well, it still is sometimes.

But my adventure started when that same year, the day I went up to the attic after she had asked me to go look for some old clothes and stuff to give away. As I was rummaging through the boxes I’ve found a photo album with pictures of my father. While I was flicking through the pages a picture of a beautiful lady fell on the floor. It was a very old photo and her outfit was the weirdest thing, I could swear it was from the 1500’s. I really didn’t know what that picture was doing with my father’s photos, but I kept it, so I could ask my aunt later.

I came down with a box full of old clothes and the old photograph. My aunt was in the garden collecting some flowers as she liked to have fresh flowers in the house. I left the box by the main door and went upstairs to my room as it was early evening and I wanted to tidy up some things before supper.

Later when I went to bed, I couldn’t help but hold and stare at that old picture. There was this thought lingering on my mind “Who was that lady and what was a picture of her doing with my father’s photos?” I prepared myself to go to sleep, fixed my pillow and cuddled myself under the duvet, I closed my eyes and it wasn’t long until I’ve felt myself go into a deep sleeping state.

“I’m in a castle, or at least that’s what I think it is because of the stone walls and the cold dark atmosphere. I hear the echo of my own footsteps and it’s kind of creepy. Suddenly I hear a voice.

- Olivia…

I look around, but I see no one. I keep on walking and I hear that same voice again.

- Olivia…

I follow the sound and it leads me to a door, a wooden heavy door. I push it open, slowly. It creaks like a cemetery gate. As I get the door open I enter the chamber, a dark and cold chamber. I look around but as it is quite dark, and I can’t really see much, so I decide to take my phone and switch on the flashlight and that’s when I see…

- Olivia…

The woman from the picture. But how can she be in here?! She is supposed to be dead!

As I point the light towards the woman I see her flying in my direction, in a velocity beyond normal.

- Olivia…

She screams my name as she passes right through me.”

I woke up all sweaty. I’ve switched on my bedside light and looked at my surroundings. I was in my room. My aunt opened my room door abruptly.

- Are you alright Olivia? I heard you scream downstairs.

- I’m fine aunt Margaret. I guess I was having a bad dream. – I said, feeling a bit calmer. – But since you are here, can I ask you who is this woman in the picture?

- Where did you find this, Olivia? – my aunt asked, looking surprised to see the picture on my hand.

- It was on my father’s belongings upstairs in the attic. – I said to her.

- Your father had the habit of collecting old photos from history books. That is Lady Anne Boleyn, one of the wives of King Henry VIII and mother of Queen Elizabeth I. – she said. – But my dear, it’s not good for you to go through your parents’ things when so little time has passed since the accident.

- Aunt Margaret, I’ve found that photo album while looking for those old clothes I left by the main door. – I said.

- Really?! – she looked surprised. – I thought you said you found it in your father’s belongings.

- Well, I don’t know what else was in that box, but I assumed it was more of my father’s things. – I explained. – But yes, I’ve found that picture inside the album. I don’t know what it means, but she appeared in my dream. I was in an old castle and I saw her, and she walked right through me.

- Oh, dear Olivia, don’t pay too much attention to these things. – my aunt said to me. – It’s probably your mind playing tricks. I know you miss your parents darling. Just try to have some sleep and rest your mind.

She kissed my forehead and left the room, closing the door. I switched off the light and tried to go back to sleep, but the image of that woman so called Anne Boleyn wouldn’t get out of my mind.

Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.