Horror logo

Stay Awake Stay Alive

Part 2

By Mark GagnonPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
6
Stay Awake Stay Alive
Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

I had no idea a person can stay awake this long. I know I’ve never done it before. It’s been over 48 hours since this sinister voice took up residence in my head. The beast that’s speaking isn’t even in the same building I’m in. His pod, its term for the community of creatures that have taken up residence in the building next to mine, call themselves The Originals. According to their leader, the species predates man by over twenty thousand years. People haven’t always been their primary source of food, but as the planet transformed, they adapted.

My tormentor’s talkativeness has allowed me to learn a lot about these creatures. I’m not sure what frightens me more, that they can speak to my mind directly from theirs, or that they can change their shape at will. Having the ability to shapeshift gives them an enormous advantage over humans. One minute, the being might look like a neighbor, and the next time you see it, you would think you’re looking at a chair or a dog. It’s very disconcerting not being able to trust your own eyes.

Tenacity appears to be a strong characteristic of theirs. Nothing is stopping them from hunting another person to fill their food locker, but they remain focused on me. Maybe they’re worried I might report them to the authorities. Just imagine that phone call.

“Hello FBI, I want to report shape-shifting telekinetic creatures that are killing humans for their arms and legs. I’m sending you their location, but you won’t be able to see them because they’ll look like furniture or maybe a rat.”

I suppose being locked away in a mental hospital would protect me, but it’s not how I want to spend the rest of my life. No, this is a problem I have to take care of on my own.

Is it hot in here or is my excessive fatigue giving me hot flashes? I have the air conditioning turned as low as it will go, so it must be my lack of sleep taking control. In the meantime, the creature’s voice continues to drone on in my head. What else can I do to stay awake? My old CD player sits idly on a shelf, which gives me an idea. If it worked for the CIA when they flushed out Panama’s Noriega, maybe it will work for me. I insert a Metallica CD and crank up the volume.

The droning voice suddenly lets loose with a blood-curdling scream of pain and goes silent. Smiling, I mute the sound and call out.

“Hey dipshit, you still there?”

“What was that horrible noise?” the creature answered in a quivering voice.

“You have a problem with Heavy Metal? So, you’re not only shapeshifters, you’re music critics too?”

“That noise causes us great pain.”

“Let me get this straight. You’re trying to kill me for food and I should be concerned about your sensitive little ears, I think not.” I reached over and cranked up the sound. More shrieks of pain followed, then once again, silence.

“I have a proposition for you. If you want me, you’ll need to come get me here in my home. The front door is barricaded, so you’ll need to transform into a bird and fly to the balcony. It’s that or more metal.”

“We’ll be there shortly in our natural form.”

They say the best defense is a good offense which in this situation starts with a home-field advantage. I know there are only two ways into my penthouse, up the elevator, and through the door, or fly onto the balcony like a bird. If they use the door, I have no idea how many will come or how big they will be. As birds, even eagle size, I stand a fighting chance. My weapon of choice for this encounter is an antique Samari sword that I purchased while on a trip to Japan. I still had my pistol, but I didn’t want to scare the neighborhood with the sound of gunfire.

What came to rest on the balcony railing was as bizarre as this whole situation has been. Five gargoyles stared through the glass at me. They were as grotesque as any that I have seen sculpted into building facades. One, their leader, I presumed, cocked his head similar to a bird, and spoke telepathically.

“Now you see us for what we truly are. For centuries, your artists have used our likeness to adorn your buildings. Humans have always fantasized that we were angels or devils but had no idea we were real. Now you know the truth. Unfortunately, that knowledge dies with you tonight.”

“I think you’re wrong, ugly bird!”

I pushed the slider open and hit the remote for the CD, which immediately blasted more Metallica. The gargoyles cringed in pain, giving me the advantage I was looking for. In a matter so seconds, five severed heads rolled across my patio floor, the bodies careening off the building to the street below. As I watched in disbelief, the heads slowly crumbled into piles of dust. I slid the door closed and turned off the music.

It was time for bed.

monster
6

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Mark I have been anticipating part 2 of this series for a while and was so excited when I saw it pop up, also glad to have finally gotten to it! I still love the creepy feel of the telepathic communication between The Originals and their ability to shapeshifter, such a great creature creation! I love that their “weakness” is heavy metal, so clever!! The main characters inner monologue continues to be relatable and morbidly funny, as is my sense of humour! I love that he chooses a sword to defend himself because he doesn’t want to scare the neighbourhood as he has a fight for his life… 🤦‍♀️ 😂 talk about on point priorities! Lol! I love the scene you painted with Metallica blaring in the background as he decapitates these creatures! So well described and such a great ending!!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Great ending, Mark! (The body parts are in the mail.)

  • Whoaaaa, their true form is gargoyles! That was an awesome twist! And heavy metal, lol! Who would have thought!

  • Tina D'Angelo10 months ago

    The best use I've ever heard of (pun intended) for heavy metal music! This was great!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Hahaha… oh my! I literally laughed out loud–like a crazy person–here in the coffee shop, where I’m reading from my phone. Death by heavy metal. BYE ugly gargoyles! Can’t tell if you’re a Metallica fan, or share the sentiments of the hideous beasts. Either way, I loved part 2.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.