Horror logo

Spooky Halloween Party Playlist

Music for your Halloween Party

By Patricia CornPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Spooky Halloween Party Playlist
Photo by David Menidrey on Unsplash

Best Halloween Party Music

The important thing to remember when choosing music for a Halloween party is not to get to lost in your choices. One song can easily lead to another similar song, then another, and next thing you know, you have played nine movie/tv theme songs in a row. You want to vary it up. Appeal to different types of people, and there can be no doubt that each song belongs on a Halloween playlist. There are several songs that may have a creepy musical cord transition or haunting lyrics, but there are only a few songs that really connect with Halloween. Sting’s “Murder by Numbers” and “Every Breath You Take” have interesting lyrics, but I don’t really don’t associate them with Halloween. There are songs that mention Halloween Icons, but still don’t belong on a Halloween party list. I wouldn’t play “Voodoo Child” or “Witch Doctor” even though they are great songs, because they really don’t scream Halloween to me. I also associate several instrumental pieces of music that I do connect to Halloween, but i would not play at a party. I think of Hannibal Lecter, when I hear “Aria da Capo” but I wouldn’t be confident that others would make the same connection. When I hear the theme of Jaws, I think of Jaws and not Halloween. Neither of these songs belong at a dance party. For my Halloween Playlist, every song needs to be undeniably appropriate for the festivities.

1. Halloween Theme

John Carpenter created a score master piece with the Halloween Theme from his movie “Halloween”. It is so popular that it stands alone. People who have never seen the movie, hear it and know what where it’s from. There are no lyrics, but it doesn’t need words. The music is enough to provide ambiance for a party. The speed of the music gives momentum and makes it a good lead up to other music. I have to listen to this every Halloween.

2. Thriller

This is another master piece that is tied to Halloween. It’s hard to image Halloween without this song. I remember as a child, watching the making of the music video before the video premiered on MTV. It was epic. It was like a short horror movie set to music. I don’t know anyone who hates this song. From the funky lyrics, to rhythmic dance music, to Vincent Price rapping, everything comes together to make a perfect song. It is another must listen on Halloween.

3. This is Halloween

I could listen to the entire soundtrack of Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas on a loop. I could put in the remixed version with Marilyn Manson, and play that over and over. They are great songs perfect for a party playlist. Out of all the songs on the soundtrack, “This is Halloween” is my favorite. The lyrics are fun and easy to sing along with, and the melody is infectious. It’s hard not to smile when singing along to this classic.

4. Monster Mash

You have to play Monster Mash at a Halloween Party. It’s a Halloween commandment to play this song at some point on Halloween. You really can’t play this any other time or on any other holiday. It’s old school and a bit goofy, but I love it. It’s very much like “This is Halloween” and “Thriller” where the lyrics mention all the great things associated with Halloween. Dracula, Boris, Graveyards, Laboratories, Zombies, Coffins, all wrapped up in a fun 50s song.

5. I Put a Spell on You

My favorite version is the Bette Midler Version from Hocus Pocus. I made my dad wait an hour in the video store for the rental to be returned. We watched it together and his favorite part in the movie was this song. I love the movie and it’s fun song that’s enjoyable for everyone. The witchy theme is absolutely Halloween.

6. Devil in Disguise

I love Elvis. I listen to “Blue Christmas” when I listen to Christmas music. I have to listen to “Devil in disguise” at Halloween. It’s a similar feeling to listening to “I Put a Spell on You” so I find myself listening to right after it. To me this song screams Halloween more than other songs with devil in the title. Songs like, “Devil went down to Georgia” and “Running with the Devil” don't really get me into the Halloween spirt. I feel like this song appeals to more people, as well.

7. Disturbia

I think this song is brilliant. It has a Halloween feel without having to resort to mentioning vampires or zombies in the lyrics. The melody is very rhythmic like “thriller” and makes you want to get up and dance. I think in years from now it will be a Halloween must play like “Monster Mash”

8. Hush

I have heard this in so many horror movies. I think it was in “I Know What You dId Last Summer”, but I always think of some girl running away from a killer with a knife. It’s quick and jaunty, that makes it sound panicky, like a scared victim.

9. Living Dead Girl

Rob Zombie is so Halloween. I like his remake of the Halloween franchise. The creepy lyrics and rhythmic music are a Halloween must play. I also listen to “Dracula” and White Zombie’s Version of “I’m Your Boogieman” originally by KC and the Sunshine band. I think the White Zombie version is a little more hardcore Metal song. Rob Zombie’s gravelly voice makes it sound more creepy.

10. Forsaken

One of my favorite bands when I was a Teen was Korn. I think Jonathan Davis has a very noticeable and unique sounds. His voice is very distinct. He provided pretty much the entire soundtrack to Queen of the Damned Movie. He worked he Lestat lyrics into this song for the movie. I think of Lestat and Anne Rice whenever I hear this song. I love his other music. “Coming Undone” and “System” are also songs I like to listen to during October. This song in particular really resonates with Halloween.

11. How Soon is Now

I grew during the years the tv show “Charmed” was on air and this song was the theme for the opening credits. I believe it also played during “The Craft”, so I think of witches when I hear it. The lyrics mention the elements and the sun and moon.

12. Bad Moon Rising

I’m not really sure why, but I always think of werewolves when i hear this song. I like it because it’s quick tempo and the lyrics are simple. Some people may not relate it to Halloween but I like to play it on Halloween. I believe it plays in a lot of movies about werewolves.

13. Bad Things

Tru Blood was excellent television. I loved the show and the theme song was a great fit for the encapsulating the feel of the show. I love that it has a southern dive bar sound to it. It’s a song that doesn’t venture into hokey theme songs that people can’t dance along to. I do connect it to the show, but it’s also a great song for all the bloodsuckers on Halloween.

14. Helena

I’m a huge fan of My Chemical Romance. I grew up listening to gothic style music and emo rock bands. I feel like I could get away with playing several of their songs, but this song really connects with Halloween the most. It’s about death and graves. It still has a good flow which makes it good for house parties. I also remember it playing during the credits of the movie “House of Wax”

15. Time Wrap/ Sweet Transvestite

Rocky Horror Picture Show is iconic at Halloween. This cult classic is a must play at Halloween. So many people connect to it and its good fun to see everyone join in singing along. I could get away with putting on the whole soundtrack, but “Time Warp” and “Sweet Transvestite” are required by Halloween law. Let’s face it, Halloween is the sluttiest holiday of them all, for boys and girls. It’s the one day out of the year that boys can wear black panties and stockings with a corset. Women can walk around in underwear paired with accessories as a costume and people just accept it.

16. Psycho Killer

Talking Heads are one of my favorite bands of all time. There is no mistaking this song when it plays. The beat starts and I know it immediately. It’s not to hard that it can’t be enjoyed by all. It’s been used in so many films and tv shows. I think of serial killers and slasher movies every time I hear it. Definitely have to play it on Halloween.

17. Don’t Fear the Reaper

I love this song to play towards the end of the night. People are getting tired and staring to ease into leaving the party. I think of Stephen King’s “The Stand” when this song plays. I associate it with the Plague and the Apocalypse. I know some may think of SNL, but not me. It’s not too intense and it’s got a mellow vibe. It’s more for mingling than dancing. A good song that references death with out being to morbid.

18. Season of the Witch

I think this is the most calm of all the songs on my list. It’s really chill and mellow. I like it towards the end of the night when people are getting ready to leave. It’s got a good creepy flow to the music and the lyrics are witchy. I also like “Hurly Gurly Man” because it has the same flow and easy tempo. It makes me think of the Zodiac killer because it was use in the movie. I think “Season of the Witch” says Halloween more.

19. Spooky, Scary Skeletons

I love this to play at the end. It’s a cute silly song that immediately screams Halloween. I love the old timely Cartoon that goes with it. It sort of puts punctuation on the end of the night. It has a “It’s a Small World” vibe that signifies that the party is over and gets people to leave.

I play these songs through out October. I like them in this order for a party. Each one helps me get into the spirt of Halloween. I like to think this list covers everyone, from the skeletons, to the witches, to the werewolves, to the psycho killers, and devils who might attend the party. I hope everyone has a Happy Safe Halloween.

halloween
1

About the Creator

Patricia Corn

I’ve lived in Lake City, Myrtle Beach, Raleigh, Atlanta, and Arlington. I work in Broadcast News, but I want to be a professional writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.