Horror logo

Spirits of The Outback

Horrors of the NSW floods

By Adam StanbridgePublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 15 min read
2
Spirits of The Outback
Photo by Branimir Balogović on Unsplash

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night a candle burned in the window. But what was I to do? The power was out. So it was candles for light and a camping stove to cook the dinner. Tinned dinner; tinned spaghetti with tinned chilli tuna I mixed through to give it something. Anything. It was an old cadet hack I came up with but I had been living off tinned food for a week since the floods and was growing sick of it.

“What I wouldn’t give for a salad,” I muttered as I stirred our dinner.

I laughed at the irony of that statement but remembered the importance of positivity in survival situations. That was after all exactly what this was, a survival situation. Bridges along with stretches of road had been washed away.Even four-wheel drives couldn’t pass some sections. So the community had banded together and were ferrying supplies across, delivering them as best we could.

It was like the wild west out here, lawless and unrestrained. Helmetless dirt bikers guzzelled beer as they tore through the mud. In that regard things were cool but there was no internet, no power and our home had been severely damaged. So we found ourselves in a friend’s cabin out in Upper Main Arm. We lucked out. We begun our stay at the cabin just before the roads were washed out for what was the second time. The car was bogged miles away from the cabin, up a deeply rutted road. We had to syphon fuel from the tank as an offering it to one of the defacto couriers. Upon receiving the fuel he was more than happy to help. The cabin was one of the few not damaged by the floods. But we were running out of things to do, batteries to power the torches and worse still, the beer was running out. That wasn’t a problem for me but my cousin Russell, well life had been hard on him lately.

“You almost done with the dinner, Sugar?” called Russell.

“Almost,” I shouted as I looked down. “And don’t call me Sugar.”

“Fine, Bitch!” He responded in a slur.

“Dick,” I muttered.

“I heard that.” He said as he staggered into the kitchen. “Come on Cadet. How long does it take to heat up spaghetti?”

“I said ‘only a minute to go’. And for the record, I was a CUO” I said retaliated.

“And?” Russell prodded.

“I was basically an officer and a Warrant Officer before that!” I said sternly, at the same time knowing it was futile.

“Well come on Mr Survival Instructor, I’d have been done by now.” Russell taunted.

“And that would have led to stuff burnt to the bottom of the pot. Something we can’t have happen when we have limited supplies.” I replied, getting more irritated. “I don’t even know why I’m bothering, you’ll probably only eat a couple of bites.”

“Well, why are you?” he taunted.

“Because we both need to eat and if you cook you might burn the place down,” I said, only half in jest.

“Be nice to me,” he responded, as was his goto when i was being harsh.

“Alright, sorry,” I replied as I dished up the spaghetti and mixed the tuna through.

“Now come have a beer,” he said as I handed him a bowl.

“Surely you’re running low,” I responded.

“Yeah, but I know you have a stash.” He retorted as we walked into the living room.

He was of course right but I had no intention of telling him on the first night so I shrugged dismissively. He handed me a beer as we sat down to eat. I took it reluctantly, opened it and started drinking. He smiled at me.

“What?” I asked setting the beer down and starting on my dinner.

“You don’t always have to be a nerd,” he said in jest.

“Be nice to me,” I shot back. “ I did just cook you dinner.”

“Alright, sorry,” he replied.

That was our first night in the cabin and our last night of normality. We woke up late, with the kind of hangover that only comes from drinking a case of Coopers’ red label. I rolled over and moved several bottles to retrieve my phone. I hit the power button. For once Russell was already moving about. I checked the time on my phone and shut it back down before sitting up.

“Come on, let’s go to the creek,” he proposed enthusiastically.

“Pretty sure it qualifies as a river now,” I replied.

“Whatever, come on,” he insisted.

“And do what?” I groaned as I reached for a bottle of water.

Russell held up a couple of fishing rods.

“Do I really have to spell it out?” Russell grinned.

“Oh no! You hate fishing! You’re just looking for an excuse to day drink,” I shot back.

“Don’t be boring,” he fired, aiming at my ego.

“Come on!” He said gleefully.

“Fine, but give me thirty minutes to pump water through myself,” I responded with an air of dread.

As I carried the esky down the dirt road, I found myself thinking about the curses we all live with. Russell isn’t a drunk but he was going through a hard time and when he drinks, well even my dad would be left behind. As for me, well these floods are probably my fault. I moved to The Shire from Cairns and shortly after there was a once in a millennia flood. Shortly after I moved here, there was a once in a millennia flood. It was just like always, wherever I went the weather followed me. I mean it really did seem to happen a lot. Lost in thought I trudged along.

“Get a couple of beers out,” Russell said.

I snapped back to reality.

“Right, I’ll just grow a couple more arms, shall I?” I retorted sarcastically.

Russell stopped in his tracks.

“Alright, we’ll take a break. You’re probably dying for a cigarette, aren’t you?” He quizzed.

He wasn’t wrong, I hadn’t had a cigarette in the entire hour and a half we’d been walking. Hesitantly I nodded and we sat down by the side of the road. I pulled out a beer for each of us and began rolling a cigarette.

“It’s funny, there aren’t going to be any cars along here yet we still moved to the side of the road for our break,” I said before lighting my cigarette.

“Well if someone does come, it’ll probably be an emergency so they might not slow down for a couple of idiots.” He said as I opened my beer.

We laughed for a moment as two trail bikes came into view heading in our direction. They slowed down when they saw us, piquing our curiosity. The two guys, Bruce and Yaeger, called out as they came to a stop.

“Hey, have you guys seen Erin?” Bruce asked hurriedly.

“Sorry, we’re actually from Ocean Shores,” I began. “So we don’t know many people here.”

“That explains why I don’t recognise you. This is Bruce, I’m Yaeger,” Yaeger/he stated.

“I’m Russell, and this is my cousin Jack. What does she look like? We’ll let her know you’re looking for her,” Russell added.

“She’s just a kid. So if you see a twelve year old off on her own, it’s probably her,” Yaeger said. “Just keep an eye out.”

“You want some help looking for her?” Russell asked.

“Nah, her horse is gone too so she’s probably just gone for a ride,” Bruce said optimistically.

“Anyway, we’re going to keep looking. Later,” Bruce said.

“Good luck!” Russell said.

“Yeah totally!” I added.

Russell and I looked at each other, worried, as the guys sped off.

“Hope she’s okay,” I said.

“Yeah,” Russell agreed.

It wasn’t long before we finished our beers and I, my cigarette but it was still another hour until we reached the creek. Upon arrival, we sat down cracked another beer each and baited our rods. We spent a few hours trying to catch something fresh to eat but to no avail.

We were about to head back when Russell grabbed me by the shirt. I looked as he pointed out a saddled horse across the creek. We looked at each other as the bottom dropped out of my stomach. Russell got up and began wading into the water.

“Fuck, man, what about croc’s?” I called out.

“I’m not letting it get away.” He said.

He slowly approached the horse trying not to make any sudden moves but as soon as he got close the horse got spooked and bolted. But what it left. What it left. The little girl's leg, which had been caught in the stirrup fell to the ground. I almost threw up when I saw it.

We headed back to the road to find a search party had formed. Well, you can imagine. We had made the gruesome discovery and were asked to accompany the head of the search party. The mother had some questions but none we could answer. As for the dad, he started punching holes in the wall, shouting he was going to shoot the horse.

Over the next few days, the whole community searched for more of the body, the horse and the croc that did it. As the army was providing relief for victims of the flood they sent troops to help. Then on the morning of the fourth day, another person disappeared. This time a man named Gary. This time all that was found was blood by the river bank. A lot of blood.

The army reissued their warning for everyone to avoid the floodwaters. Everyone complied however the following night there was another attack. This time in a house. It was rumoured, there was a lot of blood but this time also hair and large footprints in the mud. When I saw photos of the footprints I was baffled. From what I could tell they came from something big, very big and humanoid. It wasn’t until I was passing some kids it clicked, that nagging thought in the back of my head. The thought that just wouldn’t come to the front of my brain without help.

“First you think it’s a bunyip! Now it’s a yowie” one of the kids said teasingly.

It was like lighting! Now I remembered so clearly, I felt cursed as long buried memories of my last encounter with these creatures lit up my brain.

I was five and on a camping trip with my family when I got lost. I was down by the river when the two-metre hairy monstrosity, the yowie, came up behind me. It snatched me up by one arm, breaking it and dangled me above its mouth about to devour me whole. That’s when, the bunyip, that aquatic nightmare resembling a two metre black dog, dove out of the water and attacked the yowie. Chills ran down my spine as I recalled the fear I felt as I ran as fast as I could; the two monsters wailing and fighting behind me. I was found thirty minutes later.

When I got home I began tearing through my stuff. I retrieved my DPCUs, hunting knife, compound bow and arrows. Russell was shocked when I walked out armed as best I could.

“Woah! What the hell are you planning?” he asked.

“I’m going hunting,” I replied.

“You think you can take down a croc with a bow and at night?” he queried sceptically.

“It’s not a croc,” I said firmly.

“Then what?” he queried.

“It’s a bunyip and a yowie,” I replied.

“Ah! So fairytale creatures,” he mocked.

Think what you will, I’m heading out,” I said and headed for the door.

“Wait! I’m coming,” He exclaimed.

“No! You wait here!” I responded in an act of futility.

“Hey, if this is my chance to see of them I’m not missing out,” he countered jokingly.

“Fine,” I exclaimed as I pushed my spare knife against his chest. “Don’t slow me down and don’t get killed.”

“Yes Sir!” Russell said, mocking me.

We headed deep into the scrub and took up position in a foxhole I had prepared, situated near the river bank. Luckily it was a full moon so we could see without torchlight.

“So. What makes you think we’ll find them here?” Russell asked loudly.

“Shh,” I said pushing my finger against my lips before pointing.

He looked over and saw a kangaroo with a rope around its neck lying down metres away.

“When did you?” Russell uttered before I wrapped my hand around his mouth.

I pointed at the river bank as the bunyip surfaced and began climbing up towards the kangaroo.

“Holy shit!” Russell exclaimed, quietly this time.

I readied my bow and was aiming when a stick snapped behind us. We spun around. I aimed only to see Yaeger standing there. Relieved Russell relaxed but I continued to aim at Yaeger.

“What’s going on guys?” asked Yaeger.

“Shh,” Russell said pressing his finger to his lips. “You’ll alert the bunyip!”

“What? Have you guys been hitting the shrooms?” Yaeger asked.

Russell was about to speak when he looked toward the creek and the bunyip was gone. As he turned back he realised I was still aiming my bow at Yaeger.

“Umm Jack? That’s a person.” Russell said worriedly.

“You know it was only the elders that took me seriously when I was a child. At least until I repressed the memories. But I now remember clearly; one said that the spirits can transform. Well if they’re old enough.” I spat. “So how old are you Yaeger, really?”

“Transform?” Russell asked worriedly as he looked from me to Yaeger.

“Furthermore, you can’t hide from a yowie that’s tasted your blood,” I added.

“Yaeger, I think we should drop the act,” Bruce said from behind us.

Russell spun around. My eyes darted to him for a moment and saw the fear on Russell's face as it dawned on him what I had suspected for a while. The ambush had backfired.

“Jack was it?” Yaeger asked. “Our age isn’t the thing you should be worried about.”

“I wouldn’t say I’m worried,” I retorted.

“You should be,” Bruce said, leering as he leaned in. “How are you going to protect someone while fighting us?”

“Hmm,” I said as I fired an arrow into Yaeger’s eye.

At the same time, Russell drew the knife I’d given him and sprang to his feet.

“Come on,” I shouted as I took off.

As we disappeared into the night Yaeger’s screams turned to the monstrous howls I’d heard as a child. We ran for a bit before we reached the next foxhole. We dove into it. Russell was panicking.

“What the f-” he began.

“I’m sorry, I should have insisted you stay back,” I exclaimed.

Russell fell silent as I aimed my bow into the moonlit forest. He took a deep breath and calmed himself.

“Hey, don’t forget I’m the older cousin,” he asserted.

I was about to respond when I saw something in the shadows.

“Damn it!” I uttered.

“What? Is it them?” whispered Russell.

“Can’t tell,” I replied.

“Well shoot it anyway!” added hastily.

“I had six arrows, one is in Yaeger’s eye and I’m sorry to say but I left two back in the last foxhole,” I said with an air of dread.

“You’re kidding, right?” Russell asked dreading the answer.

“Have I ever had a sense of humour?” I asked.

“Shit,” Russell muttered.

At that moment Yaeger howled to our right. Russell turned and aimed the knife in the direction it came from but I, I aimed left and in a moment Bruce pounced from that direction. I fired an arrow into his neck but that didn’t stop him. He snapped at me. I used the bow to block him and drew my knife as he bit the bow in two. I bounced to my feet and readied myself and Russell followed suit.

But of course, that didn’t help. Distracted, Russell was oblivious to Yaeger who crept up behind him and picked him up by the throat. Struggling, Russell stabbed at his assailant’s hand but Yaeger quickly put a stop to that by snapping his arm. Russell’s knife fell to the ground. Bruce lunged at me biting into my arm. With my free hand, I threw my knife at Yaeger’s good eye. I hit my target and he dropped Russell. I turned my attention back to Bruce and forced the arrow protruding from between his collar bones deep into his chest, striking his heart. As soon as I was free I raced to Russell’s side, picked up the knife and helped him up. We escaped the forest but not unscathed.

It was hard to explain to the neighbours how we had been injured. Eventually we managed to convince them it was a croc but that’s not what worried me. It was the fact it was the yowie that had survived.

So to this day, I get nervous when I see a blind person. I know he’s coming for me. I took two of his eyes. It’s only a matter of time but maybe just for tonight, I’ll have a drink like the old times and forget, just for one night. Or so I thought, until I saw the blind man in the corner of the bar raise a glass.

***

Thank you for reading a ThisIsOmniWar.com story

supernatural
2

About the Creator

Adam Stanbridge

All my stories are linked and are part of the same "Universe" I'm actively forging. I can also be found on OpenScreenplay, Facebook, thisisomniwar.com and of course am a member of the AWG.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Gosh, this story was so creepy! Never heard of a Yaeger before. Brilliant twist. You did a fantastic job on this story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.