Horror logo

Solicitous(Fearful) Nightmares

Angst

By Lindsey MoorePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
4
Based on a true story

I have had dreams that made me confused about my reality. The Dreams where the faces looked like they would jump out at me and eat me. Where their touch felt so cold that I could feel the chill go through my spine, I felt the goosebumps form on my arms. Have you ever had that dream? I was not able to face my reality. There was a figure in the corner of my eye sitting in the dark. I saw it move closer and closer till I was screaming for somebody to help me. I wasn't religious, but I tried praying for a God to protect me as my mom taught me. Of course, it didn't work. Eventually, I was hiding under my cover, holding onto my arms in the fetus position with my eyes closed, crying for help. I don't remember how old I was, but I still remember every detail to this day. My mom heard me screaming, so she ran up the stairs, turned on the lights, and saw me rocking back and forth under the cover, repeating the words "somebody help me". When she ran upstairs, I heard footsteps. I thought whatever was in my room was messing with me because the footsteps were heavy & I heard a deep moan. I didn't even bother to look up even when the lights came on. I was too scared I couldn't hear anything else but the deep moan that filled my head.

Everything was black and white in this dream. The quiet was deafening, the water was black & when the wind blew in the trees, I heard the words "help me" The trees caught my attention as I was walking between the small bit of land between the water. Even as the water moved, clashing up against me, it made no noise. As I was struggling to walk on this bit of land, I was able to see that there was an ending to my struggle; I saw more land ahead. I saw a figure coming toward me; it wasn't far. I could see some details in its appearance. I saw their clothes were black and rugged, as well as torn on the shoulders and the sleeves. Its skin white with bruises all on its body. Its pants torn at the legs. Seeing bits of his face, I could see that it was dark; it was smiling a wide smile. While he was walking, everything went in slow motion; it moved in slow motion; I could see his face as he was getting closer. The silence made its moaning sound like it was right next to me. It was so loud it made me tense tremendously. I had the urge to run away, but as I turned around. The bit of land that I was walking on to stay above ground had vanished due to the water bringing everything down with them. There was nowhere for me to go but forward. As I looked ahead, that figure was gone, and I suddenly appeared in another room.

Everything was dark, there was but one light, and it was at the end of this tunnel. That's what it looked like as I was walking towards it. This area wasn't quiet, but it wasn't loud. I heard water dripping and whispering in the distance. Have you ever been able to hear talking, in reality, trying to tell you not to go to the light, even to say, "don't look back? Well, that's what I could hear as I continued to walk to the light. I couldn't stop myself from moving to the light. I didn't want to look back because as I was walking, I could feel a warm breath on my neck, it was closer than that, I could feel my heart speeding up rapidly, I wanted to turn around to see what it was, but I had a feeling that if I did that, I was going to die. I felt something in my reality press against my body, so it made me not want to wake up. I didn't even bother to open my eyes. I feared that would be the end of my reality. My dream was still in effect as whatever was pressing down on my chest was waiting. I could feel it getting harder to breathe. I started to run; I ran as fast as I could to what I thought was the end of the tunnel. I was running for what felt like hours. I finally made it to the light; I searched for a way out, any way out. I could hear the heavy footsteps of whatever was behind me, walking faster as I searched.

I turned around & a door appeared behind me. I could hear the footsteps getting closer and closer so I ran to the door and as soon as I opened it there was a bright light. I couldn't see anything then everything went white. I appeared in another room wishing for it all to be over; I couldn't speak, I tasted vomit, the vomit prevented me from forming words. I couldn't spit the vomit out; it clung to my tongue. I had forced myself to swallow it, but even that didn't get rid of it. I looked around. Seeing that the room was white at first, blood smeared all across the walls. I started walking, following the trail of blood. That pressure on my chest went away once I got closer to a room with hand-printed blood on the door. The vomit got more and more intense. I could taste the chunky and sour taste of the vomit as I was closing in on the door. I opened the door and saw that thing that taunted me in the last two rooms right in front of me, smiling at me. It was staring at me with its pitch-black eyes with an intensity that made my heart pound so hard that I was starting to hyperventilate. There was a chair in the middle of the room, separating us, but that didn't stop it as it started walking toward me slowly, still smiling. When I tried to escape, the door was gone. I was stuck with that thing. I couldn't focus on anything; I was frozen in fear, the vomit still on my tongue as I wanted to scream for help. It spoke with a deep voice and said, "help me, help me please" he repeated those words, and I realized that in my reality, that's what I was saying; he was mocking me. He started laughing, and once he got close, he bit me on my neck. It hurt like hell, but then I woke up screaming in pain till I realized it was a nightmare.

I thought that the nightmare was over till I felt something wet over my pajamas, and as I got up to turn on the light, I stepped on something cold and wet. I slipped onto it and saw that it was a body. Three bodies, my mother, my sister, and my brother dead next to my bed. I was screaming for them to wake up. I didn't accept that they were dead. As I grabbed onto my mom's lifeless body, I heard heavy breathing. I looked up and saw that the same figure in my dream was walking toward me with its heavy footsteps chewing on a piece of my family with crazy eyes wide open, chewing, and smiling. It started laughing again like in my dream. I got up and ran out of my room. But it appeared right in front of me, when I turned to run again he appeared behind me. It bit me on my neck like it did in the dream. I woke up screaming once more. This time I was scared to get up, I had to make sure I was awake, so I pinched myself. That did not help me because I was still afraid to open my eyes, but it was a start. I looked up to make sure I was in my room when I saw that dark figure in the corner; I was sure this was another dream, so I didn't leave my bed, and I hid under the cover screaming for help. That is when my mom came to comfort me.

But that wasn't the end of my Solicitous Nightmares.

4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.