Horror logo

Smiling Jack Returns

By: Inkmouse

By V-Ink StoriesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I used to have an imaginary friend growing up, from what I can remember I had a lot of fun with him up until the age of 12 when he mysteriously disappeared. I pushed the idea of my imagination out of my head and started growing up.

It was a normal Saturday night was a recurring sleepover movie night that I and my friends have over my house. We would always have it in my room because it was big enough to make a fort and camp out on the floor while watching scary movies and consuming large amounts of soda and junk food. To this day I can’t figure out my none of us got cavities. We were halfway through a slasher flick when my parents came in and said that there was a problem with my grandparents’ house and that they will be gone until morning.

Seeing no problem with this as we’ve been left alone over my house before we agreed to lock up the house and be in bed by 9 when in reality we were gonna fall asleep at the break of dawn. Hours passed as we finished watching the Wolf Man, Frankenstein, and Jeepers Creepers. Next on our list was everyone’s favorite The Exorcist, a cult classic, but 20 minutes into the movie we ran out of popcorn and it was my turn to refill. Heading down to the kitchen I put popcorn into the microwave and waited.

At this time it was 11:55 p.m., and the house was quiet and dark so it was no surprise that I jumped when I heard a tapping sound like something small falling to the ground. Looking around the kitchen, I didn’t find anything, and then I heard it again… then I see it… two pieces of candy sitting at the edge of the kitchen entrance. I bent down and picked them up, looking at them I instantly remembered seeing these types of candy before. They were wrapped in bright colors of pink and blue… these were my favorite colors. Popping one in my mouth I could taste the sweet sugary texture of the candy and soon tears fell from my eyes as I started to remember my lost friend from my childhood.

Under my breath, I whispered, “It's you”... out of nowhere, I hear a low raspy whisper behind me saying “best friends forever… right?” My blood ran cold as I turned around to the gaunt face of a clown with black and white smudged makeup. My body stood there frozen as his lips stretched into an impossible wide tooth smile with razor-sharp teeth. My brain was screaming at me to run, but my body was calm almost like I knew nothing was gonna happen to me.

“It’s been a while… did you miss me?”

“I feel like I know you,” I said quietly.

“Well, you do silly! We have been friends since you could talk, why do you not remember me?” He smiled at me with a twisted dagger-toothed grin. Looking around at my surroundings and realizing I’m the only one around and my friends are still asleep. He was my childhood imaginary friend... ‘Smiling Jack’. Not knowing what to do I run into my room shutting the door. My friends were nowhere to be found, leaving my room dark and quiet.

“Young man, we definitely need to talk...” I turned and backed away from my bedroom door as he spoke.

“N-no… please leave me alone… your not real!” I replied in a quivering voice while hiding under my blanket.

“You are my greatest creation and I will regret leaving you alone, but at the time it was for the best. I won’t force you to do anything, but as a test, I would like you to go downstairs to the basement and to look under my bed,”

“And if... I refuse?...” I asked weakly.

To Be Continued...

Thank you guys for the visit and if you guys like these creepy stories/rituals, please show some support and donate to my page.

fiction
1

About the Creator

V-Ink Stories

Welcome to my page where the shadows follow you and nightmares become real, but don't worry they're just stories... right?

follow me on Facebook @Veronica Stanley(Ink Mouse) or Twitter @VeronicaYStanl1 to stay in the loop of new stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.