Horror logo

'Slasher!' A Horror Short-Film

A couple's quiet night in turns into a terrifying fight for survival...

By Matt LoftusPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Does exactly what it says on the tin...

Cut back to December 2013, i saw an ad for a new Horror Shortfilm Competition called "Who's There" asking for filmmakers to create a creepy short in no more then 3 minutes!

I love these types of restrictions as you can do what you want but it's just limiting yourself to a set run-time, actually helps you to push through and create something. I mean, it's quicker then trying to figure out the story arc of a full blown movie and can usually be shot over a couple of days.

Nice Dramatic Angle there :)

We beat that and shot it in one night!

I got on to 2 actors i worked with previously on another horror short called "Spell" and arranged to shoot late one night at my house. It was a bit of a tense affair though when i got a call from them as they were stuck on route with major traffic delay YIKES!

I feared we'd never get it shot as we only had limited time that night to get it ALL "in the can", plus the competition deadline was looming. I really should be more organised in the future lol.

Tim smiles while i get crushed to achieve the shot

Check out the full finished short below:

WE DID IT!!!

It was a very frantic affair but we completed the shoot in one night, i went and shot a couple of establishing shots after but that's all. I always work with little to no crew so i was just doing everything besides acting in the thing.

Teaching a young Tim how to hold a weapon

My principle actors Tim Shread and Susan Leiper are great sports though and just go with anything i throw at them. I'm gonna be one of those directors using the same cast in every movie they make I just know it lol.

All smiles the horror's over....FOR NOW!!!

Oh and wanna see the initial SFX test for the head burn sequence? how about if I tell you I tested my OWN head? lol

Special Thanks to filmmaker pal James Smart for his work on this, otherwise I couldn't have made a prosthetic head in time so i don't know what we'd have done.

What a bleeding mess!

I had to have a go at the "make up" on Tim's head which was the very LAST thing we shot before they left. I shot Tim's mug against a green-screen already set up in my spare room.

I wish someone could have filmed us walking him down the hallway as me and Suzie had him by the arms as he couldn't open his eyes due to the fake blood.

Just what you've gotta do for your "art" i suppose.

I never actually entered the competition with this as time had run out and i hadn't completed the edit, shame really as you never know how it would've been received.

That's why nowadays if i see a competition like this i make damn sure i get something handed in. Can't win if you don't compete.

Can you spot Tim?...me neither

Cut to 2016 and i'm producing a load of 15 second horror shorts for the official 15 Second Horror Challenge , fingers crossed I get a gold star or something.

Here's one entry from last year starring myself :)

slasher
Like

About the Creator

Matt Loftus

Horror-obsessed writer and Filmmaker

Read my ramblings here and see my short films on YouTube:MattLoftus85

My TikTok @mattloftus85

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.