Horror logo

Siyokoy

Members of Bantay Lawa or Merfolk (Part 2)

By Mark.pngPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
Siyokoy
Photo by Alex Rose on Unsplash

May was reminded of the cave and her curiosity was piqued. She expressed her wish to return to it.

"Were you aware that no person has ever managed to reach the depths of the river?" she said.

Supposedly, there are submerged pathways that lead to a network of caves underground. Additionally, they discovered underwater chambers and more tunnels that stretch into uncharted areas. So far, adventurers have only descended 200 feet, which they consider to be just the beginning.

Given that I wasn't fully recovered from the cramps, I expressed concern about the dangers of going there alone. While there may have been mythical creatures living in the water, May remained steadfast and plunged back into the water, making a beeline for the cave. As she approached the small entrance, I witnessed her sinking as if something was pulling her down. Reacting swiftly, I dived into the water and swam as fast as I possibly could. Upon reaching the cave, I submerged myself underwater. Time seemed to blur as everything unfolded rapidly. When I opened my eyes, I was confronted by the most horrifying creature I had ever encountered.

Right before me was what I believed to be the shokoy that Mang Ceasar had warned us about. It possessed a fish-like head, while the rest of its body was green and adorned with scales. The shape of its body resembled that of a man, and its teeth were as sharp as blades. Overwhelmed with panic, I swam away, desperately trying to create distance between us. Strangely, the creature made no attempt to pursue me. It remained motionless as I glanced back, only to see it grasping May, who was now struggling to breathe and break free. Summoning all the courage I had, I swam towards it once more, determined to snatch her away. However, before I could reach May...

The creature abruptly yanked her arm towards its face, taking a substantial bite out of her flesh. Her blood mingled with the river water, and I could taste its saltiness from where I stood. Despite the pain, May managed to slip out of the creature's grasp and swam to the surface for a breath of air. Seizing the opportunity, I also ascended to replenish my lungs. The only sound that filled the air was May's agonized screams. Just as I was about to swim towards her, the creature resurfaced and fatally bit May's neck. In that moment, my fight-or-flight response kicked in, and I found myself shouting and weeping as I desperately tried to reach the safety of the riverbank. However, halfway to my destination, I felt a tug on my right leg, followed by a stronger force moments later. I swam faster, but the creature persisted in dragging and nibbling on my injured limb.

At that moment, despair consumed me as I neared the point of surrender. I resigned myself to the idea of death, but then a sudden disturbance caught my attention as it collided with the water, resulting in a resounding splash. My mind struggled to comprehend the unfolding events. As the bubbles dissipated, a figure emerged from the water. It was Mang Ceasar, clutching what appeared to be a dagger in his hand. Relentlessly, he continued to stab the creature, undeterred by its retaliations. Their struggle persisted until both of them descended to the riverbed. Seeking safety, I swam towards the riverbank and emerged onto solid ground. Overwhelmed by the ordeal, I lost consciousness. When I eventually awoke, I found myself confined within the walls of a hospital room. It was then explained to me that Mang Ceasar had witnessed a drowning incident while attempting to rescue me. Sadly, May's body could not be located, leading to speculation that it had either been consumed by aquatic creatures or a merfolk.

urban legendsupernatural
Like

About the Creator

Mark.png

Just a normal guy with a simple thougths

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.