Horror logo

Site-17: The Beginning Verse Pt. 1

"It's true, Boogeymen do exist."

By Michael L NeuhausPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 11 min read
2

You know those stories your friends and you tell around camp fires? Or the scary tales of creatures going bump in the night? Creatures under your bed or in your closet ready to pounce at any moment and the feeling of fright washes over you as you run and hide from the worst. Well I hate to break it to you, but it's true, Boogeymen do exist just not in the forms you think they exist in. Contrary to popular belief these things don't always hide. Sometimes they are in plain site, watching and waiting. Sometimes you cant see them and at other times you interact with them on the daily bases.

What am I talking about? I'm talking about Nightmares brought to life at a seconds notice. Inside information on the deadliest of the deadly, I am talking about things we in the agency call SCP's, or in others words, supernatural phenomenon that occur each and every second of each and every day. See I was a Doctor at one of these facilities and I am here to spill the beans on all the corruption and lies they tell the public. Of course I know people will write me off as a crackpot or some loose cannon of conspiracy but after I tell you the truth, you'll thank me for saving yours and everyone's life around you.

Intro into Madness:

Lets start with basics, my name is Joseph Crone and I was a Senior Experimental Analyst for the SCP foundation for 5 years. My primary goal was to aid in the "rehabilitation" of certain SCP's in order to prepare them for long term exposure to interdimensional imprisonment. See the thing is part of the dark and twisted things the SCP Foundation (Secure, Contain, Protect as the acronym suggests) would do was experiment on test subjects to find out all the who, what, when, where and why's of a subject. Imprisonment was the only way for them.

Reason being is because secretly they wanted full control of the public while shielding this Foundation in secrecy and lies of "saving the world". Site-17 specifically was a sister site of the popular Site-19 that recently underwent a massive "containment breach". I know cause I was one of the only survivors of the breach and let me tell you this was staged. I'm getting ahead of myself lets dial back a bit so you get the full picture. I worked as a "social worker" to Juvenile SCP's, that's right KIDS!

Ranging from different ages my job was to guide them through a lengthy program of rehab trying to help these SCP's realize what they can do and why they were there in the first place. In others words I was their shrink. At the beginning I had thought the Site-17 facility was doing something good, taking in these kids and helping them. It didn't stop there, we also had a fleet of other "low-risk" SCP humanoids as they liked to call them. Basically we were a holding cell for people either exposed to or embracing these phenomenon but to me at the time I was helping what I thought was a good cause.

During my time there I had met a young boy by the name of Charles no older then 8 years of age. Charles was exceptionally bright and a fast learner. He was an orphan thrown into the system when he was 6 due to a freak accident where his parents had passed away. At the time I had no idea that Charles had been the one to blame for his parents passing but I was determined to help this kid. He was afraid and distraught when he first stepped foot in my office. the boy also was not issued an SCP identification number on file yet which was partly my responsibility as I analyzed and studied him as his doctor.

Over time he warmed up to me and felt comfortable enough to share his story with me on what happened that night.

Public Record Conversation 1:

"Charles it's ok to talk about what happened, you know? I am only here to help you get better" I had stated to Charles.

"Can you call me Chuck? I like that better." Chuck responded.

I looked over at the kid and gave him a small smirk "Sure thing kid if that makes you feel comfortable then Chuck it is my friend."

I opened my notebook and took my pen in hand to start writing down some notes. I couldn't shake the feeling but it felt like someone was watching us as we spoke, almost like the someone was peering into my soul with piercing eyes. As I picked up my pen, I noticed that my hand was trembling and shaking yet I wasn't feeling any sort of stress or strain. At that moment an image blurted in my line of sight as if I was hallucinating or something. It felt like a movie reel of memories that weren't mine all of a sudden pop in my head.

I saw Charles standing over his parents on the floor covered in black ooze and blood. Charles dropped to his knees and at that moment I snapped out of it. I looked over at Charles to see his eyes closed and his arm outstretched and his hand opened towards me.

"Chuck, what happened? Was that you who did that?" I asked.

"Doctor Crone, I am not sure what that was but whenever I feel sad or want to try to express myself, All I do is reach out to the person and they see what I see in my head. It feels like I'm being controlled but I don't know by who or what. This is what hurt my parents I think. It wasn't me I swear!" Charles explained.

"Chuck it's ok I promise. It was scary I wont lie." I jotted down a few notes then closed my notebook, placing the book and my pen back down on the end table next to me. "Ok Chuck I need you to try and verbalize your thoughts and feelings. Tell me what's on your mind and we can revisit what just happened."

Charles took a deep breath and clenched his fists, not out of anger but stress. Trying to get comfortable in his seat, he starts to fidget and hesitates for the moment. "A few years ago, I remember having a lot of nightmares. I used to be afraid of the dark and my closet." Charles begins to play with his fingers and starts the shed a tear. "My mom would come to comfort me and would try to tell me everything will be ok. My dad would come in shortly after trying to check in on us and would give me a drink of water before heading back to bed."

Charles begins to hesitate "One night I had a very bad dream and could not wake from it. The dream was of a man dressed in all black with a skull mask chasing me. I would run so fast that my legs would hurt but I kept going. He would always catch me in the dream and would put his hand on my head. Usually I would just wake up but this time it felt like he became a part of me."

"What do you mean by that Chuck? Did he hurt you in your dream?" I responded.

"No he didn't, but when I finally woke up, I was standing over my parents lying on the floor and they wouldn't wake up." Charles responded right before bursting into tears.

"It's ok my friend, this was all an accident, you didn't intend on hurting anyone." I tried to reassure him a little before continuing my questions. Charles grabbed a few tissues from the box on the coffee table in front of him, wiping the tears from his eyes then blowing his nose. I begin to sit back in my seat, crossing my legs and grabbing my notebook once more to add a few notes.

As I sit back in my chair I hear a noise from behind it almost as if something scurried out from under it. I jumped up out of the seat and looked behind the chair to find nothing but open space and the carpet on the floor. "Chuck did you see something run across the room at all just now?" Charles stands out of his seat and looks around responding "No I didn't see anything at all but I did hear something." I got back to my chair and take a deep breath thinking this whole ordeal is strange.

"Chuck I need to ask you to do something for me but you have to trust me and you need to be very careful not to go over board ok?"

Charles looks at me confused but attentive "Ok sure." I sit up right in my chair looking dead at Charles as I think of the number 56 hoping to test a theory.

"Now Chuck, we are going to play a little game of guess the number but you need to promise me you will be completely honest, can you do that?"

Charles responds "Absolutely!"

"Ok good now focus on me, I want you to tell me what number I'm thinking of ok?" I asked.

"I see 56 Doctor Crone. Is that the number you were thinking of?"

"Impossible." I thought to my self. "Ok Charles, just a few more tests and we will be done for the day." I begin to roll my sleeves up and hand Charles a piece of paper and a pencil.

"Ok Chuck this time I want you to quickly write down a sentence on that paper, just one sentence ok? and then place it on the table face down in front of you so I can't see it."

Charles quickly writes the first thing that comes to mind, he then places the piece of paper down on the table and looks at me. As he sets the paper on the table I begin to extend my hand out towards him with my index finger pointing to him.

"Now Chuck what I would like you to do is touch you finger to mine and I want you to try and think of the sentence you just wrote down. Try to communicate it without talking." I asked. Charles laughed at that moment but played along. "Ok Doctor Crone if you say so?"

As his finger met mine, I had a flash of another vision in that instant, only this time it was similar to the nightmare Charles had described from earlier. The room went dark and everything disappeared as I stood in a black void with what appeared to be ceiling lamp light hanging above. I looked over and saw Charles running in the distance away from me. His face with the look of shear terror and panic as if he had seen a ghost. Then as I turned around I saw it. Standing a little over 6 ft. tall in a skull mask dressed in a black skeleton jacket was this man, or was it a creature disguised as one?

As I turned to run I tripped on what seemed to be nothing but slowly fell as though time itself slowed in that very instant. The man came closer as I heard Charles scream from behind me. "Don't hurt him, he's my friend! You'll kill him stop!" At that moment the person gripped my throat and squeezed so hard I thought he was going to rip my head clean off my shoulders. Right before I lost consciousness, everything went dark and the sentence "SAVE ME FROM MYSELF" popped into my head much like that hallucination did prior.

As I woke, I noticed I was on the floor. The doorway out of the room we were in was slathered in that same black ooze and my throat was covered in it as well. I looked over to Charles to see him crying and staring at me scared. He had black ooze on his hands and shoes with some splattered on his cloths. As I gasped for air and coughed my lungs out I turned to Charles and asked "Charles what did you do buddy? what happened?" At that moment I looked at the coffee table and saw the piece of paper that Chuck wrote his note on.

As I got up I stumbled and smacked my hand on the table over the note. As I turned the piece of paper over my heart skipped a beat. Sweat dripping from my head and still gasping for air as I read the sentence "SAVE ME FROM MYSELF" written in capital letters on the note.

fictionhalloweenmonsterpsychologicalsupernatural
2

About the Creator

Michael L Neuhaus

Life is too short not to experience it. I'm just here to share mine with you all. Together we can create something beautiful.

Love yourself and never lose yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.