Horror logo

Sirloc

Part 2

By Linsey TulipPublished 3 years ago 13 min read
1
"only heard breathing till she came into focus"

As she came into focus she stepped out of the trees and into full light of the moon. My eyes kept blinking and for some reason I found myself unable to move. She looks at me and then gives a slow downward nod. As her head comes up she makes eye contact again with me. "Who are you? And why are you here?" Trying to take another swallow to get my mouth wet and my tongue gets stuck to the roof of my mouth. But after fake chewing I can finally say "My name is Mathew but I usually go by the nick name Mat." "Now may I ask your name?" She blinks slowly and then I can hear her voice it's eerily comforting to me. "My name is Sirloc. But again why are you here?" Now putting my jacket on revealing my pistol in my belt line right by my belly button. She blinks once kind of faster this time than the last. "Well ma'am I am on a road trip to where ever the road may lead at the moment." She takes two steps closer to me and then lowers her veil or hood. "Listen to me you are not in a safe area, the danger has passed for the moment but it will return and I can see your not ready for it when it returns." Catching my attention with that statement. Looking in her eyes and dropping my arms to my sides. "So danger would be the people in the cars?" She takes another step toward me now only about ten feet away from me. "No, those are just people that can be animalistic in nature if you can understand that. But right now you really need to be worrying about the real, ancient, and pure evil." This really got my attention now. "So your saying there is something more dangerous than simply people as you put it." She nods at me and then asks, "So you do understand that their are things in this world that really can't make sense when told from ear to ear. If it's not a movie people seem not to believe it's even real."

I walk to the door of my car and close it, then turn around and look at her as I lean my back against the car. "So are you telling me there is something supernatural or paranormal going on here?" She smiles and briefly looks to the ground. "You humans are all the same, why should I run if I don't know what I am supposed to be running from. So let me put it simple if you stay here in a very short time you will meet what real evil is. I beg you please come with me and I can lead you to safety and I will explain everything that is really going on here." I give out a little giggle but not on purpose. "So your saying I am for sure in danger and it will be here soon, because of it I should follow you to safety then you will explain. Now is that correct so far?" She smiles and nods her head while blinking slowly. "Yes that's just what I am telling you right now and if you come with me I can keep you safe and offer an explanation of what is going on. But if you stay here, your not going to make it till dawn." I smile again and give a sort of bounce off my car and say, "Ok then get in and show me the way to where it is." She looks at me then at my car. "Do you have to bring that thing? I mean it's really not that easy to hide when you live out here." I look at her and my face gets all serious. "Umm yeah I have to bring it, it has all my supplies and is my best way to get around right now." She shakes her head and walks to the passenger side of the car. "Ok, fine bring the damn thing it's a good thing I have a big cave close to home we can hide this in." She then gets in the car and leans over to the driver side and looks up at me. "You do know that your time is limited right now if your trying to figure out if it's worth running from I would say let's go."

We are sitting in the car as I start the car. "Shhh! Did you just hear that?" Looking out my window and then back to her and out her window. "No I didn't hear a thing." As another snap rings out of the darkness. "You have about three seconds to get gone as fast as you can." Not even thinking as soon as the engine fires up I slip it into gear and race out without my headlights on. She looks over at me, "Ok now drive for a bit till I tell you when to turn, but here's the catch do not turn your lights back on right now. We are being followed for a bit so you have to speed up." Pushing the gas even harder now as we steadily pick up speed. "Ok so I am gathering that this happens to be a life or death kind of thing?" She looks out the back and then looks right in my eyes and nods her head slowly. As we are picking up she keeps looking in the mirror on her side and behind us out the back window. "I can tell your really nervous but I can't seem to really figure out why your acting like this. So let's just say I have a lot of questions for you when we get where we're going." She smiles and nods again. Driving along I go to reach for my radio and sh e slowly grabs my hand and smiles at me. "That might be a real bad idea. Not that you are giving your position up but you can't hear what's going on around you. I know you have questions and I have answer's for you but we need to get to a safe place first so we know others aren't listening or sneaking up on us." Letting go of her hand it makes me smile that she actually made physical contact with me. "There do you see that clump of trees up there on the right, that's where your going to turn towards, but don't go toward it till you are directly next to it on the road." I kind of have to do a double take at her. "I think I can understand what your saying so I will just go with it." As I pull off the road and hit the gravel I can tell that I am most certainly on a good old fashioned dirt road. "Now this is where you really want to go fast and if you keep your eyes straight forward you'll see the entrance to the cave system. There do you see it? Once we're inside then you can turn the lights back on. we'll actually kind of need them to get the gate closed once we are inside." Looking at her all I could do is smile and slightly shake my head. Getting closer I can't see any kind of opening that would show this wall of rock I am looking at right now. I scan from side to side and for the life of me I don't see any kind of openings in the rock. "Ok, slow down and head straight forward toward the way your car is pointing right now. Go slow and you'll see what kind of place I have to live in."

She pulls out a little slim black cylinder shaped tube, about three or three and a half inches. She presses her thumb down on the one side and it lights up green. As this happens I look back forward toward the rock ad see this sort of gate opening toward me. The gate isn't close enough I have to worry about it hitting me. "Now just go in till I say stop." Driving forward I keep it slow and I start looking at how they are hung and how it's hiding this huge hole in the side of the rock. "Here stop for a second." She presses the button again and it turns red. "Now you can turn your lights on and head to the left tunnel that way." She is pointing to the far left tunnel. As the doors close and I turn my lights on. I can see there are many tunnels leading into this one big one. All of them are big enough to drive thru. When I start going into the tunnel I can tell just how big it is. It's big enough to drive two semi trucks thru it side by side with room to spare on either side as well as the top too. Now this is amazing in it's self till we pulled up to a huge what looks like a blast door from a Hollywood movie. "Hold on for a min I have to open those up for us." Then without letting me have a word back she quickly climbs out of the car leaving the door to the car open. She then stops in front of the door and pulls the pen thing from her pocket once again but this time she slides down the length of it with one finger while the other hand is holding it. The side of it she slid toward then turns green and she presses the green part once again and it goes red as she releases it. She spins around and smiling back at me comes back to the car and get's inside. "There now when we get in I have to close it as well. And yes this was once a place the government didn't want people to know about. But as you can tell they forgot about it and left some things here and there but really nothing of any interest but it makes a great safe place to live." We pull thru the doors and she get's out and does the same thing as outside but this time she stays till the doors close completely.

Looking ahead of me it's looking like someone indeed prep this cave for something but also took care to save what they could where they could of the original cave system. She now climbs in the car and I start driving more. "Ok, What would be your first question you have for me?" Looking at her and then back forward I can see light coming into focus out of the range of my headlights. "My first would be what are we supposed to be afraid of right now?" She smiles slightly to one side. Then looks at me. "Evil sir pure evil. It has no thought but chaos and anarchy. It has no feelings so pain never huts it. Many have tried to destroy it and only end up dead. Mankind made it into legends then turned into myth and fiction stories. What would you say if I told you that what we need to fear after what the world leaders did. There is a lot out there but this, this is pure and I do believe has control over the other evil things out there. Pull into the left hand side when you round the corner, you can park the car there." Pulling into the light it looks like some kind of stage with a house set up in it. There is a full house inside this cave with lights lining the walkway to the front porch and even some grass on either side of the path but only maybe a foot on either side. Parking the car we both get out as we are shutting the doors I make eye contact with her. "So it's evil that our world leaders woke up and let out of where ever it was before?" Looking at me her smile and the light in her eyes sort of fade out. "Yes, the world leaders woke it up when they tried bombing parts of the mountains out here. But what they didn't count on is the fact it can change form when it so chooses too. It can take on any form that you might be afraid of. This thing can look inside you and tell what your afraid of and use that against you till you either die or go crazy then if you do go crazy it will kill you after whatever time it feels is correct for it. We all need to be afraid of it and it's that simple. Let's go inside and get something real to eat, I saw what you cooked for your dinner and it was pretty sad if I was to be honest." Giggling I follow here into the house and after we both enter I close the doors behind me. "If you would like there is a bathroom down the hall first door on your right if you want to cleean up a little and if you want you could take a shower while I cook us something to eat. Would you like some soda-pop with your meal or perhaps something else? I also have some wine if you would fancy a drink with dinner or perhaps after dinner?" Smiling I look at her starting to slowly walk towards the hallway. "Yeah a soda would be awesome with the food tonight. By the way could I get that drink now though? I really don't want to wait till the meal to have a good drink of soda. You kind of freaked me out when you came to my camp. I even thought I saw you as a sort of big cat like a cougar or somthing like that." She smiles at me and then set's her pan down on the stove. "You mean you thought I was a big cat hunting you. Well I wasn't hunting you I was trying to see if you we're prepared for what was about to pass thru there." This makes me stop walking and start walking into the kitchen where she is and now looking at her. She is smiling at me and is standing in the middle of the room and slowly puts her hands down to her sides. "You mean you did follow me?" She smiles bigger and nods her head. "Now are you also telling me that you are a big cat or something like that cause you didn't really explain that part of it just now?" She pulls her hair behind of her ears and then her smile fades. "Yes, they call us skinwalker's or shapeshifters to make it more simple. I can change form into animals of my choice. Whenever I choose too, it makes it a lot easier to get around when I can run like a horse or fly like a bird. That's why I have been able to survive this long. Does that scare you cause it scares most people?" Shaking my head I walk over to the kitchen table and pull a seat and sit there looking at the ground. "Actually I think that is freaking awesome. Can you take another human's form to pass as them?" All she does is shake her head. Then goes to cooking again.

Part 2 of many.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Linsey Tulip

I have always had a over active imagination since I was young. I never grew out of it, it just became more detailed as I get older. So one day I started writing them down. And here I share them, hope you like them, or at least one.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.