Horror logo

Sinner's Guide to a Purposeful Death

A Story for Women

By LuminosaPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
2
Sinner's Guide to a Purposeful Death
Photo by Sahand Babali on Unsplash

The town of Bellsville, Pennsylvania has one stop light that hangs in its center. It’s lined with forests and rural domains as far as the eye can see. The town contains about 2,000 human beings who worship at St. Francis Church on Plum Run Lane. The church is accompanied by its preparatory academy for girls. They were ranked nationally for acceptance into higher education facilities.

Lena runs down the tattered vinyl floor, searching for her two best friends. She sees Stacey leaning on Kayla’s locker.

“Did you hear what happened?” Lena asks.

“What’re you talking about,” Stacey answers.

“Mary’s dead!” Lena says.

“Oh my God, are you sure?” Stacey asks.

“I just heard it from Father Paul, they found her by the pool early this morning,” Lena says.

“Well that sucks, I’ll see you guys in History, I wanna bum a cigarette before this shit show starts,” Kayla says.

“Kayla come on, she’s dead,” says Stacey.

“So? Thousands of other people die every day,” says Kayla. She walks away leaving the hallway, entering the gym. Kayla is 5’9” with long straight brown hair that tickles the swell of her back. Her emerald green eyes peek through her jagged bangs. She wears black combat boots that go against the dress code at St. Francis, and it lands her in weekly detention.

“Let her go,” Lena says.

“I don’t get why she can’t just fake it sometimes”

“It’s not in her nature.”

“I can’t believe Mary’s dead, I just saw her in Biology yesterday. Do they know what happened?”

“They’re not saying anything if they do. I walked past Sister Judy’s office, but the door was closed.”

“I can’t even imagine what she’s going through. She was such a doting Aunt.”

“I’m sure she’s crushed. I barely knew Mary and I cried all morning when I heard. It’s unthinkable.”

A voice comes over the loudspeaker: “Attention girls, all classes have been postponed, and all personnel must report to the gymnasium as soon as possible.”

“Was that Sister Judy?” Stacey asks.

“I think it was,” answers Lena.

Lena is average height with dark rimmed glasses that cover her dark brown eyes. She has short curly brown hair that springs when she talks. Stacey is the quintessential blonde, with her beautiful locks framing her chiseled face, and accentuating her bright blue eyes.

The girls walk together to the gym, hoping the assembly will shed more light on the death of their classmate. The gym is located in the center of campus. It’s run down, matching the rest of the academy. Basketball hoops hang on either side, and wooden bleaches are pulled out from the left side of the room. There is no need for a microphone since there are only 346 students enrolled at the high school. Sitting in the center of the room is Sister Judy, Father Paul, and Bishop Cameron. The girls come in from both of the stainless steel, small windowed doors on either side of the room. They are all wearing the appropriate uniform: a blue plaid skirt at knee length, knee high white socks that come from black Mary Jane’s, a white collared button up, and a blue plaid tie matching the skirt. As they take their seats Sister Judy stands to address them.

“I’m sure by now that you have all heard about my dear sweet niece. I am dealing with this tragedy in my own right, and will ask you to respect my privacy. Because of her drowning on school grounds, we have made the pool, pool house, and locker rooms completely off limits. This is non negotiable, and put into effect for the safety of our beloved students. Classes for the day have been postponed, Father Paul and Bishop Cameron are here for you if you feel the need to speak with someone. Let us pray for her poor soul, and the souls of the faithfully departed.”

Later that night Lena and Stacey find their way to Kayla’s dorm room. It resides in the West Hall, one of only two operational dorms due to low enrollment at the school. Kayla lives on the fourth floor with her roommate Cynthia. Cynthia is a volleyball star who rarely makes an appearance in the room. She is taller for her age, with a slender yet athletic build making volleyball her perfect match. She is also a stunning blonde, with hazel eyes.

Stacey and Lena knock on the wooden door with a decorative K and C plastered onto it.

“Hold on!” Yells Kayla. After a few seconds of rumbling she swings the door open.

“Seriously Kayla?” says Stacey.

“What?” asks Kayla.

“I can smell the weed from down the hall, do you really wanna get kicked out that bad?” Stacey asks.

“Will you take a chill pill or a hit, they can’t kick me out and you know it.” Kayla says.

“Maybe not for now, but if enrollment every picks back up-” Lena says.

“Listen it’s bad enough that my Dad made me move to this podunk town after the steel mills in Pittsburgh shut down, but now he spends every penny making sure this stupid place turns me into a lady.” Kayla rolls her eyes and plops down on the twin bed to the right of the room.

“I just worry about you.” Stacey says.

“Well don’t.” Kayla says.

“Alrighty, well this is fun, but I have to get up early tomorrow so I’m gonna go.” Lena says.

“What do you have on a Saturday morning?” Stacey asks.

“The Supernatural convention is hitting Pittsburgh, and it's only an hour bus ride away, so I’m going.” Lena says.

“Seriously Lena, isn’t that for like kids and people who don’t know what sex is like?” Kayla asks.

“Maybe, but that’s kind of my people. Plus they have a really cool expo on Greek God’s and you know how much I love a good fable.” Lena says.

“Alright, just be careful, ok?” Says Kayla.

“Always, catch you cool cats later.” Lena giggles.

Lena leaves the room. Kayla gets up and closes the door. She quietly latches the lock.

“Don’t even think about it.” Stacey says.

Kayla moves to the loveseat that Stacey is sitting on.

“What? I’m not doing anything.” Smiles Kayla. She pushes Stacey’s hair off her shoulder and kisses her neck. Stacey lets out a sigh.

“We’re gonna get caught.”

“No we’re not, it’s fine, just trust me.”

Stacey holds Kayla’s emerald green gaze and leans in, kissing her softly. Kayla grabs Stacey’s waste and pulls her closer.

The door handle jiggles, “Why is this locked?” Cynthia asks. “Seriously Kayla I have a meet tomorrow I have to get some sleep.”

“I’ll be right there.” Kayla yells. “Meet me at the pool house,” she whispers to Stacey.

“Babe, we’re not supposed to go there.” Stacey says.

“Come on, where’s your sense of adventure?” Kayla asks.

“Kayla, for real!” Cynthia yells.

“Stace, please, for me?” Kayla asks.

“Oh for Christ’s sake, fine.” Stacey says.

“Thanks beautiful.” Says Kayla.

“Don’t gimme that look.” Smiles Stacey.

Kayla gets up and unlocks the door. “You would think with all those endorphins you’d be more patient.”

“Haha, you’re so funny Kayla. Maybe patience is just a virtue I don’t have.” Cynthia says.

“Sorry Cynthia I was just leaving, have a good night.” Stacey says.

“Bye Stacey, have a good one.” Cynthia says.

Kayla walks Stacey to the door, “one hour then you’re all mine,” she whispers to Stacey.

“Shut up,” Stacey whispers back. Kayla sneaks a pass at Stacey’s skirt as she walks past. Stacey squeals, and lets out a giggle as she walks down the hall.

“You’re gonna wake up my RA,” Kayla whispers.

“Who’s fault is that?” Stacey whispers back.

An hour later Stacey tredges through the overgrown grass that envelopes the pool house’s yard. She lets out a scream as Kayla runs up behind her and gives her a scare.

“Kayla, cut it out,” Stacey says.

“I’m sorry, but you’re too cute when you’re scared.” Kayla says.

The girls enter the pool house, and are taken aback by the pungent smell of chlorine. The pool house contains a large cement indoor pool that has cracks running down it’s foundation due to the movement of the Earth. The locker room is located past the pool, with white large brick walls lining all of the sections. Kayla pushes Stacey against the wall at the entrance of the locker room, next to the showers.

Stacey laces her fingers in Kayla’s hair, pushing her body onto Kayla. Kayla bites Stacey’s neck and holds Stacey’s hip in her hand. They breathe into each other, letting the world fade away.

Suddenly a splash comes from the pool on the other side of the wall.

“Did you hear that?” Stacey asks.

“All I hear is you.” Kayla mumbles at Stacey’s ear.

“No really, Kayla, I’m scared.”

Kayla comes away from Stacey’s skin to see her eyes. Another splash erupts from the pool. Kayla peaks her head around the wall and sees a woman in the distance. Within moments the woman is standing behind her, and puts her hand on Kayla’s shoulder. Kayla collapses on the ground and begins to convulse.

Kayla’s breath quickens as she’s standing in the corner of the pool house where she first saw the shadowy human.

“What the hell, how did I get here?” Kayla asks.

Mary comes out of the locker room and dives into the pool. After a few laps she floats in the deep end. The merky chlorine stained water holds her body as she lets her mind wander.

“Mary? Is that you? Mary, get out of the pool!” Kayla yells from the side. “Mary! Can you hear me? Mary, please, get out!”

With one scream suddenly Mary is submerged into the water. She feels a dark pressure on her chest as she is drugged to the bottom of the pool. She scratches the darkness in vain, as the water fills her lungs. Finally she rests, it is over. Her body floats to the surface where it is met with Kayla’s scream.

“Kayla, please wake up!” Stacey says through tears.

Kayla wakes suddenly, screaming.

“Oh my God! Ok, it’s ok, I got you.” Stacey says. She helps Kayla off the floor. “What happened?”

“I think I just saw Mary die.” Kayla says.

“What”

“Let’s just get out of here, ok?”

“Yea, let’s go babe.”

They leave the pool house, and Stacey trips on a flower that’s growing from a crack in the walkway. She loses her footing and falls to the grass.

“Are you ok?” Kayla asks.

“Yea, I’m fine, no idea where that stupid flower came from.” Stacey says.

Monday arrives, and tensions are running high at St. Francis. During a free period, Lena, Stacey and Kayla are sitting at a table in the library:

“Wait, you saw her die?” Lena asks.

“Yea, it was like I was there.” Kayla replies.

“What were you guys doing there in the first place?” Lena asks. Kayla and Stacey share a look.

“I just really wanted to check it out, prove that there was nothing to be afraid of.” Kayla says.

“Well that really worked in your favor.” Lena says. “I mean look at the gash on Stacey’s leg, you could’ve really hurt yourself.”

“I wasn’t thinking ok?” Kayla says with tears in her eyes.

“I’m sorry, I’ll lay off, I’m just kind of shaken up myself.” Lena says.

“What’s gotten you spooked?” Stacey asks.

“I over heard a conversation in Sister Judy’s office today, I really don’t I was supposed to hear it, and now I can’t stop thinking about it.” Lena says.

“What happened?” asks Kayla.

“Sister Judy had a man in her office screaming at her.” Lena says. “From what I could make out he had a son who was molested by Father Paul.”

“Are you sure that’s what he said?” Kayla asks.

“He screamed it. It was pretty hard to miss. Worst part is he said that it’s happened before, and told Sister Judy that she’d be punished for hiding them.” Lena says.

“Hiding them? You think she’s been hiding pedophiles this whole time?” Stacey asks.

“I think she has, and she will again.” Lena says.

“I don’t feel safe here anymore.” Stacey says.

“I second that.” Kayla says.

“I third that motion.” Lena says. “Wait, did you say that you tripped over a flower?”

“Yea, why?” Stacey asks.

“Because it’s almost January, there aren’t any flowers in bloom right now.” Lena says.

“I don’t know Lena, maybe it was more like a bush.” Stacey says.

“In the middle of a concrete sidewalk, how?” Lena asks. “I think someone is trying to tell us something.”

“Or maybe you like stories too much.” Kayla says.

“Says the girl who thinks Mary showed you her own death.” Lena says.

“Point taken.” Kayla says.

“I think I know who’s doing this but I have to see what you tripped over.” Lena says.

“I’m not going back there.” Kayla says.

“I don’t want anything else to happen to you, but I also think if Lena can shed some light on the situation, maybe we should try.” Stacey says.

They all exchange glances, taking a moment to acknowledge the situation.

“Fine, but I don’t like it.” Kayla says.

“I know, but we have to try babe.” Stacey says.

“Babe? Ok, we don’t know time right now, but we’re coming back to that one!” Lena says.

The girls leave the library and walk to the pool house. After, what seems like an eternity of Lena examining the red flower with yellow seeds in the center, she stands and looks at Stacey and Kayla. “So this may sound crazy, but I think this all has something to do with Persephone.”

“Who the hell is Persephone?” Kayla asks.

“She’s the wife of Hades, queen of the underworld.” Lena says. “According to Greek mythology she was kidnapped by Hades, but before she was released she ate three pomegranate seeds. Because she ate of the underworld, she had to return there for three months of the year. Even though she gained some freedom, she was forever shackled to the lust of a man.”

“I hear you’re telling my story, young one.” a voice echoes from the forest. The girls scream, turning to see a tall woman with red locks standing in a green floor length gown.

“Persephone?” Lena whispers.

“You are quite smart for your age.” Persephone answers.

“But why? Why kill Mary? I don’t understand.” Lena says.

“You new God and his servants have forsaken purity, and taken advantage of innocence. I saved Mary from this world, but also took the one thing your precious Sister Judy ever truly cared about.” With a stroke of her hand the pool house is caught on fire. “Fire will spread until their sin is wiped away.”

“Girls, this is where you run,” Persephone says.

supernatural
2

About the Creator

Luminosa

Author, poet, story teller✍🏻 Fueled by carbs and sarcasm 🦄

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.