Horror logo

Silence

A Short Story Written By Birithivy Yogaratnam

By Birithivy YogaratnamPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
12

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say.

In space, its quite quiet. As our alien creatures search the galaxies for planets and beings to take over for countless millennia, our life forms travel from one sector of the galaxy to the next, on missions to take over the land and resources that those civilizations had, and also to eliminate the beings from the existence of the universe. Our creatures can't have any competition or other beings living amongst us or along with us. Its only us and only us. We are not like other beings in the universe. Many other beings look and act a certain way. Our creatures adapt. That's why we have been able to be hidden from the eyes of other beings in other universes. Our body structures changed through the course of history. There were moments in history where we were super short, and then shot up in height. Then there was a good time frame where we were super fast and super strong. But now we realized that all those qualities pale in comparison to the most important quality: silence. Because silence works wonders on the psyche of the enemy. It drives event the most sane, insane.

We do like to toy with the other beings from other planets and galaxies though. Sometimes we go and stamp where we have visited. I remember we watched on the broadcasts of a certain civilization in a nearby galaxy panicking when we had left some stamps in what they call "crop fields." We would laugh as the people panicked and shocked to see these stamps, which they called "crop circles," in their area. They acted as though it was a phenomenon. Little did they know that it was just another day for us, leaving a mark just for the fun of it.

We were approaching this planet that was interesting though. It reminded us of those other planets with the same "crop fields," but this one was different. This planet was in a spiral galaxy, and while we were overlooking it and listening to their conversations and visual transmissions, we noticed they kept referring to it as the "Milky Way." Strange, we all thought. But this planet was the most volatile of the planets we had any sort of contact with. We had visited from time to time a few centuries ago, and even lent a hand in the creation of some of the creations on that planet (we were extremely bored at the time). Again, it was hilarious to see that they viewed these simple creations as "wonders of the world." It was simple work for us, heck, it felt like a hobby. We also treated this planet as almost like what they refer to there as an "ant farm." We watched and observed, and noticed that they were creating some really interesting things over time. It took them a while, but it still astonished us that they were able to make the things that they did from just a little nudge of help from us. But we realized that us toying and letting them progress was detrimental for our future. Because you see, they began to look upwards more, and not forward.

So we decided, that was going to be the next place we take over and settle into. But first, we wanted to give them a heads up, because in comparison to other species in other realms of the universe, these beings seemed fit and willing to go to war. In fact, it felt like a necessity and an addiction to them to go to combat. We looked at their history and saw that they were having conflicts amongst themselves, which baffled us. Why have fights within, when you can have without? Whatever their reasons were, we wanted to shock them, and get them ready for the incoming battle. We looked at their planet and realized that there was one thing that could help send the message of incoming battle: a spaceship that revolved around their planet on a continuous basis. For our creatures, we thought to ourselves: what a waste of resources. You can do all that work from the surface of your planet. But to each their own. Whatever makes the people happy.

I got into my pod that was about to be shot towards the spaceship. This was a solo duty, which I liked. Sometimes you can't put your mark on a mission unless you go solo. And judging from the last time we had any sort of contact with these beings, it was going to be a super easy duty for myself. I gave the heads up for my fellow creatures to shoot me towards the ship. Flying in space in the pod was one of the biggest joys I can possess. Space was quiet and vast, and also just so enveloping of its emptiness. I flew towards that ship, seeing it get closer, and seeing the planet behind it get even closer to. I could see lights shining from the surface, as the shadow encompassed the side of the planet. Very interesting in my opinion. Almost made it a shame that we were about to take over. As my pod approached the ship, I activated the system to help it dock onto the ship. I could see one of the beings looking from one of the windows on the ship. I laughed in my mind as I saw a face of fear on the being. My pod connected to the entry bay of the ship, as I prepared for battle. Before we went into battle, we did a little meditation that helped calmed our senses and vitals to optimal levels.

And then, the bay doors opened. I stepped into the ship with ease. I noticed the beings floating and staring at me petrified. They were probably thinking: how is this thing not floating? Well, this is why our creatures were able to live and survives for millennia. We adapt. Gravity was going to be no issue for me. I quickly shut down the lighting system on the ship, causing the whole ship to go into pitch black darkness. I could hear the screams of the beings, begging for help and frantically trying to do something. But nothing was going to save them now. Its too late. I moved forward as I caught one of the beings in my peripheral. I grabbed the head of the being and began to bash it into the wall of the ship. Slowly, but surely, the being passed on. As the being lost its life, I continued to move forward. Can't let anyone survive, except for the one that will send a message back to the planet. Another being was up ahead, but they hilariously tried to hide. Sometimes, its hilarious when something tries its best to survive when they know there is no hope. Should I let the thing live? Nope. I watched as the being tried to scream, but their voice could not muster a sound. All that I could hear was a quiet sense of dread. Sad to see, but what to do. It comes with the territory we creatures seek to gain. I quickly disposed of the being, with a strange maroonish liquid floating from it from a wound on its neck.

I proceeded to the main area, where one of the beings was stationed, holding some sort of weapon to defend it self. That's cute, I thought. I began to emit a frequency that caused the being to cover its ears and scream in pain. Then, telepathically, I sent the message that I wanted the being to send back to earth. Through the pain, I could tell that the being was confused and scared. They weren't able to understand as to how I was able to communicate with them without saying a word. I didn't have to, because I was letting my actions speak for themselves. As I finished telling the being what to do, I watched as the being frantically tried to send a visual communication back to the planet. On the screen in front of them, I saw a group of beings looking back, confused and worried as to what was going on. Now, it was my time. I pushed the being to the side, hard enough that the being crashed through the ship's wall, and flinging the being into the vacuum of space.

As debris were flinging into the vacuum of space from the ship, I stood in that ship staring at the visual communication, giving those other beings a clear and definite look at what was to come. As the other beings that I didn't get to yet were flung to space as well, I noticed they all just seemingly give up and almost accept their fates. They were sucked into the darkness of space, freezing to death and becoming just another piece of space debris. They couldn't make a sound, and even if they tried, it would be to no avail. I relished in my success and watched as the visual communication went slowly dead. The last images I saw were faces and shouts of terror. All I could do as a response was smile, or what other beings would consider as a smile.

I was now floating in space, as I pushed myself to float towards the pod that was still connected to the remnants of the entry bay. Getting back in, I flew back to my home ship, ready to give news and to see the panic my appearance might have made on the planet. It was another successful mission, but one that I and my other creatures knew was far from over. But the age old saying was true as I witnessed it for the millionth time just now: nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space. Or so they say.

fiction
12

About the Creator

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Ned jaya 2 years ago

    Great Concept ! Looking forward to more from you !

  • Sub2 years ago

    Great short story! Had me entertained the whole time!

  • Loved the story. Super creative and interesting concept! Hope you win bro! 🙌🏾

  • good story:)

  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Fantastic idea. Great premise. Very creative and enjoyable. Keep up the good work.

  • Diro Deva2 years ago

    Great story! Loved the concept!

  • Taj G2 years ago

    Really love the originality. An interesting concept and a really good cliff hanger to the story. Leaves you wanting to know what will happen next.

  • Ary Roberto 2 years ago

    I hope you win, broski!

  • kid2 years ago

    Interesting concept. Overall a good short story. Worth the read

  • Michael Burns2 years ago

    Good story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.