Horror logo

Shadowed Pursuit

A Twisted Encounter on the Night Streets

By Briona WhiteheadPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Like

The night air was thick with an eerie stillness as I stood on the corner of the dimly lit neighborhood block, waiting for Stephanie. My heart thudded in my chest, a mix of anticipation and unease swirling within me. The glow of the streetlights cast long, menacing shadows, and a chill wind whispered through the empty streets, sending shivers down my spine.

As the minutes ticked by, my anxiety grew, mingling with the anticipation of meeting Stephanie. I checked my phone nervously, the screen illuminating my face in the darkness. The Hinge app displayed our conversation, a thread of excitement woven with uncertainty.

Suddenly, a car turned down the street, its headlights cutting through the darkness like twin beams of light. My pulse quickened as the vehicle approached, but my excitement soured into dread when it came to a stop in front of me. The window rolled down, revealing not Stephanie, but a stranger – an old man with a disconcerting glint in his eye.

"What are you doing alone out here?" His voice was gruff, sending a chill down my spine. I hesitated, unsure how to respond to this unexpected encounter.

Summoning my courage, I explained that I was waiting for someone – Stephanie. The old man's response sent alarm bells ringing in my head. He claimed to be Stephanie's father, but something about his demeanor didn't sit right with me. His eyes darted around nervously, and I couldn't shake the feeling that he was hiding something.

"Why didn't you tell me you'd be picking me up?" I demanded, my voice trembling with a mixture of fear and suspicion. The old man's reply only deepened my sense of unease. He muttered something about not trusting strangers, but his words felt hollow, like a poorly rehearsed script.

Without waiting for his response, I turned and began to walk away, my heart pounding in my chest. Behind me, I could hear the old man's voice growing louder, calling out to me in a desperate plea. But I refused to look back, my instincts screaming at me to get as far away as possible.

As I reached the intersection, I dared to steal a glance over my shoulder, half expecting to see the old man in hot pursuit. But to my relief, the street behind me was empty, bathed in the soft glow of the streetlights.

Breathing a sigh of relief, I quickened my pace, eager to put as much distance between myself and that unsettling encounter as possible. But just as I reached the safety of my dorm building, a sense of foreboding washed over me like a wave.

I felt eyes boring into the back of my skull, and a chill ran down my spine as I realized I was being followed. Panic surged through me as I ducked behind a nearby van, my heart pounding in my ears.

For a moment, I crouched in the darkness, listening intently for any sign of my pursuer. And then, I heard it – the sound of footsteps, slow and deliberate, drawing closer with each passing second.

With a sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach, I realized that I had been found. The old man was closing in on me, his intentions unknown but undoubtedly sinister.

Without hesitation, I broke into a run, the pounding of my footsteps echoing in the empty street. I raced towards the safety of my dorm room, each step fueled by sheer terror.

Finally, I reached the sanctuary of my room, my chest heaving as I slammed the door shut behind me. But even as I collapsed onto my bed, a sense of unease lingered, a nagging fear that the nightmare was far from over.

And then, as I lay there, trying to calm my racing heart, a message flashed on my phone – a chilling reminder of the danger that lurked just beyond my door.

psychologicalsupernaturalslashermonsterfictionCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Briona Whitehead

Hi, I'm Briona Whitehead, a storyteller who specializes in crafting gripping tales of suspense and mystery. Get ready for an unforgettable adventure that will leave you captivated from start to finish.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.