Horror logo

Shadow City

By: InkMouse

By V-Ink StoriesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Shadow City
Photo by Ali Arif Soydaş on Unsplash

Day 63.

I can't sleep, the light from the sun is too bright today. I've been wondering these plains for weeks, maybe months now. I've lost track of time for a while everything is starting to run together. Food is getting scarce, I killed another field rat last night for food. I've been staying outside, my backpack and clothes have been shredded by the wind and rocks. My skin is flaking away and most days I can hardly walk due to my feet being too sunburned. I don't know where I'm going, I told myself I was headed west but I have to be deluding myself. Sun kills, flies kill, I will never reach that city.

Day 72.

There is no more water, I drank all of what was left last night I have to find another source soon. Have to keep heading west to find more, there's nothing back there I have to keep moving forward.

Day 77.

Still haven't found anything. Have another tent, not sure where it came from. The skin of my feet cracked, peeling from constant walking. I kept going west and never came back this is where I am now. there are footprints around here... They aren't animals or humans. It's one of those things, one of those shadows, can't stop here gotta keep going west. I have to find water soon.

Day 91.

Found more water, I drank it as fast as I could, It was only a small amount from an abandoned well, but I'll take what I can get. I drank what I could and put the rest in my two water bottles. The layer of dead skin rubbing off on my hands started stinging along with another sharp pain in my stomach. I've been going for days now, lonely and hungry. It can't be long now the city should be close... I hope I find someone soon.

Day 100.

I found the outer city walls, I can sense them through the buildings. I know they are there I don't know exactly where but they are ahead of me somewhere. Those footprints are back and there's more of them. I hope those monsters aren't here, the sun is going down and I can hear them in the distance. Amy watch over me as I sleep for I fear I may be joining you.

Day 101

They came... the monsters, they came for me in the night. I fought as best as I could, but one of them got me... I haven't stopped bleeding. I got clawed in the stomach, it wasn't deep but it was enough to do damage. The wound is keeping me going, but I may not survive long. I can't sleep, I'm afraid I'll see them again if I do. I've been running but I'm afraid I may not live past dawn. Amy, I'm clutching the silver locket you gave me... I miss you so much... I must press on I must fight if I'm to survive...

Day 103

I have been inside these walls for 3 days. There are no people around as I can see, but there was one of those monsters' bodies... I gave into my hunger. I needed to eat, I had no choice... it was putrid and rotten with the sickeningly sweet smell of death. I vomited but tried to keep as much of it as I could down. The wound in my stomach flared up, I was in pain, but I had to keep going. I'm alive, but the sun is starting to set. I'm not sure how much longer I'll last.

Day 104

I'm still alive. I found the remains of the city's hospital. there was food, meds, a bed to rest... things I haven't had in a long time. Tomorrow I will explore to see if I can find anyone.

Day 105

I wish I could eat more I'm so hungry. I'm going to see if I can find anyone tomorrow. Amy, I'm sorry if I couldn't reach you I didn't know what was wrong with me. Please guide me...

Day 108

I found him. That Adam, he's the one I've been writing about. He's alive, he's sleeping in a bed in the hospital but he's alive, but he's very sick, he's not awake. The people here are keeping me calm and protected from the sun. they don't know I can see what is happening outside the walls, they can't see the horrors they reap. They don't know I can hear their screams. I will try my best to take care of him, he is tired, all alone. I will stay by his side, even if it kills me.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

V-Ink Stories

Welcome to my page where the shadows follow you and nightmares become real, but don't worry they're just stories... right?

follow me on Facebook @Veronica Stanley(Ink Mouse) or Twitter @VeronicaYStanl1 to stay in the loop of new stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.