Horror logo

Series: Riddled

What am I? (1)

By M. J.SPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photograph isn't mine, it has been taken from the TV Show Teen Wolf. The Nogitsune is the inspiration behind the creature in my short story.

The moon was high and hidden beneath black clouds. I stood at the foot of the long corridor dominated by tall, wet trees and broad lampposts, as if guards, placed ten feet exactly apart. I took a brave step forward and froze at the, only heard by me, rustle in the dark corner of bushes far to my right. Another step and the rustle was no longer a simple rustle but a violent hiss to my ears. This is not my territory. I shouldn’t be here. I have to leave, now. The doubt in my head spoke loud. A sudden burst of courage punched me in the gut making me feel sick at my sudden vulnerable state. It took over my legs and dragged me further ahead. The further I walked the further the end moved, so I began to run. No use. The faster I ran, the further it moved. I felt like a lovesick fool running towards my lover, without a second thought.

“Everyone has it, but no one can lose it,” a deep voice hissed into the thick air. I was dumbfounded. Who is the source of this voice?

“What am I?” the voice sounded closer.

I didn’t speak. My throat closed up making it hard to even swallow, so I ran. I ran for my dear life, earning a spine chilling chuckle from the source. Running towards the end was useless, so I made a turn, but something stopped me. At the edge of the pass there was, as if, an invisible burier guarding the path so no one can get in, or get out. I’m stuck here.

“Everyone has it,” he was close, too close;

“But no one can lose it,” his voice grew louder and I could still hear his heavy breathing, making the air more tensed, my steps became faster running towards the end which in reality is running from me.

All off a sudden everything fell silent. Before my eyes could comprehend any movement, a bandaged face approximately five yards away from me, blind from the bandages and covered in blood the body began to move forward. Its target? Me. In impossible seconds his face was right in front of mine and I could smell burning flesh. I didn’t dare look up. He grabbed my arms painfully bringing tears into my eyes, and lifting me to eye level with him.

“Everyone has it,

But no one can lose it,

What am I?”

He screamed at me, and I could feel specks of blood, or maybe spit on my face, through shut eyes.

“A shadow,” I croaked out.

I peeled my eyes open ever so slightly, just enough to see his murderous, satisfied grin.

He let go and I dropped to the concrete floor, hearing a nasty crunching sound from my body as I landed. A desperate sob left my throat before it took over my body ‘till I was shaking with sobs. After a while which seemed like years, I managed to lift myself up from the ground, hissing at the pain on the left side of my body, and began to limp towards the end, and this time, it stayed put.

~Upon close inspection, I think the TV Show Teen Wolf had been a huge influence on this. This work had been written approximately one year ago. I wrote this in my mock exam. ~

monster
Like

About the Creator

M. J.S

A fellow human, with a crazy imagination that I try very hard to convert into words, phrases, sentences and paragraphs. My mind is dark and soul even darker, heart cold and eyes even colder. I won't mind if you over stay your welcome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.