Horror logo

Ruthless

By Karianne Gabaldon

By Karianne GabaldonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Ruthless
Photo by Sammy Williams on Unsplash

Jaslene was a naïve young woman. She’d open the door for any stranger.

Jaslene hears a knock on her door and opens it. It was an innocent man that wished for water; he was wearing an army-green rain jacket and matching boots. He had grayish hair with silver-blue eyes, puffy lips, and great bone structure. He was very peculiar though he didn’t look bad for a man in his late 50’s.

“Come on in. The weather is terrible,” Jaslene spoke.

“Thanks. My name is Edison.”

“Jaslene.”

“It’s a pleasure to meet you, Jaslene.”

“You too, Edison.”

“This is a nice house, Jaslene. I’ve always imagined myself inside of it. Just by looking in the outside of the common room windows, I can feel the comfort.”

“Yeah,” Jaslene slightly chuckled, “how about that water?”

“Yes, thank you.”

“Come to the kitchen with me,” said Jaslene.

“Sure thing.”

After fifteen minutes of casual small talk, Edison had finally finished his glass of purified water from the tap. Jaslene had hoped he was going to leave. But instead, Edison stayed awhile longer.

Several Hours Later…

“Edison, hey. I think it’s time to go.” Jaslene awoke Edison from his couch slumber.

“Huh?” Edison yawned.

She noticed his rain boots and blue and white striped tube socks on the floor in the living room.

“Comfortable much?”

“Yeah, um, sorry. Think I’ll be going now.”

“Yeah, I think it’s for the best. But it was fun hanging out with you.”

“You too!” Edison smiled while putting his socks and boots back on.

“Okay, so we can call for an Uber for you. Hold on, let me open up my phone browser.”

“Yeah, I don’t think so!” He jumped off from the sofa and held a gun pointed towards Jaslene’s left pressure point on her head.

“What are you-“

“Shut the fuck up and do what I say if you want to live.”

“Mhm,” she complied, scared for her life.

“I heard a rumor that you had a safe room. Where is it?”

“I can’t tell you-“

He dug his colt 45 He shoved his colt 45 pistol deeper into her skull.

“Oh, you have no choice, sweetheart!”

“Okay, okay! It’s upstairs. I’ll take you there.”

He held the gun to her head the entire walk upstairs.

“Here; here it is.”

“Nice! This is nice. So this is like your hangout? I see many beanbags and posters! Oh, nice, you have books too.”

“Yeah,” Jaslene said nervously.

“Okay, sit down.”

“What?”

“You heard me, sit the fuck down!”

“Okay, but my parents will be here any minute so be careful.”

“Don’t tell me what to do!”

Edison looked around for something to keep her captive for the time being.

“I’ve got it!” Edison exclaimed as he found Jaslene’s sister’s gold Valedictorian rope and an old hanky. He tied her arms up with the rope then put the hanky in her mouth.

“That’ll shut you up for now. Then once your folks leave, if they do, we’ll check that safe of yours!”

When her parents left again, Jaslene lead Edison to the safe.

“Um… the code?”

“246437.”

“Wow! Great code, very safe.”

He opens the safe and takes the money.

“Twenty-seven thousand dollars, sweet!”

“Okay, Edison, I think you should go now. You got what you wanted, yeah?”

“Don’t tell me what to fucking do!” Edison yelled as he shot Jaslene in the chest.

“What do you want from me!?” she screamed.

“Nothing. Nothing now. You’re fucking useless. Now get in your hands and knees, tuck your head inside your shoulders.”

“I can’t. I won’t.”

“Are you really telling me off, stupid whore?”

“Yes, I am. I won’t listen to you.”

“Okay, you want to play? We’ll have some fun. Let’s do it your way.”

He then shot Jaslene in the head this time and blew her brains out. Never trust a stranger no matter how hot they are.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Karianne Gabaldon

Hi, my name is Karianne Gabaldon. I am a published author from Hugo, OK. Writing is my passion and I won’t stop writing until I’m dead in the ground.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.