Horror logo

Revenge

Written by Andrew Cole Hyde & Art by Stephen Gilbert

By Fabricating FictionPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I had searched for him nearly half of my life. The monster that destroyed my village and my family. I was away on a quest for the king that I succeeded in, though with great difficulty. The King had been attacked and his father killed in combat. He sent me to take his revenge and I did with skill. On my way home I imagined seeing my wife and daughter standing in front of our house at the village edge. I fantasized as to their smiles and beeming faces mirroring my own. Instead I arrived back at my home greeted with ash and collapsed buildings. Not even the bones of my loved ones could be found for  burial. 

A lone survivor described a scaled creature of enormous size. I now knew my enemy and where to direct my rage. I rode north following the stories and eye witness testimonies. Each the same. Large, scales, and fire that consumed all. I finally caught up to him in the far north mountains of our quiet kingdom. I waited for him to sleep as he was too large to attack directly. His eyes shut and I waited hours until his breath had slowed. During that time I noticed that his skin was not scaled but rocky in appearance. Difficult to discern while under fire. It was then that I approached barefoot so that my metallic boots could not clank awake my prey. Almost to his neck I jerked my foot away from the rocks as his breathe chilled the very ground to ice. I hesitated no longer and pulled back my heavy ax then chopped into it's neck with violent pressure. It awoke but my first blow was precise. I had felt for it's pulse and opened it to the outside air. I quickly swung again this time tearing as much of it's throat out that I could. Pieces of flesh flew everywhere including on my own face but I did not care. I would enact justice. It staggered quickly to it's feet and with one flap of its wings rose off the ground flinging me backwards off my feet. However it was too late and it immediately fell to the ground gurgling it's last animal sounds. I marched to it's side and chopped for another ten minutes before it's flesh finally released the head from its shoulders. I had accomplished my mission of revenge.

I cried at his side afterwards as I now had only my loss to feel. The loss of my Monica and little Lilly. Suddenly another giant creature flew over head. It had scales, and flames of fire exiting its mouth with every huff. It was nearly identical in every way to the other one accept it had scales rather than stones for skin. I noticed on it's side frozen claw marks.  It winced with every flap of its wings and cried out a shrill that pierced my ears. It was obviously old and had existed for decades. It lived during my life time, my father's and my grandfather's as my home was passed down to me in our little village. Yet, none of us had ever seen it accept for my Monica and Lilly once. The reason being because it's natural predator kept it away. It's natural predator that I just killed. I am a fool. I have killed my true enemies only threat.

 It flies towards the castle and the king now. If you find this scroll, please pray for me. Pray I can one day be forgiven for allowing revenge to blind me to the truth. For now, I am the monster another man should seek to take revenge.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Fabricating Fiction

37, Married, and I live in Charlotte NC. I love writing and I do it often. You will see what I mean in a moment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.