Horror logo

Resurrection Day

Unholy Communion

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 4 months ago 4 min read

The Carver House loomed, a skeletal giant against the dawn. A hundred years of neglect had clawed at its once-grand facade, turning the gingerbread trim to dust and the windows into milky voids. My inheritance, they called it. More like a looming curse. Yet, on that crisp Easter morning, the house stirred.

It began subtly. A groan, like rusted hinges protesting, traveled up the floorboards. I chalked it up to settling. But then came the clinking of unseen bells, echoing from the dusty attic. Peeking up the staircase, I saw a faint, spectral light dance in the gloom. My breath caught.

Downstairs, in the cavernous living room, the air crackled with an unseen energy. The dust motes danced in a frenzy, swirling into grotesque shapes. A low, mournful moan resonated through the room, followed by a disembodied whisper, "Help us..."

Panic gnawed at me. Easter egg hunts were the furthest thing from my mind. I fumbled for my phone, but it was it flickered on and off. Great. Trapped in a haunted house with a possessed phone.

Suddenly, the house itself seemed to shudder. Walls creaked, and the floorboards groaned in protest. An immense crack snaked across the ceiling, showering dust like a macabre snowfall. Then, a booming voice, archaic and filled with rage, echoed through the house. "Free us!"

The house wasn't just haunted, it was a prison. I had to get out. But as I bolted for the front door, another tremor slammed it shut. The windows, once milky, now seemed to peer at me with glowing red orbs. The house was alive, its rage tangible.

From the attic, the spectral light intensified, coalescing into a swirling vortex. Ghostly figures materialized within it, their skeletal forms adorned in tattered Easter finery. Their faces, twisted in eternal anguish, held a chilling familiarity. The Carvers. The family who mysteriously disappeared a century ago.

Understanding dawned, cold and horrifying. Their Easter celebration had been poisoned, trapping their souls within the very walls that had failed to protect them. And Easter morning, imbued with the joy of life, had awakened their torment.

Terror propelled me up the stairs, the spectral figures trailing behind, their cries echoing in the dusty halls. I slammed into the attic door, desperate to escape the vortex's pull. It held, for now. Below, the house continued to writhe, its groans and moans turning into a horrifying symphony of fury.

As dawn bled into morning, a sick feeling sank in my gut. The house wouldn't be contained forever. It would awaken every Easter morning, a festering wound on the land, a monument to a forgotten tragedy. The curse was mine now, lodged in the heart of this monstrous house. And the only way to break it might just lie buried with the Carvers' forgotten bones.

Armed with a rusty crowbar, I braced myself. The attic door rattled, the spectral figures pressing against it. I knew the only way to break the curse was to find the remnants of the Carver family and perform a proper burial. But venturing further into this house, now actively malevolent, felt like a suicide mission.

Taking a shaky breath, I pushed open the door a crack. The spectral figures surged forward, their skeletal figures somehow emitting a ghastly, bone-chilling cold. I slammed the door shut, the warped wood straining under their onslaught. Panic hammered in my chest. There had to be another way.

Suddenly, a memory surfaced. As a child, exploring the forbidden house with neighborhood kids, I'd stumbled across a hidden passage behind a bookshelf in the library. Desperate, I sprinted downstairs, the floorboards groaning under my weight. The house seemed to snarl behind me, the spectral figures' moans warping into a chorus of screams.

I reached the library, heart pounding a frantic rhythm. Yanking at the bookshelves, desperate fingers brushed against leather spines. Relief flooded me when a hidden doorway clicked open. The passage plunged into darkness, the scent of damp earth and decay thick in the air.

With only the flickering light of my phone for guidance, I stumbled down the uneven steps. The air grew heavy, the screams of the spectral figures echoing faintly through the stone walls. The tunnel opened into a small chamber, a single lantern hanging from a dusty rafter. In the center, four crude pine coffins lay undisturbed.

My blood ran cold. The Carvers hadn't been buried. Had their killer hidden them here? A prickle of unseen eyes on my back made me spin around. Nothing, yet the air crackled with a malevolent energy.

Then, a bloodcurdling screech tore through the chamber. The shadows in the corner coalesced into a grotesque figure, its form a twisted amalgamation of the spectral Carvers, their faces contorted in an unspeakable rage.

This wasn't just a curse; it was a malevolent entity feeding on their suffering. The house, the Easter celebration, it was all a twisted ritual to empower this monstrosity.

My phone sputtered and died, plunging me into darkness. Terror choked my scream. The entity lunged, claws outstretched, hunger gleaming in its hollow eyes. I backed away, my hand brushing against one of the coffins. A desperate idea sparked in my mind.

With a burst of adrenaline, I threw all my weight against the decaying wood. The coffin lid creaked open, revealing the skeletal remains of Mr. Carver. As the entity descended, I thrust the broken lid into its path.

There was a blinding flash of light, a deafening shriek, and the floor shuddered. When the dust settled, the chamber was silent. The Carvers' coffins, miraculously, were all intact. Had I… succeeded?

Relief battled with dread. I fumbled for the exit, my mind racing. Even if I escaped, how would I know it was over? Leaving the house behind, I turned back one last time. The Carver House stood bathed in the morning light, eerily silent.

But as I walked away, a faint, chilling whisper drifted on the breeze, "Thank you... but it's not over." The house may have fallen silent, but the curse, I feared, had just begun to twist and mutate within its decaying walls, waiting for the next Easter sunrise.

supernaturalpsychologicalfiction

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rebecca Lynn IveyWritten by Rebecca Lynn Ivey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.