Horror logo

Repetition

Alien light

By jessica dordenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Repetition
Photo by Wengang Zhai on Unsplash

Lights, it always began with lights. Laying in my own bed I waited heart racing in preparation for what would surely be coming once again. I am never truly alone and never truly free. Freedom means nothing to me anymore as I have only one choice, to wait and accept. A green cast slowly builds as orbs of green light pulse and throb as they enter my prison. Feeling my body tighten and go stiff as the light fell upon me. Trapped, unable to move as they neared, I felt my heart race faster. After all this time I should have been used to it but I wasn’t. Unable to look away the green light filled my vision and it tried to lull me into a trance. Unlike the others I had seen previously, prisoners like me, I was unable to fall into the trance. I suffered through the experience. Tingles along my body turned into pinpricks, pinpricks turned into feelings of needles stabbing into me. Whatever these things were did no lasting harm to my body but each experience left my mind grasping tight to sanity.

The stabbing feeling continued for what felt like ages but as I had no sense of time anymore it could have been mere minutes. The stabbing stoped with the feeling of something entering my body and I could only cry out in silence. Blessedly the green light that had encompassed me was slowly fading into black, as my mind finally gave up, and I slipped into unconsciousness.

Waking on the old bed in a dusty room I sat up with a half yell. Waking after the experience left me scarred and feeling more alone than ever. Standing was a struggle and I stumbled to the bathroom. The need to pee was strong as whatever they put into me always left me with a bladder that felt full and once done I washed my hands and face before finally taking what little strength and fortitude I had left in me, lifted my gaze from the sink to the mirror. Tears welled up as the sight before I had changed once more. My eyes glowed green with an inner light and my veins were slowly beginning to appear green. After every visit, there was a small change and lately, the changes were becoming stronger and I didn’t know what would happen next.

Stumbling back to the bed I sat, head hanging. Thinking on the last prisoner to share my decrepit cell I could only remember the green glow appearing before they had disappeared overnight. Laying back I slipped into true sleep riddled with nightmares and green lights as I questioned if the orbs would be back to repeat the torture or if I too would disappear. My body woke me with a deep and gnawing hunger. I blinked sleep clear from my eyes and mind as I sat up, looking around my room for any substance to eat. To fill the emptiness that was suddenly in me. Throughout my life, I had never been this famished.

A noise from the door surprises me and I whipped my head around to search for what had made the noise. A tray of something had been slid into the room and hurried to it. The mass of meat appeared half raw and bleeding and as my subconscious fought my body grabbed the food and began to rip into it. Nothing could stop me nothing could stop the hunger. No will and no way to stop whatever was happening my mind once more retreated.

Lights, it always began with lights...

psychological
1

About the Creator

jessica dorden

Jessica is 29 years old and originally from Georgia, raised in Florida, and now living in Maryland. She started writing three years ago and with the help of her mother and my best friend, who kept pushing her to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.