Horror logo

Remember

Never forget yourself

By Lucy TorralbaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

"Ever...Ever...Ever! Where are you?!" I can hear a woman's voice calling my name, she's scared. For herself or for me I don't know yet. Everything is pitch black, I couldn't even see my hand reach my face. Nearly poked my eye in the process of feeling the warm liquid on my temple. Unsure what was on the tips my fingers, yet having a feeling it may be blood. There's a smell of iron is in the air all around me. I take a step forward, "squish" is the sound my boots make against the floor. Wherever I am and currently was is still pitch black, with no light switch on the walls.

The smell of iron is only getting stronger with every step I take. The sound of my boots hitting the floor was starting to get worse. I could feel all my senses adjusting to the darkness around me, my vision started to get better. I could just make out a corner to my right which I take not knowing where it'll lead me.

After taking that turn I can just make out a door about a yard or so away from me. There's a bit of light leaking from the edges of it, still unsure of what's behind the door I pick up my pace to get closer. Once I'm about an elbows length away I reach my hand out to turn the knob. The door swings open by a strong gush of wind, almost hits me in the process. The light was so blinding I had to close my eyes from just being opening it.

The cold surprises me, it must either be fall or winter. I can feel the freshness of the air filling my lungs with the first few breathes I take. My sense of smell picks up the morning dew on the grass, it could've rained recently I wasn't too sure about that. It's a smell I've always loved since I was a young man.

Memories of when I was running outside after a night of rain filled my mind. I could feel my lips starting to curve upwards into a small nostalgic smile with my eyes still closed. After taking another deep breathe I finally open my eyes to see the grass has crystalized droplets of rain and everywhere else there was snow. From what I could see of my surroundings I'm in the middle of a forest. My body started to shiver ever so slightly, the wind had been blowing from the left.

I look at my choice of clothing and ask myself, "Why am I wearing this?" My shirt was black and short sleeved, black cargo pants, with black boots. After a quick shrug along with another deep breathe I take my first step outside. From what I can see of my surroundings the trees must be old due to the thickness of their trunks. After taking a few steps into the night I notice that the light I saw was on top of the door. The moon was high in the sky it must've been after midnight, or so my instincts told me. Explains why being outside feels so cold right now.

Standing at the edge of the forest, watching the trees sway gently back and forth. Observing the snow on the side of the trees that are facing the thicker darker part of the woods ahead of me. A little fact comes creeping into my mind about moss on trees, "it only grows on the north side." A memory of my father's voice tells me that while I touch the bark.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Torralba

Just a writer at heart trying to tell some stories of my own. Currently working on one main story, will update whenever I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.