Horror logo

Reflections of Terror: The Haunted Mirror

When an Alternate Reality Bleeds into Our World

By Mark MarandiPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I stared at the glass in front of me, a sense of unease creeping up my spine. I couldn't quite place my finger on what was different about the reflection, but something was off.

As I continued to gaze into the mirror, I noticed the background changing. The room behind me was no longer the familiar setting of my bedroom. Instead, it was a dark and ominous place with dimly lit candles casting flickering shadows against the walls. The air was thick and oppressive, making it hard for me to breathe.

As I watched, a figure slowly materialized in the mirror's reflection. It was a woman, dressed in a long white gown, with her hair cascading down her back in loose waves. She was staring directly at me, her expression cold and unyielding.

I tried to look away, but something kept drawing me back to the mirror. It was like a magnetic force was pulling me in, compelling me to keep staring at the haunting reflection.

Suddenly, the woman in the mirror started to move. Her lips parted, and she whispered something that I couldn't quite make out. I leaned in closer, straining to hear what she was saying.

That's when it happened.

The mirror shattered into a million pieces, the shards flying in all directions. I stumbled back, barely managing to avoid being hit by the flying debris.

When I looked up, I saw that the woman from the mirror had stepped out into my bedroom. She was no longer just a reflection but a flesh-and-blood person, standing there, staring at me with a look of malevolence in her eyes.

I tried to scream, but no sound came out of my mouth. It was like the air had been sucked out of the room, leaving me gasping for breath. The woman started to move towards me, her steps slow and deliberate.

As she got closer, I could see that her skin was grey and sickly, and her eyes were a deep shade of red. She was like something out of a nightmare, a creature straight from the bowels of hell.

I stumbled backwards, trying to put as much distance between us as possible. But the woman was relentless, her eyes locked onto mine as she continued to move closer and closer.

That's when I saw it.

The mirror had reformed itself, and it was showing a different version of my bedroom. In this version, everything was bathed in an eerie red light, and the woman from the mirror was standing in the middle of the room, staring at me with the same malevolent gaze.

I realized then that the mirror was a gateway to an alternate reality, a place where the rules of the world were different, and the things that lurked in the shadows were all too real.

As I watched, the woman from the mirror stepped through the glass and into my world. And with her came a host of other creatures, all twisted and malformed, their eyes filled with a burning hatred that sent shivers down my spine.

I knew then that I had to do something, anything to stop them from taking over my world. But how do you fight creatures that exist in a different reality, a place where the rules of the world are different?

I had no idea, but I knew that I had to try.

With a deep breath, I stepped forward, facing the creatures head-on. They hissed and snarled, their claws slashing through the air, but I stood my ground, refusing to back down.

Slowly but surely, I began to gain the upper hand. The creatures started to falter, their movements becoming more sluggish and uncoordinated. And then, just as suddenly as they had appeared, they started to fade away, their forms dissolving into.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.