Horror logo

Reflections of Terror

The Haunted Mirror That Took on a Life of Its Own

By koustav banerjeePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was my first day in my new apartment, and I had just finished unpacking all my things. I walked into the bedroom and caught sight of myself in the mirror. But the person staring back at me wasn't me.

At first, I thought my mind was playing tricks on me. Maybe it was the lighting or the angle of the mirror. But as I moved closer, I could see that the reflection was twisted and distorted, with eyes that seemed to glow with an otherworldly light. It was like looking at a stranger, and yet, I couldn't look away. There was something about the reflection that drew me in, something that I couldn't quite put my finger on.

As the days went by, I couldn't shake the feeling that something was off about that mirror. Strange things started happening around the apartment, things that I couldn't explain. Objects would move on their own, and I would hear strange noises coming from the mirror, even when I was alone.

One night, I woke up to find the mirror glowing in the darkness. The reflection was no longer twisted and distorted, but instead, it was clear and sharp. And yet, there was still something off about it, something that made my blood run cold.

As I watched, the reflection began to move on its own. It stepped out of the mirror, and I could see now that it was no longer just a reflection. It was a full-bodied apparition, a ghostly figure that seemed to be made entirely out of shadow.

The ghostly figure approached me, its eyes fixed on mine. I tried to scream, but no sound escaped my lips. I was paralyzed with fear, unable to move or even breathe.

And then, just as suddenly as it had appeared, the ghostly figure disappeared back into the mirror. I was left alone in the darkness, trembling and shaking with fear.

Over the next few days, I tried to convince myself that it was just my imagination. But the haunting was too real, too terrifying to ignore. I could feel the presence of the ghostly figure around me at all times, even when I wasn't looking in the mirror.

I started doing research on the history of the apartment, hoping to find some explanation for the haunting. It wasn't long before I discovered that the previous tenant had died in the apartment, under mysterious circumstances. No one knew exactly what had happened, but there were rumors of a cursed mirror that had been in the apartment for years.

The more I learned about the history of the mirror, the more convinced I became that it was the source of the haunting. I knew I had to get rid of it, but I didn't know how. I couldn't just throw it away or give it to someone else. The mirror was cursed, and I didn't want to pass that curse onto someone else.

One day, I received a message from an antique dealer. He had heard about the mirror and was interested in buying it from me. I was hesitant at first, but I knew I had to get rid of it. I agreed to meet with him and sell him the mirror.

When I met with the antique dealer, he took one look at the mirror and offered me a price that was too good to refuse. I handed over the mirror and watched as he loaded it into the back of his van.

As I walked away, I felt a sense of relief wash over me. The curse was gone, and I could finally move on from the haunting.

But that relief was short-lived. A few days later, I received a package in the mail. Inside was a small mirror, with a note attached that read "You can't escape …

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.