Horror logo

Reflections of Destiny

When A Haunted Mirror Reveals A New Reality

By Zorica MalicPublished about a year ago 8 min read
Like
Reflections of Destiny
Photo by Garidy Sanders on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light, a smudge on the surface of the glass. But as I looked closer, I realized that the person staring back at me was someone else entirely.

She had long black hair and piercing green eyes, and her expression was one of pure malice. I tried to look away, but I couldn't tear my gaze from the mirror. It was like I was trapped in some kind of trance, completely powerless to move or speak.

That's when I noticed the first sign that something was wrong. The reflection was moving, but I wasn't. The woman was reaching out towards me, her fingers stretching through the glass like it wasn't even there. And then she spoke, her voice echoing through the room like a ghostly whisper.

"Help me," she said, her eyes pleading with me. "Please, help me."

I wanted to scream, to run away as fast as I could. But something inside me made me stay. Maybe it was curiosity, or maybe it was just plain stupidity. But I reached out towards the mirror, my fingers brushing against the cold, smooth surface.

That's when everything changed.

The room around me seemed to blur, as if I was looking through a haze of fog. And when it cleared, I realized that I was no longer in my own bedroom. Instead, I was standing in a dark, empty hallway, with only the flickering light of a single candle to guide me.

I didn't know what was happening, or how I had gotten there. All I knew was that I needed to find a way out. And that's when I heard the whispers.

At first, they were just faint murmurs, barely audible over the sound of my own breathing. But as I walked down the hallway, they grew louder and more insistent. I couldn't make out what they were saying, but they sounded like a chorus of tortured souls, trapped in some kind of endless purgatory.

I tried to keep walking, to ignore the voices and find my way back to reality. But the hallway seemed to stretch on forever, twisting and turning in impossible ways. And then, just when I thought I couldn't take it anymore, I saw her.

The woman from the mirror, standing at the end of the hallway.

She was even more terrifying in person than she had been in the reflection. Her eyes glowed with an otherworldly light, and her skin was as pale as bone. And when she spoke, her voice was like a knife, cutting through the silence with its razor-sharp edge.

"You shouldn't be here," she said. "This place isn't meant for you."

I wanted to ask her what she meant, to demand answers. But before I could say anything, she vanished into thin air, leaving me alone in the dark.

I don't know how long I wandered in that place, lost and afraid. It felt like hours, but it could have been days, or even weeks. Time had no meaning in that place, no sense of structure or logic.

And then, finally, I found it. A door, hidden away in the shadows, with a single word etched into its surface.

EXIT.

I ran towards it, my heart pounding in my chest. And when I reached it, I threw it open, expecting to be bathed in sunlight, to feel the warmth of fresh air on my skin.

But what I found on the other side was something else entirely.

The world beyond the door was like a twisted reflection of my own. Buildings leaned at impossible angles, trees grew in strange, alien patterns. And everywhere I looked, there were people, but they were all wrong.

Their faces were twisted and distorted, their eyes empty and lifeless. They moved like marionettes, their limbs jerking and twitching in unnatural ways.

I tried to run, to get as far away from that place as possible. But no matter where I went, I couldn't escape the feeling that something was watching me, something malevolent and hungry.

And then I saw her again. The woman from the mirror, standing on the other side of the street, her eyes fixed on me like a predator stalking its prey.

I knew then that I had to find a way back to my own reality, before it was too late. But how? How could I possibly escape from a world that wasn't even real?

That's when I remembered the mirror. If it had brought me here, maybe it could take me back. And so I set out to find it, to retrace my steps through that twisted, nightmare world.

It was a long and perilous journey, filled with danger at every turn. But eventually, I found the mirror, hidden away in an abandoned house at the edge of town.

I didn't hesitate. I reached out towards the glass, willing it to take me back home. And for a moment, I thought it had worked. I could feel the world around me shifting and changing, as if reality itself was being rewritten.

But when it was over, I knew that something was still very, very wrong.

I was back in my own bedroom, but it was different. The walls were covered in strange symbols and sigils, and the air was thick with the scent of decay. And then I saw it.

The woman from the mirror, standing in the corner of the room, her eyes fixed on me with a hunger that made my blood run cold.

"You can't escape me," she said, her voice a hiss. "I am a part of you now. And wherever you go, I will follow."

I didn't know what to do. I was trapped, alone with this thing that I couldn't even begin to understand. And then, just when I thought all hope was lost, I remembered something.

I remembered the power of the mirror, the way it had brought me to that nightmare world and back again. And so I reached out towards it once more, willing it to take me away, to a place where I could be safe.

And this time, it worked.

I found myself in a world of endless white, a blank canvas stretching out in all directions. And there, in the distance, I saw a figure.

It was the woman from the mirror, but she was different now. Her eyes were still green, but they shone with a kindness that I had never seen before. And when she spoke, her voice was soft and gentle, like the rustle of leaves in the wind.

"I'm sorry," she said. "I didn't mean to hurt you. But you needed to see the truth. You needed to see what was inside you, what you were capable of."

I didn't understand. What was she talking about? But then I saw it.

The mirror, hovering in the air in front of me. And when I looked into it, I saw my own reflection, but it was different. It was stronger, more resilient, more alive.

And I knew then that I had been changed by what I had experienced, that I had grown in ways that I couldn't even begin to comprehend.

The woman from the mirror smiled at me, and then she was gone, leaving me alone in that vast white expanse.

But I wasn't scared anymore. I was ready to face whatever came next, knowing that I had the strength and courage to overcome it. And as I looked into the mirror once more, i saw something new. It wasn't a reflection of myself, but of something else entirely. It was a vision of a world that was better than the one I had left behind, a world full of hope and possibility.

And I knew then that the mirror wasn't just a portal to other realities. It was a symbol of the power that lay within me, the power to shape my own destiny and create the life that I wanted.

With a sense of purpose and determination that I had never felt before, I stepped away from the mirror and into the unknown. The world was waiting for me, full of challenges and opportunities, but I was ready to face them all.

And as I took my first steps into this new reality, I knew that I was no longer alone. The woman from the mirror might be gone, but her spirit lived on within me, guiding me towards my true destiny.

For the first time in my life, I felt truly alive, and I knew that nothing could stand in my way. With the mirror as my guide and my own strength as my armor, I was ready to face whatever lay ahead, and to emerge victorious on the other side.

And as I walked into the unknown, a sense of peace and joy filled my heart, and I knew that I was truly free.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Are you a writer or horror fan? Join me in exploring the world of horror fiction by sharing your feedback and constructive criticism. Let's engage in a conversation about writing and improve our craft together! Share your thoughts on "Reflections of Destiny: When A Haunted Mirror Reveals A New Reality" in the comments or connect with me to start a discussion.

celebritiespsychologicalmonsterhalloween
Like

About the Creator

Zorica Malic

"No one has the power to have everything they want, but it is in their power not to want what they don't have, but to joyfully use what they have." Seneca

"How long will you wait before you demand the best for yourself?" Epictetus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.