Horror logo

Reflections of Darkness: The Haunted Mirror

Trapped in a Demonic Realm Beyond Human Comprehension

By Aisha RaheelPublished about a year ago 5 min read

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own.

I rubbed my eyes and blinked a few times, but the image before me remained the same. It was me, but not quite. The face in the mirror looked older, more haggard, with dark circles under the eyes and a thin, pale complexion. It was like looking at a version of myself from a nightmare.

I tried to shake off the feeling of unease that crept up my spine, but it was impossible. I knew something was wrong with the mirror, and I couldn't help but wonder what kind of twisted magic it held within its glass. I had inherited the mirror from my grandmother, who had been obsessed with it. She used to stare at it for hours on end, muttering to herself and occasionally laughing or crying uncontrollably.

I had always thought it was just a strange quirk of hers, but now I began to understand that there was something much darker going on. The mirror had a strange power over her, and now I could feel it over me too. The longer I looked into its glass, the more I felt like I was losing my grip on reality.

As the days passed, I found myself drawn to the mirror more and more often. I would stand in front of it for hours, watching as the twisted reflection of myself stared back at me. I tried to resist, but the pull was too strong. It was like a moth to a flame, and I was powerless to resist its allure.

Then one night, things took a sinister turn. I was standing in front of the mirror as usual, lost in my own thoughts when I saw something move behind me. I turned around, but there was no one there. I looked back at the mirror, and that was when I saw it. The reflection of a figure standing behind me, its twisted face leering over my shoulder.

I screamed and stumbled backward, tripping over a chair and falling to the ground. When I looked back up at the mirror, the figure was gone. But I knew what I had seen, and I knew that the mirror was not just a simple object. It was a gateway to something much darker, much more malevolent.

From that moment on, the mirror became a source of terror for me. I would hear strange noises coming from it at night, whispers and moans that seemed to come from another world. I would see movement in the corner of my eye, but when I turned to look, there was nothing there.

And then there were the dreams. Horrific nightmares that left me drenched in sweat, gasping for air. Dreams of the twisted figure in the mirror, coming to life and reaching out to grab me. Dreams of a world beyond the mirror, a world of darkness and despair.

I knew I had to get rid of the mirror, but I didn't know how. I couldn't just throw it away or sell it, because I knew that whoever ended up with it next would suffer the same fate as me. So I did the only thing I could think of. I locked it away in the attic, hoping that I would never have to see it again.

But even that was not enough. The mirror had taken hold of my mind, and it was not going to let go so easily. I would hear its whispers in my sleep, calling out to me, tempting me to come back and look into its glass once more.

And so, one night, I found myself back in front of the mirror. I don't know how it happened, or why I had gone back to it. But there I was, staring into its twisted reflection once again.

This time, though, something was different. The figure in the mirror was not alone. It was surrounded by

Other twisted, demonic creatures, all leering at me with their dark, soulless eyes. The surrounding room began to spin, and I felt myself being pulled toward the mirror, like a moth being drawn toward a flame.

I tried to resist, but it was no use. The mirror had claimed me, body and soul. I felt myself being sucked into its glass, pulled into a world of darkness and despair. It was like nothing I had ever experienced before, a world beyond human comprehension.

The creatures in the mirror surrounded me, their twisted faces leering at me with their dark, soulless eyes. They spoke to me in a language I could not understand, their words like knives that cut into my mind. I was trapped, a prisoner in this twisted, demonic realm.

For what felt like an eternity, I was lost in that world of darkness and despair. But then, something strange happened. The mirror began to crack, and the world around me began to shatter like glass. I felt myself being pulled back towards reality, back towards the world I knew.

When I finally emerged from the mirror, I was changed. The experience had left its mark on me, and I knew that I could never be the same again. The mirror had taken hold of my mind, and it was not going to let go so easily.

I knew what I had to do. I had to destroy the mirror, to break its hold over me once and for all. Furthermore, I grabbed a hammer and went up to the attic, determined to end this nightmare once and for all.

When I found the mirror, I hesitated for a moment. But then I remembered the horrors it had inflicted upon me, and I knew that I had to do what had to be done. I raised the hammer, and with one swift blow, I shattered the mirror into a million pieces.

As the glass fell to the ground, I felt a weight lift off my shoulders. The darkness that had consumed me was gone, replaced by a sense of peace and calm. The mirror had been destroyed, and with it, the nightmares that had haunted me for so long.

But even now, years later, I still can't help but wonder. What kind of twisted magic did that mirror hold? What kind of demonic creatures lived within its glass? And most of all, what would have happened to me if I had never found the strength to destroy it?

supernaturalpsychologicalmonsterhalloweenfictionbook reviews

About the Creator

Aisha Raheel

As a writer, I am dedicated to crafting engaging and thought-provoking content that resonates with readers. I believe in the power of words to inspire, educate, and entertain, and approach each project with passion and creativity.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I love how relatable you made ____, especially in the beginning paragraph. Doing something anyone else would do if the mirror did something unexpected. I also found it eery and interesting how the character knew they were entranced by the mirror but couldn’t stop themselves from being drawn to it. Especially after seeing something similar happen to their grandmother. I love the other worldly powers the mirror possesses, so creepy and believable!

Aisha RaheelWritten by Aisha Raheel

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.