Horror logo

Rebecca Rinehart

Women's History Month Women In Horror Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Rebecca Rinehart (Actress, Writer, Producer, Director)

Hey Vocal Readers, Happy Women's History Month!

I am honored to spotlight Rebecca Rinehart, an emerging actress who has rapidly become a staple in the independent horror scene with her video and written coverage of the genre through her YouTube channel and various other horror news outlets. She can be seen in the upcoming films Cannibal Call Girls from Hell, Slumber Party Slaughter Party 2, and Sharkago (2020). She is also the co-writer, producer, and director of The Embalmers.

Soon Rebecca will also direct Tin Roof. Tin Roof is about five adults that attempt to save a beloved summer camp threatened to be closed permanently due to recent unfortunate events.

The film is written by Rob Mello who is best known as being an actor in two of the biggest horror films of the past decade. Mello played the role of John Tombs in the Blumhouse breakout film, Happy Death Day, which he's reprised in Happy Death Day 2U.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Rebecca Rinehart (Actress, Writer, Producer, Director)

Tammy Reese: How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Rebecca Rinehart: Independent, strong-willed, and stubborn.

Tammy Reese: What do you enjoy most about the horror genre?

Rebecca Rinehart: I was scared and intrigued by horror as a kid but somewhere along the line, horror turned into comfort for me. At the end of a long day, nothing makes me happier than plopping down in my recliner and putting in a Friday the 13th movie!

Tammy Reese: Who are some women in horror who inspire you? Why?

Rebecca Rinehart: I recently had to answer this for one of my podcasts and I gave a twofold answer: as far as characters go, Ginny (played by Amy Steele) from Friday the 13th part 2 has always resonated with me. She was thrust into a really terrible situation unexpectedly and she used her brains and education to thwart her nemesis.

As for real people behind the camera, I cite Jackie Kong as a huge inspiration. She was tasked with making Blood Diner when others didn’t want it and being this tiny Asian woman in her early 20s directing a feature film had to have been difficult, especially in the 80s. But she took the film to a crazy, wonderful place!

Tammy Reese: When was the last time you were super scared while watching a film? What film was it?

Rebecca Rinehart: I don’t get scared by movies anymore, sadly. I do have a friend (Heather Harlow, another horror actress) who has almost childlike reactions when I show her horror she’s never seen so I get to have the thrill vicariously through her.

Tammy Reese: What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Rebecca Rinehart: I got to work with legendary SOV director Tim Ritter on a few things (including Sharks of the Corn, which just got released). I watched his movies when I was growing up so to be able to actually hang out and work with him is a little surreal.

But I think walking away from the set of The Embalmers thinking, “I really just pulled this off!” was my highlight.

Tammy Reese: What are you currently working on?

Rebecca Rinehart: I just finished Holy Shit Man with a group of really awesome people here in Indiana... we all just came together with juvenile senses of humor and no limits on gross-out factors to make a movie we wanted to see.

I will be filming CarousHELL the 2nd in Pittsburg in a few weeks with Steve Rudzinski which is AWESOME because I adored the first movie! As I am finishing up post-production toon for The Embalmers, I’m gearing up to direct my next one in the Fall, Tin ROOF.

Tammy Reese: How did your collaboration with Happy Death Day franchise star Rob Mello come about?

Rebecca Rinehart: I was dipping my foot into producing and took on a film for someone else. Rob had seen me post about it on FB and I had never even spoken to him and I got a message out of the blue that said “you should cast me.”

That film fell through but I turned around and just decided to make my own and promised him he would have a place in it. My sister had the idea of The Embalmers but as three sisters, so when we wrote the screenplay, we changed one of the siblings to a man and let Rob take control of creating the character. He and I just work really well together so naturally, we decided to collaborate again.

Epic right? Horror lovers are in fan-out mode from this photo

Tammy Reese: I understand that Friday the 13th is one of your favorite Horror films.

From your perspective, why do you think the film remains a genre favorite?

Rebecca Rinehart: I can only speak for myself, but nostalgia definitely plays a huge role. Aside from the warm and fuzzy memories of watching them late at night after renting them from the video store, I think the thing that brings me back is adoration for every character and every situation (and every kill!).

Rebecca Rinehart (Actress, Writer, Producer, Director)

Tammy Reese: As an Actress, Writer, Director and Producer, you understand the film industry very well. What do you think is the future of the film industry?

Rebecca Rinehart: Who can say??? I do know indie film is on the cusp of another wave of change in how we make and finance films. The model of getting a movie funded solely by the fans seems to be on its way out. That will be my biggest challenge with Tin Roof: finding creative ways to fund.

Tammy Reese: What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Rebecca Rinehart: Shriekshow from Brad Twigg is in post-production film and was tons of fun. I also filmed (and co-wrote) Backwoods Bubba with Brad Thomason in the fall and it is slated to be released this summer.

Tammy Reese: What advice would you have for aspiring scream Queens?

Rebecca Rinehart: Just be you. Don’t be someone you are not to get recognition... until the camera turns on, that is. Then enjoy your time playing with your friends and a lot of stage blood 😉

Want to invest in the next big independent horror film?

Connect with Rob Mello on Instagram and Rebecca Rinehart on Facebook

interview
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.