Horror logo

Read This Before You Die

A Horror Story

By Phoenix LawsonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I sit alone in my apartment, eating a bowl of some kind of cereal. I can't really tell the type because it's such an old box. I haven't had my paycheck from my late shift working at the post office yet, so groceries are kind of rare for this week. I'm not really bothered at all.

The TV buzzes a little but then comes back to a clear screen as I watch cartoons. I've always like watching these kinds of shows because it reminds me of my childhood. I used to watch cartoons every day of my life as a child.

With a sigh, my eyes become heavy. I've finished fifteen assignments for my online college courses. I know some people would call me lazy, but I am extremely dyslexic and looking at words literally puts a headache behind my eyes from time to time.

I shut off the TV and set my bowl of cereal into the sink. I don't want to go to bed yet, I'd just love to cool off. I walk back to the bathroom to plug up the tub and let steaming water flow.

After walking into my bedroom while the water runs, I grab a pair of underwear and a baggy shirt.

"OW!" I step hard onto a tac. I let out the loudest screech and look down to yank it out of my foot. A little bit of blood squirts out, but not enough to have to wipe away.

Finally, I get into the tub. I rub my sore foot with some soap to massage out all of the pain I'm feeling.

I lay back and light a cigarette. The little red fire glows when I take the first puff.

That's when I notice something is wrong.

The TV is on and cartoons are up on high. I know for a fact I turned the thing off when I came to even take a shower, so I have no idea what it's doing on right now.

I rush out into the living room completely naked and dripping. I almost get nervous that someone's around, like a homeless person or something. If someone is around, they'll get a clear view of my dick and that makes me uncomfortable. I heard that woman who lives in this apartment building has frequently had people break into her home.

I walk for a moment and realize all of the lights in my home are turned off except for the TV. My heart stops when I see someone sitting on my couch.

I'm too nervous to be loud or confront the person. I freeze and just stare. I can see the back of his or her head. Their hair looks long, but that might be some kind of a hat or something I can definitely not tell.

The person raises a hand, and in a hoarse voice, says, "I have not come to hurt you. I'm here to deliver a message."

The person stands, hands me a newspaper of some kind of sort, and my wet hands crinkle the sides for a moment. With a quick nudge, they move and leave my apartment.

I let out a deep breath, and hold my heart while it pumps fast. I've never had anything like this happen to me, so to say I'm startled is at the least of the truth.

I look down while flicking the light on. The paper is not really a newspaper, it's more of a pamphlet.

The title of the paper reads in red ink, "Read this before you die." With great ease, I flip the pamphlet open.

(To be continued.)

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.