Horror logo

Principle

Worlds Collide

By William L. Truax IIIPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1

I sat alone in a cold darkened room, it was full of cobwebs and mildew, possibly mold in certain spots, but I didn’t care. My mind was blank; I needed time, time to think… time to get these memories from my mind. The memories of my daughter dancing in the woods with others, was it real? That’s something that I have to deal with, those thoughts, how could she? What is she? How of seventeen years is she leaving me and God’s eye for some DEVIL?

Here I sit staring out the window with the shutters flung wide and longing for solace but with all the commotion of the city below me, there was none to receive. People stared and gazed, making faces, poking fun, throwing pebbles and snowballs. Flinch? No, I can’t say that I did. It wasn’t until my wife of ten and five years entered into the dimly lit room that I turned my head toward any real sound. I watched as she placed her hands on her hips and cocked her head to the right knowing that she was right in sending me and that I could not handle the experience of what I ended up seeing.

“Dearest husband,” she began with a cruel yet sweet tone, “why must you stay up here all day? Come down stairs with me and together we shall confront our daughter Catherine.”

“I dare not sweet wife, for she is wicked in nature. I am a good man and of good stature, nor do I wish to be part of which she has made her bed into.” I replied as politely as I could. My wife placed one foot closer toward me, then the other and with hands outstretched she approached. Reaching outward, I grasped a hold of her and pulled her in resting my head on her warm bosom. After the embrace I closed the shutters and locked them. It was cold up here and I barely noticed our housemaid behind my wife.

“Tabatha! What are you doing here as well?” I demanded trying not to sound too rough.

“I carry this blanket sir.” She responded.

“I’ll take that from you Tabatha, thank you.” Said my wife Rebecca as she grasped the blanket and turned reaching out to me with it. “Put this around you now my dear, you’re most likely cold or near death from the chill in the air.”

“It feels different from our normal blankets, where is it from?” I asked as I wrapped it around me and I noticed I did not itch a bit.

“It’s from our daughters’ room. She has such wonders there. Come, we must go and see what she has in store for you now my husband.” My wife said with a smile. She reached out for me and I instantly backed away from it and shouted at her saying that she too was possessed by the devil and that I must run to get the priest and purge this house of the devil entirely.

Tabatha blocked my way as I tried to move pass, my wife Rebecca joined by her side only with a smile on her face…

I awoke in my room some time later but I could not rise from my bed. I could not turn my head. I was able to feel my arms, hands, legs and feet but that was about it. I wasn’t sure about the rest. My eyes darted around the room and from I was able to see, no one was there, and it was darker than usual. I tried to turn my head to see if a candle was lit in the corner of the room but I was unable to. Suddenly I felt like someone had entered into my chamber and I exclaimed in a high pitch of fear, “WHO’S THERE?”

“You’re a nonbeliever and need to be shown so that you’ll believe.” Came a voice.

“Who are you? Your voice sounds somewhat familiar to me dear spirit, Spector, person, but I fear whom or what you are for you may be the DEVIL in disguise and I am of a GOD fearing man. I love -”

“That’s enough of your idle rambling.” Said the voice as it emerged from the darkness and lit the candle in the back corner.

I noticed that it was cloaked in blacks and browns with slight shimmer to it as well, but I was not able to see the beings face, least not in my current position. The being turned toward me and was now facing me. I couldn’t believe it, it was all BONES! The shock must’ve knocked me out for when I opened my eyes once more the being was gone from my sight and I was free from whatever had me bound. I wandered the halls of my home looking for my darling wife Rebecca and my servant Tabatha, but they were nowhere to be found. My daughter Catherine however stood by her door and beckoned me in.

I was instantly horrified at the deviousness of her room. The state that she had kept it… it looked so, so. I glanced from corner to corner, left to right then right to left, a turn around and back again only to find emptiness and a thought of what could have been or what once was is now no more. She stood by the only piece of something in the room, her long brown near black hair dangling gingerly in front of her face, waving to and fro with a smile on her face. Like something or someone possessed by the devil himself or a demon of some consort here to swift her and myself off to an never ending burning hellhole that we were to never escape from. But then she began to remove her attire! I withdrew tightly against the back of the wall trying my best to blend in looking for an opening with none to be found.

“Father,” began the demon, “look at me please. I have something I want to show you. It was a gift from someone whom I love! Mother loves him too and he gave her such a gift as well!”

“What man! What vile villainy is at foot here! Be gone DEMON! Thou kind mustn’t exist beyond the borders of these fine walls! Away with you!”

As I clambered the walls for a way out, scratching, daring not to cross the path of the demon I tried my best not to show fear but I know that the creature could smell it. I saw it on the figures face. The demon took my daughters form and was now trying to flaunt her unmentionables in front of me but still I stand un-wavered, frightened and looking for a way out.

“Father, please, come now.” It cooed in her voice so gentle and relaxing, like the coo of a dove. I watched as another button became unassigned from its usual place on her garment to its resting point, giving me more cause for alarm but still looking for a way out. The door that I entered in here by had vanished without sight or sound nor did I see another way out. I, nonetheless frightened, tried to find another way… looking but still none to be found.

Another button fell out of place, followed by another, then eventually her dress fell to the floor and she was standing there facing me in what I could not describe. Light blue, lacey, barely there at all and how it was covering her was unbeknownst to me. The garment that she dawned was the thinnest of quality and of such bazaar fashion that was more shocking and revealing than what I had ever imagined. I let out a scream and threw my hands over my eyes and cowered in the corner. I felt the warm embrace of my daughter‘s hands over top of my head. Nay did I look for what I saw only the devil would prescribe to someone. I was sure that God in all His Glory and Goodness had abandoned her, as well as my wife and I was the only one in my home of sane mind and sane morals. I must stay fast and stay strong to carry on God’s will for this Family needs to be brought back to the Fold.

“Father...”

“Yes?”

“What do you think?”

“It’s horrid my dear daughter. It’s the devils work. You mustn’t wear it ever again. We are good people, worshippers of God the Almighty; he needs us for HIM not the opposite. Please my dear daughter, take off those horrid garments and put on regular clothing.”

I backed further, deeper, as deep as I could into the wall behind me where (if I could anyway) would be one with the wall and it appeared as though she was neither moving toward nor away from me. She just stood there staring at me with piercing red eyes and that deep, dark devilish, menacingly hard, scary stare that gave a sudden terror that rocked my entire body visibly.

fiction
1

About the Creator

William L. Truax III

Disabled Veteran, Father of 2.

I am a teller of tales and dreams, visions, haunting melodies, subtidal invocations of the mind and song.

Many of the Tales here interact with each other in some way and all within the same Universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.