Horror logo

Pine Tree Camp Part Three: A Family Affair

Family Reunions aren't always fun.

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like
Pine Tree Camp Part Three: A Family Affair
Photo by Marina Kazmirova on Unsplash

Red silky ribbons cut into my sore wrists, Todd was snoring next to me. Darkness covered us like a blanket, except for a single spotlight. A damn crook had found us in the middle of the night. My mind had a decent idea who it was. Todd jerked awake whacking his head on the metal pole behind us.

“Where are we?” He inquired, frantically feeling for my hand. “Why is my head so groggy? Last I knew we were in the hospital.” Rolling my eyes, my wrists screamed in pain each time I tugged at them.

“I think we were kidnapped from the hospital.” I answered sarcastically. “One would think that I could get a goddamn break. He must have drugged us, or something like that.” His lips parted to protest my fresh sarcasm, but worn steel toe boots thumped towards us. Thump, thump, my heart beat faster at each footfall. Cold sweat formed on my forehead, dripping down in small beads.

“Hello, little sister.” He called out, stepping into the light. “You look so much prettier than I thought you would. Your demon friend says hi. His power is so wonderful, just flowing through my veins. This is the best I have ever felt.” A lump in my throat formed, Todd shivered in terror. Fury boiled in my veins, my fists clenching.

“There is no way that you are my brother.” I groaned through gritted teeth. “If you were my brother, then how come I never heard of you.” Chuckling to himself, he ran his calloused hand through his hair. Bewilderment and anger burned in his copper eyes. My eyes followed the dried blood stain on his shirt.

“I was in a mental hospital sis.” He explained, tracing his dingy finger over my cheek. “Did you know that I summoned the demon causing all of your problems? You see, it was me who wanted to kill just you and no one else. It was always just supposed to be me and only me. But no, you had to come along and steal all of the attention.” He certainly was a piece of work, there were a few chemicals missing up there. Scoffing, I attempted to cross my arms.

“So you summoned a demon to get rid of your little sister.” I uttered in disbelief. “You are a certain kind of special.” His brows furrowed in annoyance, his lips pinched tight. A silver knife flew from his hand into Todd’s leg. A loud scream exploded from his trembling lips. My heart fell to my stomach, dread poisoning my mind.

“Of course I did.” He bragged proudly with his chest out. “Why wouldn’t I? You see my friend here is looking for another soul to possess. Maybe we should use Todd now.” Todd squirmed frantically next to me. Fright paralyzed my body, not knowing what to say. If I lost him my life would be dismal. He was all I had left, all I had left. Desperation seared my mind, seeking a way out of this mess. Hell even I survived this, what about the demon.

“You are awfully proud of yourself considering you put out a whole hit on your family.” I taunted cruelly, the ribbon was giving away. “What is your plan b, if this doesn’t work?” Confusion contorted his face, the ribbon falling to the dirt floor. Indignation rose up in his eyes, a snarl curling at the corner of his lips. My fingers grabbed a large pile of dirt, the small particles landing in his eyes. Howls flooded from his dry lips, little rocks cut into my feet. Relief washed over Todd as I undid his ribbons. The dirt was starting to settle when my foot kicked up another cloud, bigger than the last one. Dirt crunched beneath our feet, Todd was limping along. Groans and moans escaped the rotting stairs, the heavy wooden door swinging open. Rusty handles rattled aggressively, the old wooden door slamming shut. Each lock squealed angrily, locking him downstairs for now.

“What is your plan?” Todd inquired urgently. “What do we do now?” Horror widened his eyes, bangs trembling the door. To say that I was not frightened at this point is an understatement. Think, think you darn fool. A large smile crept on my lips, an idea slapping me in the face.

“We need to burn the book.” I announced excitedly. “We need to find it.” Rolling his eyes, he ran his hand through his hair. Tap, tap went his good toe, anxiety taking his body over. An invisible force knocked me into an aging yellow wall, a migraine threatening to emerge. Fright paralyzed my limbs, black smoke filling Todd’s mouth. Feet remained between him and the rotting floor. With a sharp thud, his body fell to the floor in a heap. Tears welled up in my eyes, his body rising in a crooked manner. His head cocked to the side, an evil grin dancing across his face. A scream was tucked in my throat, nearly clawing its way out.

“This will be fun.” Two voices mused cruelly. “Come here my dear!” A cold shiver ran up my spine, sorrow biting into my shattering heart. Taking a deep breath, my feet sprinted up the stairs. Pieces of wood snapped underneath, nearly sucking me down with them. Panic rose in my mind, my body resting in the nearest room. Grunting, the floor screamed as the furniture was pushed in front of the door. I was going to save him one way or another.

“Darling, the book is in the closet.” My mother’s soft voice whispered. “Burn it, and he will be set free.” A dusty black leather book sat in the middle of the closet, strange whispers flowing all around it. Hatred and rage oozed from it, poisoning the very air in the room. Scrabbling to the book, the leather bound pages felt cumbersome in my palms. Wood shattered against the wall, Todd floating in. Breath escaped my lungs, praying that it wasn't true. Swallowing a large lump, the wood creaked beneath me. Icy air rushing around me, my eyes seeking the kitchen. Fireballs shot from behind me, burning ashes wafting up my nose. Wait a minute, why go get fire when he is giving me fire. Flames licked the aging wooden walls, heat searing my skin. Glowering in his direction, my fingers dropped the book into the hungry flames. Inhuman screeches and howls erupted from Todd’s black lips. His body shook violently, a large dark shadow emerging from him. Todd collapsed into a heap, hopefully not dead.

“You foul wench!” It screeched furiously, flying towards me. “I will g-” White flames ate his body, lightening the air. Todd stirred weakly, his legs slowly letting him stand. Horror filled his eyes at the sight of the flames. Thick smoke obscured my view, the smoke filling my lungs. Exhaustion knocked on my door, he pulled me down what remained down the stairs. Crackling flames chased us to the basement, my heart stopped beating. The door was smashed open, yet no other doors were open. Orange flames threatened to eat us, my brother appearing in front of me. Flickers of silver blinded me, sweat drenching my skin and hair. Deranged blood shot eyes stared at me unblinkingly, his stillness striking fear in my heart.

“We can help you get out.” I wheezed, coughing hard. “Can we settle it outside safely?” Tilting his head, a maniacal smile darkened his face. Todd tried to pull me to the open window next to us. Hot air whizzed by my face, a kitchen knife landing sharply in the wooden cabinet next to my head.

“Why would I ever go with you!” He coughed, his fist clenching tightly. “I will murder you once and for a-” A knife landed inbetween his eyes, his body fell forward. A sickening crack rang out in the roaring flames, the knife sinking further into his forehead.

Two white figures faded into my view. Joy warmed my soul for my mother and father stood in front of us. Their arms pointed to the open window, their gazes ordering me to go out the window. Glass exploded behind me, our weak bodies climbing out of the burning house onto the cool grass. Coughing and wheezing, our whole bodies ached. Sirens hollered all around us, a fireman in a yellow suit and oxygen mask carried us to a yellow ambulance. EMT’s strapped Todd onto a gurney, and took off towards the hospital. Sweet slumber wrapped me in her gentle embrace.

Birds chirped happily, singing a summer tune. The same white walls surrounded me, reminding me that I was in the hospital again. Todd slept comfortably in the bed next to me, his chest rising up and down. The dark haired officer ran over to my bedside, my ears trying to ignore the damn beeps.

“Thank goodness you are alright.” She cried out in relief. “We were worried sick about you when you got kidnapped from under our noses.” What were they doing that allowed him to kidnap me, my mind wondered incredulously. Smiling meekly, a soft chuckle tumbled from my dry lips.

“Thank you for saving me.” I mumbled, looking out at the trees outside of my window. “What happened to my brother?” Sorrow dimmed her cheerful eyes, a gentle sigh exhaling from her pink lips.

“He was found dead.” She informed me, looking at her watch. “I have to go now.” Her shoes clicked down the hall. Todd snapped awake, tears pouring from his eyes. Not caring, he ripped out everything, and wrapped his arms around my body. A wheeze squeezed from my lips. His lips pressed against mine, time melting away. Pulling away, his arms embraced me even tighter.

“Could you soften your grasp?” I wheezed, wrapping my fingers around his. “I love you, but please don’t squeeze me to death.” Laughing to himself, he let go and sat in the chair next to me.

“How about when we blow this place, we leave town?” He offered earnestly. “I don’t want to live here anymore. Let’s start over.” Before I could answer, a nurse came in smiling warmly, she was holding two clipboards. Clearing her throat, she glanced over at Todd and scowled.

“Good news.” She chirped cheerfully. “You are pregnant.” A pregnant pause hung heavily in the air between the three of us. Of course, we messed around in the night. What adults don't have dessert sometimes before dinner. A crooked wide grin curled on his lips, excitement illuminating his eyes. The nurse backed out of the room, and cursed under her breath.

“Oh, darling.” My mother's voice cooed happily. “Congratulations.” White mist curled around me, my mother and father popping up next to me. They looked young, like teenagers. Her hair was pulled into a tight ponytail, a navy dress floating off of her body. My dad had on a letter man jacket, holding her tightly against him.

“It is all over.” My father comforted me, patting my head. “You did what we couldn’t do. Sorry for your brother. We didn’t think it necessary to tell you.” My fists clenched tightly, fury boiling beneath my skin. Guilt dimmed his eyes, an apologetic frown gracing his lips.

“We will always protect you.” My mother interrupted calmly, handing me a white quartz necklace. “We will always love you.” Just like that they were gone. My head rested on Todd’s chest, listening to his rapid heartbeat.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.