Horror logo

Part 1. My Ghostly Experience

Journal Entry

By Audie EdwardsPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
3
Part 1. My Ghostly Experience
Photo by Erik Müller on Unsplash

Growing up we lived in apartments until I was fourteen, my grandparents rented a house out to us. Still having to share a room with my brothers, but it was cool we had a house and grandpa left the basketball goal up for us.

We stayed there until right before I turned fifteen, mom and my stepfather (Jim) had bought a house. A beautiful brown house in a rich neighborhood. I had my own room, yes!

I finally had my own room for a while. This house was awesome. We had a screen on the back porch, the din had a wood burning stove, we even had a freaking office under the carport.

The office oh yes it was something the thought of going out there just to chill even when mom put a computer in there finally. There was something about this office even during the day it had this eerie feeling that just got worse at night. It would send chills down your spine.

We were all creeped out to go out there at all but we did anyway.

Pushing through the fear there was something watching you at all times in the office.

One night Jim was in the office and the rest of the family was in the house. Mom upstairs in her room and my brothers and I were in the kitchen.

Now our kitchen door had windows in it and this door led outside to the carport.

Which the carport, yes the office where Jim was and on the computer.

Now it is dark outside but there was a light under the carport, My brother T.J. (the second oldest with me being the First born.)

Well he was looking out the window in the door and said,

“ There is something out here, it's black and it is looking inside the office.”

Nate, (the third child out of the bunch of us.) well he ran over to the back door where T.J. was looking out to watch whatever was out there walk towards the back door and into the backyard.

Jim came inside after this thing went into the backyard.

“What are y’all doing outside?” he said,

“Whatever you saw the boy’s had seen it too it went in the backyard.

I replied,

Well in August of 2001, a month away from being sixteen, Mom and Jim had a baby.

When my little brother Jaquez. Who we called Quez, was about a month old if I remember correctly on the time frame.

Mom was coming in my room for about a week telling me,

“ Move over sis, your dad and your brother are hogging the bed.”

By Matthew T Rader on Unsplash

I would move over and let mom in the bed, knowing it had to be at least seven or eight in the morning the sun was shining about this time.

During this week in the middle of the night I am dead asleep lying on my back I hear my door open and shut. A fear came over me. I wanted to open my eyes to see but something told me not too. So I turned my head to the opposite side away from whatever was in the room.

My bed goes down. I feel a body lying next to me.

If it would have been mom she would have spoken and she didn’t.

The next morning mom never came in my room so I asked my brothers if mom had laid with me last night and told them what had happened.

They had no clue as to what I was talking about. So I waited on mom and dad ( Jim ) to wake up

I had to know when they got up I asked and Mom said,

“No, we heard a door slam last night and thought you tried to sneak out.

So your dad went and checked you were in your room and all the doors were locked.”

I had a radio in the room above my bed in the window and my alarm clock.

I would turn the station to Jimmy Swaggart, and the station always seemed to mess up.

The one that would stick the man would talk of ghost stories.

One story I remember a man talking about how he had seen his future self on the side of the highway one day.

I would be up at five, in the morning every weekday morning getting ready for school. It freaked me out!

Well there was a man down the road mom had spoken to and come to find out there was a man that had died in the house. I think he had a heart attack on the steps and died in the ambulance on the way to the hospital.

I don’t remember all the story as to why the man was in the house but, I do remember the man didn’t live there.

By Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

One night during one of the times my uncle, was staying with us. My Mom and my uncle were sitting down stairs in the living room talking and all of us kids up stairs asleep.

Now before I tell you what they saw let me try to describe the downstairs a little better. When you walked in the front door. On the right was a dining room and had a walkway from there to the kitchen. To the left of the front door was the living room and a walkway to the den.

Well more or less you could sit in the living room and see in the den. From the front door looking straight in front you were the stairs that led up to all three rooms.

Now back to the story mom and my uncle in the living room talking and watching television.

The both saw a black mist next to my uncle but standing in the den. It was in the split of the rooms. It then started to head upstairs to where my brothers and I were.

Now when I turned eight-teen and, I moved out T.J. was in my old room he said there was a dark figure in there. My mother would play Jimmy Swaggart, throughout the house trying to get it out of this thing.

We had a cow bell that hung on the back door. It was from the lady who lived there before us.

One night we had all the lights off in the living room with the television on and we were talking about everything that had been going on and Dad said, the devil knows the bible too.

As soon as he had said that, the cow bell came off the door. I got up and turned the kitchen lights on to go put the cow bell back. It was lying in front of the back door.

This house was so eerie, even to go outside in the backyard at times always felt like something was still watching you.

Mom and dad eventually sold the house. I still wonder at times do these new people experience these things too? Have they seen it? Did it lie down with them too?

That house was so freaking scary.

Well this concludes part one of my scary experiences.

3

About the Creator

Audie Edwards

I am an amateur writer, who loves to write poems.

I feel poetry is my only escape from reality. I love to play with the imagination a little and get Dark. We all have nightmares and fears

I just put mine to work in a beautifully written poem.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.