Horror logo

Paranormal Encounters

Part 1

By Jay WestonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
All photo credits go to the original creator.

Whether we like it or not, we're not the only ones walking the planet. Spirits, entities, apparitions - whatever we as believers choose to call them - walk alongside us. Usually, bear in mind, undetected, but this doesn't stop some lucky (or unlucky) people having experiences with these ghostly visitors.

Ever since I was young, maybe starting the tender age of 3 or 4, I've been around and experiencing this sort of activity, and would like to share my stories, and others' experiences, with you.

None of the stories that are posted have been altered or dramatized in any way...

1 - Unwanted Sleepover

I was 12 years old and it was the middle of summer. It must have been 3 or 4 o'clock in the morning and everybody was asleep. My parents' bedroom was next to mine, and my younger brother's room was at the end of the hall. I slept with my bedroom door open, as most children did (or so I was told), and slept in the top bunk of my flimsy metal bunk-bed (probably IKEA-bought, thinking back on it now).

For some reason or another, I had woken up, maybe for being too warm. I yawned and rubbed my eyes, and remember sitting up and looking around my room before lying back down to attempt another round of sleep. As I closed my eyes, my bed started to shake. Violently. As if someone was climbing their way up the skimpy metal ladder up to my bunk. I screwed my eyes shut in a paralyzing fear, and pulled my duvet as tight as I could around myself.

Then, as quickly as the shaking started, it stopped. I began to relax, thinking the worst was over, but no. Whatever it was that had climbed up my ladder and slid into bed with me. I felt the breathing down the back of my neck for what I remember felt like an eternity, but must have only been a few seconds before everything subsided. I don't remember what happened next, but I remember the next morning feeling physically and mentally drained, but never brought it up until only a few years ago. I'm 24 now and remember that event like it was yesterday.

2 - What lurks in the shadows.

So my younger brother, let's call him Alex, had an experience in the same house as the unwanted guest in the story above. He remembers being around the age of 8, when again, a visitor decided to show itself to him in the middle of the night. Bear in mind, our house wasn't so old at the time, and never had a history of hauntings.

So, as his memory serves him, he was a child, in the smallest bedroom of the house. As it was, he was much more comfortable sleeping with the door open, as I did. He had struggled to sleep for an unknown reason on this fated night, and was tossing and turning, which led to him being on his side facing into the hallway. Through the darkness, he saw the latch to our attic door (build into the hallway ceiling) click open and fall from its original position. From the attic, a small figure jumped from the attic and turned to look at my brother.

The shadow was darker than black and impish is size and stature. He remembers that it turned to look at him began to run towards his door, and then his memory fails to serve him. He claims the next thing he remembers is waking up the next morning with his bedroom door closed. It's something that even though he never actively thinks of it, is always something that lingers in the back of his mind, the way that the little creature that night did in the shadows...

Like

About the Creator

Jay Weston

I like to read and write about other worldly going ons! Whether it be real experiences, advice on the occult or fictional short stories, I love to keep it spooky!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.