Horror logo

Pain

Spirit Detective

By nikkoPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
The Blue Rose blossoms twice( Photo by Doug Long)

Pain- physical suffering or discomfort caused by illness or injury

In 1985 the Baltimore police department promoted officer Christopher “Rex” Johnson to detective. The events he witnessed that day would alter the way he lived his life.

BEEP! BEEP! BEEP!(Alarm goes off)

(Rex) Aight! Aight! Aight! I’m up! Damn alarm. (Today is the day. My dream of being a detective is finally here).

(Angelica) Morning hun. We gotta surprise for you.

(Rex) Hey babe, I hope the tossing and turning didn’t wake you up so early?

(Angelica) Not at all. Your sons would be the prime suspects of that crime(swings handcuffs).. Mr detective.

Rex smiles.

(Angelica) We gotta surprise for you downstairs.

(kids) Surprise daddy!!

(Rex) Aw man! French toast with peanut butter and strawberry jam!? My favorite meal, you guys are the best sons a dad can ask for. Give me kisses! Thanks babe.

(Angelica) Love you.

(Rex) I love you to. I’m gonna smash this then go workout before I head out.

Elsewhere..

(Man) Come right this way. I tell you, you tired of being home less and want to change ya life then this is the guy I swear.

(Group of homeless) Well how do we know? Yeah what he do magic or something? I heard he turned a one dollar bill into a hundred dollar bill? How’d the hell he do that!?

(Man) Listen calm down, the “Almighty one” will give you anything you ask. Just do as he says okay? Come on this is the place down here.

(Homeless man) “ Man this place look condemned. Worst than my box down the street! (Homeless woman) This motherfucker tryna fool us!

(Man) No look there he is. Please come, if you ask for money then he will grant this for you.

(woman) What is he? A genie?

The group of homeless had entered the large room that smelled of rotten meat and swarmed with flies.

(Man) “Almighty One,” your guess have arrived.

(Almighty One) Leave us.

(Man) Remember do as he wish.

Bang! The sound of the door startles them, they are filled with fear.

(Almighty One) Come my brothers and sisters and kneel before me. Stretch your hand upwards to the heavens where our father once called home.

The ceiling above them had been replaced with numerous of mirrors. All of them different shapes and sizes. They began to morph into one gigantic void.

(Almighty One and People) Repeat the words as I do. “O father, please stretch our hands through the darkness so you may reach salvation. Use our vessels to reborn us in your vision. Come TO ME! COME TO ME! COME TO ME!”

(Man) Oh god!? Please forgive for what I have done. Hopefully he is satisfied with them. Look at me!? What have I become? I just wanted my little brother back. (Almighty One- I will bring your kin back to this life with only the condition that you aid me with my tasks) Yes! I have to complete this! For Kaleb. Your big brother Hassan will bring you back.

An gateway made of liquid had replaced where the ceiling had been, was now above them and deep down.. deep in the abyss they could here and see the demons that had been in slumber before the time of man. The walls ran red and the look terror was put upon their faces. The homeless citizens arms had grown ten inches in lenth beyond the normal which the demons had took to their advantage to pull through.

(Woman) Huuuaaahhhaaa!!!!!!

(Almighty One) Hahahahaah! I’m almost there.With the stone tablets of “Oblitus es” in my possession I will disrupt the balance and bring him to this world! NOW GO! GO OUT AND GATHER SOULS IN THE NAME OF OUR FATHER!!

Ring!!!!!( Phone rings)

(Rex) Ha! Argh! Heh!

The vibration from the heavy bag shakes the house.

(Angelica) Babe get the phone! Never mind I got it! Hello?

(Elder man voice) May I speak with offic-, I mean detective Rex!?

(Angelica) Excuse me!? Hey Rex! One of your asswhole co workers are on the phone!

(Rex) I got it babe! Hello?

(Capt. Mayweather) It‘s your new captain, Mayweather and today is you lucky fucking day kid. Your first assignment starts now. Get your ass on the east side of town now and meet your new partner. She’s from a different division. Her name is… Monica, yeah! Monica with the grey hair. But she’s not an elderly like me, she just have grey hair. Yeah.

(Rex) Thank you captain!

(Capt. Mayweather) Yeah Yeah.

(Rex) Fuck Yeah! Babe I‘m off!

(News & radio spokesman) Breaking news in Baltimore, a group of twenty homeless have been in the basement of a abandoned home here on the east side of town. They all are presumed dead, the cause is still unknown.

Arriving at the scene. The look on the officers and forensics was like one out of an horror movie. The look on the victims faces were one so dreading that people began to walk out and vomit. This is the work of an “Ancient”.

(Rex) What do we have?

(Officer) Who the hell are you?

(Rex) Detective Johnson, this is my crime scene. (Flashes badge)

(Officer) Well detective.. Rex.. Rex Johnson? I am gonna pray for you. Because what’s inside there, no human I should see. Let alone work a case, good luck kid.

(Rex) Uh! What.. What happened here? It looks as.. As if..

(Monica) As if they are lifeless? You are correct. You must be the new detective? Rex right? Former FBI agent who switched to local crime?

(Rex) You must be Monica? How did you get that information on me?

(Monica) I know everything kid. Monica Kirkpatrick, I’ve just transferred from Chicago. It’s unfortunate we had to meet like this but it’s part of the job.

(Rex) There arms. There arms stretches towards the ceiling like they are all reaching for something. But there is no sign of torture or any physical harm done to the body?

(Monica) This liquid. It is not normal. Could it be?

(Rex) Could it be what?

(Monica) Go. Everyone out now!

(Rex) What’s going on!?

(Monica) It’s reopening! I hate to do this in front of you but I have no choice but to destroy anything that crosses over to this world!

And then it suddenly happened in front of him. The woman who stood before his eyes had summoned some type of mystical energy. Her once grey hair was shifted to light blue, her attire that was once a leather brown jacket with jeans and boots was now a ward of shiny armor that sported white and yellow that covered her body. An angelic warrior he thought to himself.

(Monica) Here they come! Get away now!

(Rex) No I won’t run away! Your my partner, I have to stay and figure out what’s going on!

(Monica) A gun won’t help you here. These beast are beyond your human weapons.

(Demons) FLESH! FLESH! FLESH! FOR OUR MASTER!

(Rex) What!? No, no way these things can exist!?

Demons. Demons who are soulless and damned for eternity to the realm of hell. Hideous creatures that all serve one being with one goal, to spread evil and darkness throughout the world.

(Monica) You shall not pass through! Go back to the pits of hell from which you came from! “Judgment Cut”!

In one single stroke from her blade she slashed the demons that came through the ceiling. But there was something strange that got through.

(Monica) That should keep this portal closed. If I hadn’t put that much into that attack you would be…

(Rex) What is this!?

(Monica) Oh no!

(Rex) Blood? But it doesn’t belong to me!?

(Monica) It’s the blood from a special demon and when slain it’s blood will form into a curse mark if touched. You now hold the power of the demon world in the palm of your hands. An crescent shaped tattoo will began to form in your hands. I do not know what kind of power that this particular curse mark will bring. That will souly be up to you if you shall harnest it or be consumed by it.

(Rex) What!? No! I can’t die , not here not now! My family..

The marks on his hands began to glow blue along with his pupils. He touches his revolver and it began to change. Firing a powerful two round shot that tears a gaping hole into the ceiling.

(Monica) It looks as you won’t be useless to me after all. Come! You shall aid me on my journey. You have much to learn about the world that you think you know.

Still gazing upon the ceiling in disbelief. Rex cannot believe what has happened to him. Regardless of what has transpired, he remembers the images of the victims and vowed to find answers.

(Monica) We have to find the demon that open this gateway and what he is planning. Rex? You hear me? Rex!?

(Rex) Ye, yeah!

(Monica) Come on. We must go before the others return. Your no longer a detective. I hear by claim you as a spirit detective. Welcome to the Spirit Society.

(Rex) Spirit…Detective?

And now a new journey begins for the young detective. Cursed by the blood of a demon, a partner with super natural powers and a realm that intends to break from the darkness. Heroes are not born. Sometimes they are created in th darkest moments.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.