Horror logo

Onibaba Monogatari (A tale of Demon Hag)

Inspired by 13th-century Japanese folklore

By Maki MorrisPublished 3 years ago 14 min read
Like

We hurried along the riverbank like fearful rodents.

The night was lit brightly by the light of a full moon. We dashed from one patch of shadow to the next, hoping that the river’s rustling current would muffle the sound of our footsteps.

Our outing was intended to last for no more than three days. A pilgrimage to pay homage to the great Sun Goddess. To beg mercy for our ailing parents, who were struck down by a mysterious illness that had rendered our country without its emperor and empress. While the military braced for a threat of Mongol invasion, our court officials scattered about the imperial palace like frenzied ants on scorched earth.

In such times of uncertainty, women were expected to recede into the shadows, to occupy ourselves with tasks that would keep us out of men’s way. Thus, my sister, Misaki, and I were sent on a spiritual journey in the most oppressive season of the year.

The summer heat was unbearable, especially out in the wilderness. Therefore, when we came upon a stretch of woods offering us cool shade from the blistering sun, we all rejoiced and thanked the gods for their protection.

However, such a moment of joy quickly turned into unimaginable horror when our camp was attacked by a small army of a diabolical foe. The assailants descended upon us, hidden within a mist. Winged and shadowy creatures, no doubt hell-born, unleashed their attack in eerie silence and with brutal force. They slaughtered our one hundred soldiers in a matter of several heartbeats. Our soldiers’ shrieks of anguish and pain will forever be the source of my nightmares.

The four of us remaining, who had miraculously survived the massacre, quickened our steps toward the lonely light emanating from a dwelling up ahead, glowing and beckoning us like fire signals to aid lost ships to a safe harbor.

Colonel Masamoto was first to reach the dilapidated wooden fence that surrounded the house within. He then dropped to one knee in front of my sister and said, “Your Highness, allow me to inspect the house for your safety.”

My sister gave her permission with a quick nod of her head.

The Colonel then turned his attention to Sen, a traveler who was passing by when the attack took place. He had single-handedly saved me from becoming a victim of the winged assailants. Although I was grateful for his bravery, the Colonel remained cautious as he said, “I have no other choice but to place my trust in you. I demand your word that you will protect the princesses and accompany them to safety, should I not return.”

My sister took a sharp intake of breath upon hearing the Colonel’s words. I have known for many months of Misaki and the Colonel’s clandestine meetings. Although my sister was to be married off to the House of Minamoto as a token to strengthen their allegiance to my father, but the heart is a greedy, obstinate organ, especially with love as it brazenly feigned blindness to the edict of duty and obligation.

Sen placed his hand on his chest and bowed his head. “You have my word, sir, that I will give my life to protect the Royal Highnesses.”

With a stern glance over Sen, the Colonel disappeared into the darkness beyond the front gate. The stillness in the air was unnerving. The summer nights are normally brimming with the chatter of cicadas and crickets, but this night was ominously silent. Even the breeze could not be felt as if to forewarn of a hidden danger.

Time seemed to stand still, when finally, the Colonel strode out from the front gate followed by a small, hunched figure carrying a lantern.

“Here is the lady of the house to pay Your Royal Highnesses a proper welcome,” exclaimed the Colonel. An elderly woman attired in a tattered kimono scurried forward in front of us. She placed the lantern on the ground and bowed deeply. “Our humble home has never been so blessed as to receive such noble guests. We are honored to welcome you.”

When she rose from her bow, she raised the lantern high to look us over. The light illuminated the old woman’s coarse skin and the unsightly lines that etched deep across her forehead and around her mouth. Her cloudy eyes drank in our looks with hunger, like a wolf appraising its prey.

Misaki stepped forward and took command. “My good woman, you have the gratitude of the emperor, for offering us your hospitality.”

The old woman bowed again. “Please come in and allow us to serve you.”

My sister and I followed the woman into the dark house.

“Here we are!” said the old woman as she motioned us into the first room on the left. She placed the lantern on the floor to gather up seating mats and placed them before us. “Please sit and rest. I will be back in a moment with refreshments.” She then disappeared down the dark hallway.

My sister stood momentarily to look over the filthy, threadbare mat in front of her. But with a swish of her kimono, she sat down upon it and turned her gaze up to me.

“Sit.” She hissed.

I saw the unsightly mat and swallowed down my revulsion. As I reluctantly yielded to my sister’s command, Colonel Masamoto strode into the room. But he was alone. I did not see Sen behind him.

“Colonel, where is Sen?” I said.

The Colonel kneeled and bowed his head. He then removed his sword and placed them on the floor beside him as he sat down. His gaze was directed to my sister when he said, “Your Highness, I think best that Sen should remain outside.”

My sister cast a glare in my direction as a warning to remain silent. But feigning courage, I was about to insist that Sen be allowed inside when the old woman returned with a tray.

She arranged the cups and plates in front of us and said, “I have brought tea and sweets for Your Royal Highnesses and something more palatable for the Colonel.”

The Colonel’s features brightened when he saw the Sake pitcher. The old woman raised the cup and offered it to him. “Sir, allow me to pour you a cup.”

The Colonel accepted the cup as she poured Sake into it.

The old woman then smiled mischievously and said, “There is plenty more, so please drink up!”

I knew my sister was as famished as I was, yet as a paragon of noble birth, she leisurely drank her tea and daintily partook of the red bean cake. While half of a cake still remained on her plate, I had already drank my tea and ate the entire cake. Poor Sen’s plight completely forgotten, I shamelessly tried to catch the old woman’s eyes to have her attend to my empty dish.

We were in a state of perfect contentment to have found shelter and nourishment that when the Colonel began to sway, clutching his chest, both Misaki and I sat frozen. For a moment, our brains doubted what our eyes were seeing.

However, when I saw the look of excitement illuminate the old woman’s features, the horrifying notion dawned on me. She had poisoned the Colonel!

As the Colonel lay writhing on the floor like a basin full of eels, my sister turned and said something to me. But I could not hear her. My vision grew blurred, and my head felt heavy. Then the darkness pulled me into a nameless place between reality and the abyss.

“Mayu! Mayu!” When I heard someone calling my name, I forced my eyes to open.

My vision still blurred, but I could make out two large mounds of dry leaves that burned brightly, illuminating the area with a golden glow.

“You are alive!” whimpered my sister.

“Where are we?” I tried to push myself off the ground, but my hands were bound with thick rope. My sister moved her body close to mine so I could lean against her to right myself.

Once sitting upright, I noticed we sat on a roughly scythed clearing by the river that fed into a large lake. I timidly glanced around to see where the old woman had got to.

That is when I caught a horrific sight. There were discarded garments that lined the riverbank as far as eyes could see. I saw many garments that were still partially submerged in the river, as if they still fought the unseen hands from pulling them back into the water. I quelled the rising sense of nausea as I averted my gaze.

I then saw a slumped figure of a man tied to a nearby tree. His face was downcast, but I recognized his gleaming, black armor; it was our Colonel.

I could not restrain myself when I turned to my sister and said, “Has she killed him?”

My sister said in a rush, “I do not know. When I awoke, he was there, and he had not moved. But we must make haste. Keep still, so I can undo your binding before that she-devil returns to murder us both!”

At that instant, my mind turned to Sen. He was still out there somewhere. “Misaki, have you seen Sen? He can save us!”

I heard my sister’s voice shake with emotion as she continued to tug and pull on the rope at my wrist. “I fear we are alone. When Sen was denied entrance to the house, I’m sure he did not tarry long.”

My heart pounded in my chest like a beast trying to free itself from my ribcage.

Once my wrists were freed from the rope, I quickly worked on Misaki’s binding. As I struggled to unravel the rope, Misaki’s eyes brimmed with tears as she said, “The deed must be carried out swiftly; you must not give way to a moment of hesitations.”

I gaped at her just as I caught on to what she had inferred.

Misaki’s voice was frighteningly calmed as she said, “Divine blood flow through our veins, and our souls will not be desecrated by that she-devil. We must carry out the deed to leave this world with the honor befitting to our station.”

At that moment, I could not divulge to my sister that I had lost my dagger during the night’s attack. I also knew that I lacked the courage to thrust a dagger into my sister’s heart, no matter how noble such an act would be perceived.

I was consumed with fear and panic when I felt a presence looming over me. It was the old woman standing beside me with a large machete in her hand. “I see, I do not need to remove your binding.”

Unaware as to where I found the courage to speak, but I shouted, “I command you to let us go, as my soldiers will descend upon this miserable place any moment, and I will have them remove your head where you stand!”

The old woman cackled, exposing her mouth full of strange sharp teeth. “Such display of heroics! Little princess, your men were not so brave, were they? All that fussing and screaming. But in the end, your army was no match for mine!”

Misaki grasped my hand and squeezed it. It felt as if the ground dissolved beneath me. This is not real; this must be a nightmare, and I must wake up.

My sister’s voice brought me back to reality when I heard her say, “What do you want from us?”

The voice that came out of the old woman’s mouth was unearthly and guttural. “This body has served its purpose and has grown old. I will now have yours!”

For an old woman, her swift movement caught us off guard when she grasped my sister’s arm and yanked her toward the river.

At once, I lunged at my sister and wrapped my arms around her body. For a moment, the old woman and I fought for Misaki. But she possessed extraordinary strength I did not expect, as the old woman seized me by the neck and flung me into the nearby weeds.

She then proceeded to drag my sister deeper into the river. Now they were both waist-deep in the water when I noticed that the old woman began to transform. Her skin flaked and peeled as if she was disintegrating, exposing scarred, reddish skin beneath, while her mouth split from ear to ear, exposing a serpent-like tongue that rolled in and out. The old woman’s posture curled inward as a hump emerged from her back. She was turning into a terrifying Demon Hag.

Misaki fought to free herself from the monster’s grasp, but it was utterly futile.

The Demon Hag now had my sister submerged beneath the water and was holding her down. I frantically scoured my surroundings, looking for a weapon. When I saw the Demon Hag’s machete on the riverbank, I grabbed it and ran back into the river.

As I approached the monster, another strange transformation was taking place. A dark misty form emerged from her gnarled body that was reaching down towards my sister.

Misaki was still thrashing and fighting back as I saw her arms above water continuing to punch Demon Hag’s arms. I could not be certain whether if it was the noise of water or her concentration to keep my sister beneath the water, but the Demon Hag did not see me come at her until I drove the machete deep into her neck.

A gurgled wail and dark liquid spewed forth from the wound. The Demon Hag’s hands shot up out of the water to grab hold of the machete. In that instant, I saw the ghostly mist retreat into its body. I hastily grasped a handful of my sister’s garments and pull her to me.

When Misaki’s head emerged above the surface, she sputtered and coughed violently. As she gasped for air, I guided her toward the riverbank.

We were no more than a few feet from reaching the riverbank when I felt my sister being wrenched back into the river. The Demon Hag’s dogged determination shone brightly within its fierce red eyes as it tried to take back her prize.

I fought back as best I could, but the Demon Hag was more powerful as she dragged us both into the deep end of the river. My feet no longer touched the bottom. In the cold dark water, I reached for Misaki’s hand as she grasped mine. A strange sense of peaceful resignation settled in my heart. We are going to die together.

Then I saw a blinding flash of light sail through the air. A look of confusion flit across the Demon Hag’s contorted face before its head fell into the water.

Swiftly, another gleam of something metal flew high into the air and came down again to split the remaining Demon Hag’s body in two.

I tore my eyes away from this miraculous transpiration to reach for my sister.

“Princess!” A voice I knew so well called out in the dark. It was Sen!

“Please forgive my insolence,” he was now beside us as he grasped both Misaki and me and guided us back toward the riverbank.

Once reaching the safety of the bank, Misaki and I embraced and cried.

Sen placed himself before us with his head bowed low to the ground. “I have no excuse for my cowardly behavior. When I was denied entrance to the house, I allowed my temper to get the better of me. My conscience, however, made me come back to offer my proper farewell. But I see now that I should never have walked away.”

Misaki straightened her posture to sit formally before Sen. “You have kept your word to protect us, and there is no need for further discussion.”

Sen bowed again in a display of his gratitude.

Misaki suddenly shot up to her feet and rushed toward the Colonel, who was still unconscious and bound. “Sen, help me with the Colonel!”

I built up the fire by adding more leaves and branches while Sen and Misaki helped the Colonel back to the fire for warmth.

There was silence around the fire, each of us lost in our thoughts when we heard a frenzied thrashing sound coming from the river. A small voice called out from somewhere down the stream. “Help me! Help! I’m drowning!”

The voice sounded like a girl child. We all looked at each other. The Colonel was first to jump up on his feet, ready to dash toward the river, when Sen stopped him.

“What are you doing? Do you not hear? A child needs help!” The Colonel tried to disengage from Sen’s grasp.

“It is the River Demon Hag,” Sen said.

The Colonel’s bewildered eyes darted to Sen and back to the river.

Misaki’s voice was calm as she added more branches to the fire. “Come sit beside me, Colonel. Let us tell you about the Demon Hag.”

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Maki Morris

Creative director at IKAM Creative, Inc. | Author at the Parliament House Press, YA Paranormal Mystery | Certified Saké & Wine Professional | Saké Scholar | Saké & Wine Blogger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.