Horror logo

Old and forgotten

-ish

By the nomadic trioPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
old and forgotten

Oh the joys of finding the old and forgotten things. The abandoned things. The once glory filled things that only Lord knows how many people got to enjoy before us. How many holidays were spent here? Were they enjoyable for everyone involved? Or did a once lively turned hermit guy live here and it wasn't as warm or inviting anymore? Who in the world knows. But I'd be interested in finding out. I'd have more fun than what should be allowed in finding out though.

What's your take? What do you see when your looking at it from a distance? Because of no trespassing signs and not really feeling like being ticketed or jailed for breaking the law, this is as close as I could get. But it almost put me in the mind of a book I just got done reading, The Carrow Haunt by Darcy Coates. What kind of house was this? What about the people living in it?

I hope, that unlike the book I read, that the previous owners were in fact NOT murderous folks. Rather, I picture them a simple kind of folk. One's that had warm and inviting type personalities. The type of people that you want in your corner. The one's you would do almost anything for and would miss dearly once they left. But the most pressing question I have is this. What if they weren't? What if they were exactly like the ghostly dude that was murderous I read about? Another Ed Gein or Aileen Wuornos?

Maybe it's a good thing I couldn't get any closer to the house. I know I wouldn't want to come across anything sinister. Or maybe I do. I've always wondered what would be the reasoning a ghost does stay behind. They say it's because of unfinished business. A murder victim would be considered just that right? Unfinished because their lives were cut way to short because of some heartless asshat. But what about the murderer themselves? What kind of ghost would they be? Like the one in the book I read? Mean, vengeful and spiteful they're dead? I certainly do NOT want to find that answer out.

The many mysteries of the literal unseen dead who continue to roam this Earth. What exactly do they want? To move on? Or do they even know that they are dead? But how would one NOT know? I'd think it would be pretty obvious myself. I haven't died though, so I can't say. Maybe that's why I'm obsessed with it? Wanting an encounter but not at the same time. To find answers without offending. Or getting possessed by whatever evil lurks that we are unable to see with the naked eye. Although the thrill of looking is fun. The adrenaline rush from not knowing what I'd be encountering, if anything. I know precautions should always be taken and that there are always more nothings found than there are somethings. When something does happen though, it makes it so much more interesting and gives me, at least, more of a drive to keep looking. To keep finding the old and forgotten things that people left behind. A physical legacy if you will.

Who knows what kind of legacy this house holds. How many memories are in someones head from visiting a relative here as a child or how many holidays were spent by the once grand fireplace? I know I would miss it. But who owns it now and why haven't they kept the place up? Or sold it to someone who would treasure it as much as the original owners? There are more unanswered questions about this place than there are answered.

2

About the Creator

the nomadic trio

Just a nomad with two cats who refuses to live with most of societies rules. And who doesn’t like to occasionally change up their views with rent free living?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.