Horror logo

Nightmare

Part 2

By Lucy TorralbaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Nightmare
Photo by Megan Leong on Unsplash

"Ever...Ever!...", I can hear the same voice that was calling to me earlier again. Not knowing where her voice is coming from sets my senses a flame. This time when she said my name I could hear some fear in it. Unsure if I'm actually hearing her voice or if it's just a memory my subconscious mind is trying to get me to remember. That's when she speaks again, this time all I hear is terror, "Run!"

My mind goes blank from hearing that one word. The terror it was laced with seeps into my very bones. I had no idea how long I was standing still until my body reacts to the word which was more of a command. Still not thinking clearly as I ran into the night forest, running from what I was unsure of. My body somehow managed not to trip or hit any trees ahead or around me as the panic only increased my breathing and heartbeat.

Unsure of how long my continuous run was I could start to feel the muscles in my legs tighten and threaten to give out on me. My brain was fighting a ferocious battle against my nerves, it took all of my will power just to keep running. Eventually a cramp started to creep up my left leg, then my body and nerves finally won the war.

The fear of falling was so great and terrifying that my mind went blank for just a second. The next thought that came was of a crow in flight. I've always admired birds due to their natural born gift to fly in the beautiful sky above.

Instead of feeling my body hit the cold dark ground I felt a searing pain envelope me entirely. I can't even breathe, my eyes closed tightly on their own, and I can feel myself start to curl into a ball. Pain riddled through my body for what felt like hours, maybe even a day.

Once the pain started to finally subside I started to open my eyes, the funny thing was that my vision not only improved it was completely different. It felt like I could see from both sides of my head. What helped prove that theory was when I couldn't cross my eyes anymore. That's also when I noticed my skin had turned into feathers where my arms used to be. When I tried to scream, "caw...caw" was all that came out. I'm having a nightmare is what ran through my mind, the fear I had before came back to run a chill down my spine.

I crane my neck towards the sky, looking up at the night sky feeling the wind ruffle through my feathers. After a moment of that, I tried to take a step forward as if I was just walking with my legs. Luckily that motion wasn't as hard as I thought it would be. I decided to take my chances and see if I'm actually awake or dreaming. In one quick motion I stretch both my now wings out to try and fly for the first time in my life.

With both my arms still stretched out I take a few steps first, the wind picked up, and I jumped as high as I can with my thin tiny legs. Luck was on my side tonight, if this is or isn't a dream I don't care anymore. With one flap of my wings I take flight and the thrill is exhilarating. Flap, flap, flap, I'm starting to get the hang of my new body. I take one more flap of my wings and the next thing I know, thick sharp teeth enclose around my frail feathered body. The powerful jaw was foaming with saliva and smelled of blood. Crunch was the sound my bones made when that jaw chomped down tightly in on me.

supernatural
1

About the Creator

Lucy Torralba

Just a writer at heart trying to tell some stories of my own. Currently working on one main story, will update whenever I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.