Horror logo

New Neighbors

Day 4

By Joy Published 3 years ago 7 min read
1

As I stared out the car window all I could feel was pure rage. Looking at my phone I turned up my music and tried to tune out the cheer of my parents and younger brother. See to them moving states is new and exciting but it was just pure shit to me. Right when I got a real friend group and a hot guys interest bam we are leaving sunny California because my stupid dad got a job in Wisconsin.

"WISCONSIN!!!!" I yelled as I slammed my bedroom door. "I'm sure she'll warm up to it dear" I could hear my mom whisper to my dad through my door. Sure I understood we didn't have money but come on Wisconsin??? I was pacing my room, the only feeling I had was rage. "They can go to fucking Wisconsin but the hell if I am" I grabbed my school bag and dumped out my books, my eyes quickly shot around my disaster of a room. I saw a sweater on the floor and threw it in the bag as I stormed over to my dresser, opening random drawers and just shoveling clothes into the bag. Then I heard a light knock on the door "Danny dear can I come in?" I rolled my eyes and taking a deep breath I mumbled "Yeah" Quickly realizing I needed to hide the evidence of my perfect escape plan I threw my school bag under my bed and walked over to open the door. In the doorway stood my mom with hot chocolate in her hands. "Danielle, can we talk for a minute?" She said it so sweetly, almost like a Disney princess would "wow using my full name guess that means I'm in trouble" I said with an extremely sarcastic tone, and she stood there quietly. "I mean we don't have anything to talk about. We are moving to Wisconsin and that's that right?" My ton was even harsher. I guess I was just wanting a reason to be mad at her but she remained calm and handed me the hot chocolate. "You're old enough to understand that your dad hasn't had a job in almost a year, and what I make at the hotel isn't enough to cover our current bills. Danny, we have run out of people to borrow from and this job will pay enough for me to stay home with you and Damian. We really need to stick together as a family as we go through these difficult times. Can I count on you?" Maybe it was her sweet tone or she drugged the hot chocolate, but I felt my anger melt away and I let out a sigh "I know mom, we will get through this" she smiled softly and kissed me on the head.

"We are here!" my dad shouted with excitement. I stepped out of the car and looked and this big old white house. It was way bigger than the 1 story I was used to. Staring at it I could tell it needed some serious work. The yard was just overgrown weeds with a broken fence. The paint was peeling off in big chunks around the house and it almost seemed like the house moved slightly when the wind blew. I had realized we were in a very nice neighborhood but our house seemed to be the only one run down. "Home sweet home!" my dad was grinning and so excited to start a new life. "It looks like a lot more work than the pictures that we saw" I could tell my mom was trying to be positive but that oh shit what have we done buying a house off the internet without looking at it first feeling just sunk in. "It will be fun to fix it up together" I softly smiled at my mom and she nodded back. "I'll go grab the little monster, why don't you ladies start to explore" my dad started back to the car to get my brother as my mom and I walked toward the house. The porch made big long creeks as we walked to the front door. What's the best way to describe the inside of this home away from home.. oh yeah complete shit! I could feel a lump in my throat forming, a big fat, I TOLD YOU SO. But then I looked over to my mom to see her whip away a tear. " Good thing it's shit on the inside too, now we can remodel it any way we like" I giggled sarcastically. "language," my mom said with a giggle "I guess we have a work cut out for us but we will make this place home soon enough"

Sure enough, a few weeks went by, and a lot of work, But the house looked and felt like home. Even made a new friend named Chris, he was the cute boy who lived across the street. Maybe things will work out in Wisconsin, or that's what I thought. it was Halloween and I was out front carving pumpkins with my brother "Hey yo! Danny!" I saw Chris running up to me. "Hey, what's up?" "What are you doing tonight? Like around midnight?" I looked at him and rolled my eyes, replying with a heavy level of sarcasm "Sleeping" "Well not tonight! you're coming over and celebrating Halloween!" "What are we doing?" He laughed like he already knew how crazy he sounded. "It's gonna be fun! you down?" as weird as he sounded anything was better than being bored all night. "Alright, I'm down" "Sweeeeet I'll meet you at your backdoor at 11:30 pm sharp! be ready!" and just like that, he ran off again.

Night came faster than I thought possible. I was putting some pillows under my blankets when I heard a loud PSSST! Looking out of my window I saw Chris with a six-pack of beer. I slowly crept downstairs. The whole house was dead quiet. A loud squick came from the back door as I slowly opened it. Rushing outside I met Chris and we both headed for his house. The streets were dead, I guess tricker treaters were done for the night. The lights in his house were still on and we walked through the front door and headed to the basement. He had a pretty legit setup down there, big tv and couch. We turned on Halloween because what else would you watch on Halloween. We drank beer and laughed and joked around. When the movie ended he looked at me. Locking eyes, he leaned toward me, and I leaned toward him. Our lips met and the making out started. He started to kiss my neck when I felt a sharp pain. "OUCH CHRIS! WHAT THE FUCK" He grabbed my shoulders tight. "LET ME GO!!" I tried to get away but he was stronger than I expected. I started to get light-headed, my neck felt warm and wet. I was blacking out. "What...The...Stop..." the words hurt coming out of my mouth. Chris let go, and there was blood all over his mouth and neck. I reached to touch my neck and felt two gashed open holes and blood gushing out. I looked back at Chris and for the first time, I noticed his teeth... His fangs. "If you're wondering how you're still alive and awake right now let me ease your mind. You see when an animal is dead their blood goes sour, I've found it is the same with humans. So I have perfected a way to keep humans alive for as long as possible, even with massive amounts of blood loss. If you're wondering, yes this is going to hurt." My ears were ringing and my body was numb. I couldn't move. Chris grabbed my wrist and I watched as he snuck his fangs into me. My skin popped as if it was a cherry and warm blood started to pour out, he started to suck on it. He did this over and over and over. My wrists, my arms, my neck, my waist, and my thighs. I could only lay there awake, watching my friend drain the blood from my body. My eyes rolled back. It was black. "Well, she lasted longer than the last one," Chris said as he watched me stop breathing.

We should have never come to Wisconsin... The home of the undead...

monster
1

About the Creator

Joy

Writing a scary short stories to espace reality

What’s your reason for reading them?

Dreaming of being an author and love any support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.