Horror logo

Netflix Television and Movies for Halloween

Happy Halloween

By Malena LopezPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 9 min read
3
Netflix Television and Movies for Halloween
Photo by Thibault Penin on Unsplash

These are movies and television shows I like or don’t like. Don’t take my word for it. I strongly suggest you go check them out yourself. I have a couple of trailers here to help.

Now, I LOVE horror and thriller movies. I watch these to veg out and that is it. I love movies and TV shows that make you think. Like, who did it? Who’s the killer? Will they survive or not? What would I do in that instant?

I HATE movies and television shows that try to tell me how horrible of a person I am. You know, because I am human.

I promise you I’m not so hard-headed I cant learn from my mistakes. I mean people learn new things every day, even us old dogs.

Goodness let me get off my soapbox. Like my opinions or not they are just that. Take them with a grain of salt.

I am going to try to be as original as possible. Let’s face it, that’s kind of hard nowadays. Not only because there are so many remakes but because I am not the only one who loves horror or who has an opinion.

OH NO! SAY IT AINT SO!

I am always on the hunt for a really good horror/thriller movie or even a really good who done it. I am not going to say they don’t make them anymore. That’s just a silly thing to say. What I don’t like, someone else might.

I found these little tiddlies on Netflix. I’d do more but we would be here forever. I will try desperately not to give any spoilers, but I promise nothing. These are in no particular order, just how I could remember them.

2021's No One Leaves the House Alive- (Scary Movie)

This is a British horror film. Directed by Santiago Menghini Featuring Cristine Rodlo and Marc Menchaca.

A bit of a slow start, but come on the movie has to build up. That’s just how life works. When it gets going it all pays off.

I am still on the fence about how I feel about the monster. Yes, there are monsters. I would say five altogether.

The questions I found myself asking when watching this movie were, who, what, and OH MY GOODNESS! ARE THEY GOING TO MAKE IT!

2019's Are you afraid of the Dark? Carnival of Doom (Horror-Thriller Mini-Series Reboot)

Directed by Dean Israelite, Staring-Sam Ashe Arnold, Miya Cech, Tamara Smart. Jeremy Taylor and Lyliana Wray.

Summited for your approval! I have always wanted to say that!

Okay before you start judging.

Yes, I know it is a kid’s show. I grew up watching, Are you Afraid of the Dark and Goosebumps.

I believe if you give this one a chance it will surprise you.

I had watched three other horror movies for adults on Netflix and was so disappointed? (I won’t say the names out of respect.) I mean they tried, but they just fell short. (For me) This show was scarier than all three and it’s really good.

You don’t have to believe me. Go see for yourselves. This is a 2019 movie, there is a, 2021, Are you afraid of the Dark. Again Directed by Dean Israelite Starring Amy Lally, Boo Miller (What an awesome name!) Matt Ringshaw, Lauren Hayes, Jonathon Green, Alex Lyons, Jodyanne Richardson, and Daniel J. Clark

I came across this preview while looking up the video trailer for the, 2019 Are You Afraid of the Dark. I did not see it on Netflix. I have not seen it but after watching the preview, I do plan on watching it.

Looks pretty good RIGHT!

R.L. Stines Fear Street 1994,1978 and 1966 ( Horror Movie Series)

Directed by Leigh Janiak. Starring Kiana Madeira as Deena and Benjamin Flores Jr. (He is just adorable) as her brother Josh and Olivia Scott Welch as Samantha Fraser.

I LOVED THESE! So, when I clean the house I like to have a scary movie going on around me.

Yeah, I know get checked out. Don't judge, it’s just what I do!

While I was supposed to be deep cleaning in our living room. You know, dusting, polishing, vacuuming, and blah, blah, blah. I put on the TV looking for a good scary movie.

My normal go-to's are 2014 Dawn of the Dead, Return of the Living Dead, Friday the 13th, Halloween, Poltergeist one or two. Poltergeist Two is my favorite. You know the basics. That preacher Kane played by the late Julian Beck is so dang creepy! I love to watch and listen to the gentleman who played Taylor, the late actor Will Sampson.

Anyways, I love horror and I always have something playing on TV when I am pretty much-doing anything.

This day I really wanted to change it up. I wanted something fun. I wanted something random, something my way. (Exorcist 3 Brad Dourif aka the Gemini killer aka Chucky in Childs Play. He's one of my favorite horror actors of all time!)

I watched the trailer for Fear Street. Of course, there are some teens and basic things. Okay, they will be running from a serial killer stabby, stabby, and some screams.

I figured, yeah sure. Why not?

Oh, I was so excitingly surprised! This is more than just a serial killer movie! I had to put off my cleaning for a couple of hours.

My eight-teen-year-old daughter, who hates EVERYTHING. Just happened to pass by me to go to the kitchen to grab a drink and was heading back to her room but stopped frozen watching the screen. After a few minutes, she backed up to the couch sitting beside me.

We were hooked!

You have the option to watch them back to back. When we watched them, we had to wait. I believe it was three weeks for the next and then the next. Talk about nail-biting!

2021 A Tale Dark & Grimm (Dark TV Series)

Director: Simon Otto Starring Voice Cast: Raini Rodriguez, Andre Robinson, Scott Adsit, Ron Funches, Erica Rhodes, Adam Lambert, Eric Bauza, Tom Hollander, Missi Pyle, and Nicole Bye

This is not quite your kid’s kind of cartoon movie. I guess it depends on who you are and how you raise your kids. No, it’s not scary, but wow is it dark. I enjoyed it! My grandson ran out of the room and said nope.

The voice actors are amazing! This is a fun and dark cartoon, again I would watch it before I showed any kids. Just because it's a cartoon doesn't make it safe.

2021's ClickBait (Mystery-thriller TV Series)

Directed by Sophia Cacciola and Michael J. Epstein Starring Zoe Kazan, Betty Gabriel, Phoenix Raei, Adrian Grenier, Camaron Engels, Jaylin Fletcher, Ian Meadows, Abraham Lim, Becca Lish, and Elizabeth Alexander.

Again not scary but really good. This is one of those that keeps you guessing, and I would put money on it that you will not know who the big bad is here!

I have a large list of favorites still on Netflix as we speak but, honestly didn’t know what to put up. Here is a couple I didn’t put videos up for, but I hope you give them a look. A lot of these are way scarier than what I put up above.

1. 1999 The Haunting of Hill House (Scary Movie Series) I really liked this series. There are ghosts, I LOVE GHOST and they are everywhere! I mean so much so you are playing a Wheres Waldo kind of game. I watched it more than four times with a pen and a piece of paper to mark how many ghosts I find and the numbers always went up!

2. I enjoyed 2020 The Haunting of Bly Manor(Scary Movie Series), it was good, but it was not scary. I was not a huge fan of 2021's Midnight Mass. I have nothing bad to say about it. In my opinion, it wasn’t bad it just wasn't what I was expecting. I do love the actors, they were amazing.

3. 2017 The Babysitter (Dark Humor Movie) This is dark humor, again the second The Babysitter Killer Queen 2020 wasn’t really as good as the first. (For me) It was just missing something. No not because it was a sequel. Some sequels are awesome.

4. 2020 Alive (Scary Movie) A Zombie movie in Seoul. It will keep you on your toes. Alone in a Zombie Apocalypse, I couldn't do it! I really wanted everything for these actors to be okay, but it is a horror movie.

5. 2020 Old Ways (Thriller Movie) Witches are cool! I think it was supposed to be scary but for me, it fell under thriller.

6. 2019 Kingdom (Really Scary Series!)I really, really like this one. Revenge and again we have zombies.

7. 2018 Cargo (Scary nail-biting on the edge of your seat Movie) This one was so hard for me to watch! Look, I love a good scary movie, but I have an age problem. You just don’t mess with kids before a certain age! Like any kid under the age of ten. All children are amazingly beautiful little boogers.

Yes, I have seen Children of the Corn. I'd of beat the hell out of them little punks with a stock of corn. Just kids in horror movies are sometimes hard for me to watch and this was one of them.

8. If you have watched 2016's Train to Busan Directed by Sang-ho Yeon. A Zombie movie that takes place in South Korea, that again was hard for me to watch. You will like the movie Cargo. If you haven’t, OH MY GOODNESS GO WATCH IT! I wasn't a big fan of the Peninsula the second part too, Train to Busan. Just know, horror movies are not supposed to make you cry and these last two well...

Look at that, no spoilers!

There are so many great actors, directors, and horror movies out there! You will see I dropped a couple of names. If it’s a creepy little cartoon kids movie or just a good jump scare you are looking for, I hope you will give these a chance. I am not kidding when I said the kids' shows were a little scarier and darker than the adult stuff. I hope you have a safe and Happy Halloween!

I found a lot of my information of course from Netflix. I researched for information on IMDb when it came to names and dates of movies and Youtube for video trailers.

A lot of the movies have their own sites, if you get a chance you should go check them out!

movie review
3

About the Creator

Malena Lopez

Malena Lopez is fascinated with art, writing, reading horror, paranormal, and things that go bump in the night. Mrs. Lopez is an entrepreneur voice-over artist, and freelance writer on sites such as HitRecord, ACX, and now Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.